Navigation is being activated - Page 12 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #133  
Old 09-12-2015, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 92
Thanks: 13
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1548
rpasetto is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Navigation is being activated

Lastly, those still having the problem may be experiencing hacker attempts; I hope this is not the case but you should be aware it's a possibility.

__________________
... RP
2015 Trailhawk CherryRed&Black, V6, Uconn8.4-Navigation, Comf./Conv., ColdWeath., TrailerTow pkgs. Ordered 8/6; D1:8/13,F: 8/26, I: 8/27. At Dealer in 7 weeks: 9/10. Delivered: 9/12
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #134  
Old 09-15-2015, 05:27 PM
Ol Blue's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 806
Ol Blue is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Whew. I left the unit displaying the navigation screen and walked away. I think power is set to ON for 30 minutes after turning the key off, so it had that long to do all the blinking and behavioral oddities it wanted but I wasn't there to have to watch. Since then, we've left it on the map display for the past 4 days and it has behaved itself so I didn't have to take it out and discipline it (give it a spanking) for misbehaving. Our confidence level in all this technology is increasing - slightly.
__________________
2015 Overland. Born July 3, 2015 at 1:00am. 3.6L. Deep Cherry Red with Brown/Light Frost interior. Advanced Technology Group, Off-Road Adventure II, block heater and CD Player. Husky floor liner, Weathertech cargo liner on top of canvasback liner.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 09-15-2015, 09:12 PM
billt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 1,364
Thanks: 332
Thanked 286 Times in 194 Posts
Rep Power: 2081
billt is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Yesterday I tried my third attempt at using the Smartphone Remote Start App. since all of this crap started acting up. This time it popped up that an upgrade was available for the App., so I downloaded it. It was a big upgrade, and took a while to download. This morning I tried to remote start the vehicle with my phone, and on the first attempt it failed.

I think it was my fault. I don't think I had the doors locked. Anyway, I locked them and retried it, and it started after about 2 minutes. So apparently the upgrade to the App. fixed what ever was screwing it up. I'll try it again tomorrow and see for sure if it's fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 09-23-2015, 06:15 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
coopesg is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Started having same problem again on 9/16/2015 while on Kansas City in rush hour. A new wrinkle is that the nav system began to get the activating message within a few seconds of traffic road condition updates. Since there were wrecks the messages of traffic issues over the radio were coming every few minutes. After about six such nav activating cycles the nav system locked up requiring a restart of the nav system. It didn't happen again on our trip but there were no traffic condition alerts either. Every time I have had this issue occur over the past 6 weeks it has been after a traffic condition update.

My 2014 Grand Cherokee is at the local dealer now and they have initiated a STAR case with Chrysler. Haven't received a response yet from FCA engineers.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 09-23-2015, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 27
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1905
markjrenna is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

I recall someone said it had to do with SAT NAV Traffic. OH WAIT! That was me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by markjrenna View Post
Rebooted 5 times on the way to work today. I wonder if it has something to do with SiriusXM Nav Traffic and or Travel Link?
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 09-24-2015, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 7484
michaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by billt View Post
Yesterday I tried my third attempt at using the Smartphone Remote Start App. since all of this crap started acting up. This time it popped up that an upgrade was available for the App., so I downloaded it. It was a big upgrade, and took a while to download. This morning I tried to remote start the vehicle with my phone, and on the first attempt it failed.

I think it was my fault. I don't think I had the doors locked. Anyway, I locked them and retried it, and it started after about 2 minutes. So apparently the upgrade to the App. fixed what ever was screwing it up. I'll try it again tomorrow and see for sure if it's fixed.

don't hold your breath that the app update will fix their giant screwed up, slow, inconsistent mess of remote start over the internet
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 09-24-2015, 05:06 PM
billt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 1,364
Thanks: 332
Thanked 286 Times in 194 Posts
Rep Power: 2081
billt is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
don't hold your breath that the app update will fix their giant screwed up, slow, inconsistent mess of remote start over the internet

Actually now that I've installed the update to the remote start app. in my phone, the remote start is working faster than ever before. Start time is now 90 seconds or less. Sometimes under a minute.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 09-24-2015, 06:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 92
Thanks: 13
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 1548
rpasetto is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by billt View Post
Actually now that I've installed the update to the remote start app. in my phone, the remote start is working faster than ever before. Start time is now 90 seconds or less. Sometimes under a minute.

Could be the network has been sped up a bit. Haven't tried it recently.
__________________
... RP
2015 Trailhawk CherryRed&Black, V6, Uconn8.4-Navigation, Comf./Conv., ColdWeath., TrailerTow pkgs. Ordered 8/6; D1:8/13,F: 8/26, I: 8/27. At Dealer in 7 weeks: 9/10. Delivered: 9/12
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 12-18-2015, 10:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 39
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1443
Spocker is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

I really wasn't sure whether to start a new tread or not, but this 'Navigation is Being Activated' screen started appearing about two weeks ago on my '14 GC. I was still running 13.48.3 UConnect on my 8.4A that I had added Navigation to about 2 years ago. It would say the 'Nav is being activated', then show a blank Navigation screen. I figured it may be an issue with the software version, because I hadn't updated it with the USB they sent me as part of the recall. I updated it this past Tuesday to 15.26.1 I was hoping that would solve it. Well yesterday, about 20 minutes into driving to work, it did it again, with the added bonus of now none of the other functions work on the touch screen (it seems to acknowledge I've pushed a touchscreen button, but nothing happens when I do). Is anyone else having this issue now, or have any idea how to solve it? After reading some other posts online, I'm dubious the dealership will have any idea what to do.
__________________
Delivered July 9, 2013!!: 2014 Limited GC V6, Brilliant Black Ext/ Black and Light Frost Interior, LuxGroup II, ORA II, AdvTechGroup
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 12-18-2015, 11:19 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,031
Thanks: 74
Thanked 279 Times in 246 Posts
Rep Power: 46365
lstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond reputelstowell has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spocker View Post
I really wasn't sure whether to start a new tread or not, but this 'Navigation is Being Activated' screen started appearing about two weeks ago on my '14 GC. I was still running 13.48.3 UConnect on my 8.4A that I had added Navigation to about 2 years ago. It would say the 'Nav is being activated', then show a blank Navigation screen. I figured it may be an issue with the software version, because I hadn't updated it with the USB they sent me as part of the recall. I updated it this past Tuesday to 15.26.1 I was hoping that would solve it. Well yesterday, about 20 minutes into driving to work, it did it again, with the added bonus of now none of the other functions work on the touch screen (it seems to acknowledge I've pushed a touchscreen button, but nothing happens when I do). Is anyone else having this issue now, or have any idea how to solve it? After reading some other posts online, I'm dubious the dealership will have any idea what to do.
I'd reflash the thing first. You could use factory reset on it followed by a reflash, but then you'd spend the next day or so poking thru all the obscure and confusing menus to get it back to where you are now.

The flashes are checksummed, but for safety, download the same version from Uconnect directly and flash.

Hopefully it isn't something flaking out in your hardware--as few dealers have a nano-clue how to deal with this stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 12-18-2015, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 39
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1443
Spocker is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Attachment 63270
Quote:
Originally Posted by lstowell View Post
I'd reflash the thing first. You could use factory reset on it followed by a reflash, but then you'd spend the next day or so poking thru all the obscure and confusing menus to get it back to where you are now.

The flashes are checksummed, but for safety, download the same version from Uconnect directly and flash.

Hopefully it isn't something flaking out in your hardware--as few dealers have a nano-clue how to deal with this stuff.
Thanks Istowell, I'll give that a try. I actually just got off the phone with UConnect, which was not really very helpful They suggested I bring it to the dealer, which I know would be a wild goose chase. It was interesting though...when I was on the phone with Uconnect, it did it, and I happened to have the System info screen up... My Nav stuff changed to 'Undefined'.
I think I'll take your advice and reflash the software. What worries me though is that it was doing the exact same thing before i did the update from v13 to the new v15.26.1, which doesn't fill me with confidence a reflash will work. I am starting to think its a weird 'activation' issue with the Nav software.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg jeeppic2.jpg (327.3 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg jeeppic3.jpg (295.6 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Delivered July 9, 2013!!: 2014 Limited GC V6, Brilliant Black Ext/ Black and Light Frost Interior, LuxGroup II, ORA II, AdvTechGroup
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 12-18-2015, 12:45 PM
billt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 1,364
Thanks: 332
Thanked 286 Times in 194 Posts
Rep Power: 2081
billt is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

I don't know if this has any bearing on anything, but I just recently got a U-Connect update on my phone app. It came "automatically". I didn't download anything. I just went to the app. and it was there. Now I can track the whereabouts of my Jeep with my phone. I tried it today when my wife went to Wal-Mart. With the satellite view it showed the exact parking space she parked in the lot! When it's home in the garage it's so accurate, it will show on what side of the garage it is parked!

As I said, this was a recent addition to the app. I don't know if it has to do with anything directly associated with the U-Connect 8.4 System? They're messing with these things all the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dealer Activated navigation mcfarl58 2011+ Dodge Durango-WD 3 08-15-2015 08:55 AM
Navigation is being activated 30 sec? not_too_shabby Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 08-05-2013 08:12 AM
Need Fog light Activated in NYC Nexsone Tech Tips DIY/How To 0 03-18-2013 11:55 AM
Has anyone had problems after dealer "activated" or "initialized" new equipment?? kodiak1120 Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 12-31-2012 12:45 PM
Display's dim before its dark out with rain sensing wipers activated xc8great Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 24 04-21-2012 11:57 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.