Navigation is being activated - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-31-2015, 08:02 AM
EdwinDiaz's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 70
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1637
EdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond reputeEdwinDiaz has a reputation beyond repute
Navigation is being activated

Throughout the last couple of days, the UConnect screen has been randomly displaying "Navigation is being activated". It has been popping up randomly, while driving, during my half hour commute to work. I have not done any recent software updates, since the most updated version months ago, that would have initiated this problem. Has anyone else been experiencing something like this?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage

__________________
2014 JGC Summit
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to EdwinDiaz For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-31-2015, 08:13 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cross Roads, PA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 711
ytqm is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Mine started this also 4 times on the way to work today. It also will speak speed limit in kilometers instead of miles per hour when exceeding the speed limit. I am at the latest version 15.26.1.
__________________
2014 GC Overland Black/Black
3.6L
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2015, 08:13 AM
Tarponbeach's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Thanks: 21
Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 1451
Tarponbeach is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Yes, happening on my 2 week old '15 Overland. All the various Jeeps forums have reports of this happening. Firmware? Satellites ? NSA ?
__________________
2015 GC Overland
Granite Crystal / Black
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2015, 08:14 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 197
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 326223
johhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond reputejohhn14 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Same here - started yesterday, 8/30. Similar problems being reported here - 2015 Summit Nav Reboot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2015, 09:15 AM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,726
Thanks: 77
Thanked 208 Times in 150 Posts
Rep Power: 160020
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Mine also started having these navigation being activated messages yesterday. Multiple times during a 30 minute drive. The rest of the system, i.e. front and rear cameras, music, remain operational during this activation message.

I am associating it with OTA updates. I know that my Sirius ( for which I only pay for traffic) was unlocked for the free preview until after Labor Day. Might be that. Like others, my last reflashes of the system was smooth and was done in July at the time of the remote control hack news.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2015, 09:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 264
Thanks: 17
Thanked 48 Times in 38 Posts
Rep Power: 7446
michaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond reputemichaelk has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

i dont know of any OTA updates from GPS satellites. Supposedly FCA can't update OTA- that's why they use USB sticks instead of just fixing the hack themselves OTA. Not sure if sirius changes could matter to GPS but maybe...

I can't find any mention of it on google so it's not like a widespread gps issue. Might just be a bug or something in this rock solid secure FCA uconnect software....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2015, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 697
Thanks: 144
Thanked 81 Times in 73 Posts
Rep Power: 7951
XKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond reputeXKTrail has a reputation beyond repute
Navigation is being activated

Mine also began displaying "navigation starting" 8/30

I should add the I have NOT done the latest update.

Sent from NSA Surveillance Van #574
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-31-2015, 10:44 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Cross Roads, PA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 711
ytqm is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

I called Uconnect, they said to do soft reboot.
Hold phone and VR buttons 30 seconds, then turn vehicle off, open drivers door 30 seconds. I will try at lunch time.
__________________
2014 GC Overland Black/Black
3.6L
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-31-2015, 10:49 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
gburbake is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Mine started yesterday too. 8/30 around 7pm in PA headed toward NJ after the LLWS. Navigation time would get longer and longer then I would stay stuck on the PA turnpike. It would also cut out and say Navigation is being Activated.


I would assume something in this area was going weird yesterday.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2015, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 853
Thanks: 23
Thanked 96 Times in 72 Posts
Rep Power: 3044
Snipe315 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation is being activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason911 View Post
Mine also began displaying "navigation starting" 8/30

I should add the I have NOT done the latest update.

Sent from NSA Surveillance Van #574

Ditto here in SoCal! Saw it for the first time yesterday (8/30) and I also haven't done any updating.

__________________
2015 WK2 Overland 4x4 V8, Granite Exterior/Black Interior, ORA II, Advance Tech Package, Rear Seat DVD/Blu-ray
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Snipe315 For This Useful Post:
  #11  
Old 08-31-2015, 12:01 PM
Da Jeeper's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 625
Thanks: 87
Thanked 71 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 2416
Da Jeeper is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Its not limited to our software, people have reported it with and without the update. ..also on the KL forum (cherokee) they are reporting the issue as well..they have the 8.4 as well..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-31-2015, 12:03 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Darlington, MD
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1249
gilbercal is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation is being activated

Saw the same issue when traveling yesterday. Nav system showed Activating multiple times during my 3 hr drive home from the beach. Nav screen would go black and I had to re-open the Nav screen to see it again. Problem was, I was using the Nav system to get home. Eventually the arrival time stopped updating. I stopped the Navigation and when I tried to restart it, I got a Navigation Failed message.
Restarting the vehicle cleared the failure message.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gilbercal For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dealer Activated navigation mcfarl58 2011+ Dodge Durango-WD 3 08-15-2015 08:55 AM
Navigation is being activated 30 sec? not_too_shabby Audio/Visual/Navigation 3 08-05-2013 08:12 AM
Need Fog light Activated in NYC Nexsone Tech Tips DIY/How To 0 03-18-2013 11:55 AM
Has anyone had problems after dealer "activated" or "initialized" new equipment?? kodiak1120 Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 12-31-2012 12:45 PM
Display's dim before its dark out with rain sensing wipers activated xc8great Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 24 04-21-2012 11:57 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.