Navigation is being activated - Page 5 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #49  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:03 AM
johnnyiowa's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 330
Thanks: 228
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 1709
johnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by onthecake View Post
Just picked up 2015 Durango yesterday and had this exact issue every 4-5 mins all the way to work today.

FCA better release a press release to address the issue. The problem is getting bigger and bigger.


Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to johnnyiowa For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #50  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:22 AM
billt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 313
Thanked 232 Times in 170 Posts
Rep Power: 2012
billt is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

I'm no electronics expert by any stretch of the imagination. But I can't help but think because this is happening to everyone, all the same way, at the exact same time, it's "Theirs". By that I mean it's in the signal we're all receiving, (or perhaps not receiving), rather than anything that is mechanically, or electronically "wrong" with our units. This happening to all of us at the same time, the same way isn't a coincidence. The odds would be astronomical. It's much like when everyone's cable or Internet goes out. You basically wait for "them" to fix it.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to billt For This Useful Post:
  #51  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:24 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cross Roads, PA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 709
ytqm is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by efields83 View Post
Did it work? I'm having the same problem
It did not work, I called Uconnect again on the way home and gave them as much detail as possible, what screen was doing, did I have destination set (did not), what my versions were, how my GPS was (DMS). They have a multitude of cases open.
__________________
2014 GC Overland Black/Black
3.6L
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:27 AM
tomk's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Amherst, MA
Posts: 750
Thanks: 15
Thanked 88 Times in 74 Posts
Rep Power: 1566027
tomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond reputetomk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

I don't think it has to do with the "signal we're all receiving" ..

I'm betting on a bug in the code that is (after all is said and done) time-related.. the gps system is completely based on time, so I'm sure there are bunch of places where some incorrectly-declared variable could overflow or rollover or whatever..

just MHO, but I've seen lots of bugs like this over my career..
__________________
2007 WK Limited 5.7L
2014 WK2 Overland 5.7L
And a few past Durangos
de W1PF
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tomk For This Useful Post:
  #53  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 902
CasualJeepster is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

+1. Mine started today.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:57 AM
billt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 313
Thanked 232 Times in 170 Posts
Rep Power: 2012
billt is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomk View Post
I don't think it has to do with the "signal we're all receiving" ..

I'm betting on a bug in the code that is (after all is said and done) time-related.. the gps system is completely based on time, so I'm sure there are bunch of places where some incorrectly-declared variable could overflow or rollover or whatever..

just MHO, but I've seen lots of bugs like this over my career..
Still and all there is nothing "wrong" on our end. All my unit did was work perfectly one day, sit dead in the garage the next, and started acting up after that. Most everyone else's did the same.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-01-2015, 12:02 PM
billt's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2015 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 313
Thanked 232 Times in 170 Posts
Rep Power: 2012
billt is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by ytqm View Post
It did not work, I called Uconnect again on the way home and gave them as much detail as possible, what screen was doing, did I have destination set (did not), what my versions were, how my GPS was (DMS). They have a multitude of cases open.
I'm betting that U-Connect is going to play dumb, acting like there is nothing wrong, until they manage to get some kind of handle on how to fix it. Their phones have to be ringing off the hook from customers, and dealers as well. Just look at how many here are effected, (5 pages already). And we're just one rinky-dink little forum.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to billt For This Useful Post:
  #56  
Old 09-01-2015, 12:54 PM
johnnyiowa's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 330
Thanks: 228
Thanked 27 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 1709
johnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond reputejohnnyiowa has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by billt View Post
I'm no electronics expert by any stretch of the imagination. But I can't help but think because this is happening to everyone, all the same way, at the exact same time, it's "Theirs". By that I mean it's in the signal we're all receiving, (or perhaps not receiving), rather than anything that is mechanically, or electronically "wrong" with our units. This happening to all of us at the same time, the same way isn't a coincidence. The odds would be astronomical. It's much like when everyone's cable or Internet goes out. You basically wait for "them" to fix it.

That is my first thing I have in mind when it happened.


Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09-01-2015, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 853
Thanks: 23
Thanked 96 Times in 72 Posts
Rep Power: 3043
Snipe315 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Well mine isn't "fixed" after all.

The GPS rebooted once on the way to work. Strangely it happened after almost 15 minutes of it working fine during the drive, instead of the 4-5 minute interval.

I'm more then a bit worried that our UConnect GPS systems can be so dramatically affected by something sent (or not sent) OTA (Over The Air) to them.

I thought the GPS and UConnect was far more of a "stand alone" kind of system. Seems it is far more dependent on a remote source then I believed.
__________________
2015 WK2 Overland 4x4 V8, Granite Exterior/Black Interior, ORA II, Advance Tech Package, Rear Seat DVD/Blu-ray
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09-01-2015, 01:24 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cross Roads, PA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 709
ytqm is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

I am guessing that some where along the line a system update wiped out our NAV registration. Uconnect must not be seeing our units as registered/legitimate NAV units. Mine came with NAV so I am not sure what all the dealer has do program to add NAV, but since it is saying ACTIVATING, our devices are trying to ping the register/authenticate themselves on the server and its failing.
__________________
2014 GC Overland Black/Black
3.6L
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09-01-2015, 01:45 PM
Ol Blue's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 767
Ol Blue is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

We bought a new 2015 with 8.4AN on Aug. 30th and had poor success with the Navigation and resorted to Google Maps for Navigation which worked just fine. Glad to hear the difficulty is not in my gray matter. Watching this thread for updates & thank you!
__________________
2015 Overland. Born July 3, 2015 at 1:00am. 3.6L. Deep Cherry Red with Brown/Light Frost interior. Advanced Technology Group, Off-Road Adventure II, block heater and CD Player. Husky floor liner, Weathertech cargo liner on top of canvasback liner.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09-01-2015, 01:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 547
onthecake is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by ytqm View Post
I am guessing that some where along the line a system update wiped out our NAV registration. Uconnect must not be seeing our units as registered/legitimate NAV units. Mine came with NAV so I am not sure what all the dealer has do program to add NAV, but since it is saying ACTIVATING, our devices are trying to ping the register/authenticate themselves on the server and its failing.
I registered my uconnect last night after I picked it from dealer and had the issues this morning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dealer Activated navigation mcfarl58 2011+ Dodge Durango-WD 3 08-15-2015 08:55 AM
Navigation is being activated 30 sec? not_too_shabby Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 08-05-2013 08:12 AM
Need Fog light Activated in NYC Nexsone Tech Tips DIY/How To 0 03-18-2013 11:55 AM
Has anyone had problems after dealer "activated" or "initialized" new equipment?? kodiak1120 Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 12-31-2012 12:45 PM
Display's dim before its dark out with rain sensing wipers activated xc8great Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 24 04-21-2012 11:57 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.