Navigation Issues - Page 4 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #37  
Old 07-16-2014, 08:01 PM
46er's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 405
Thanks: 16
Thanked 36 Times in 31 Posts
Rep Power: 13536
46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stJeepGC View Post
Furthermore, those who have the 8.4 and want to goto an aftermarket solution are still stuck at the moment.

Basiclly, the choices for a GPS work around are going with PND, a lock pick interface that allows you to hook into an external GPS module, a smartphone and a wifi interface to mirror your phone onto the big screen.

Best for now.
Not stuck, very simply I just plug in my NUVI and don't hit the NAV button on UConnect

__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee Limited, Bright White, MDH 031503, V6, QTII, NAV NQNA2012Q4 + NUVI 750, sun roof, fold flat pass seat
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #38  
Old 07-16-2014, 10:07 PM
1stJeepGC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,549
Thanks: 222
Thanked 186 Times in 163 Posts
Rep Power: 27220
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by 46er View Post
Not stuck, very simply I just plug in my NUVI and don't hit the NAV button on UConnect
Greetings,

Oops, I meant aftermarket headunit solution. Just corrected in the post.

Of course you are not stuck, you have your GPS work around is your trusty Nuvi PND.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, DiabloSport inTune 1000-DCX, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 -- see the writeup link below for more details)

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 07-17-2014, 08:58 AM
f1anatic's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,730
Thanks: 77
Thanked 210 Times in 152 Posts
Rep Power: 160030
f1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond reputef1anatic has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

Quite frankly, when it works - that is to say when my position is shown on the actual road - the navi system works pretty spot on in Chicago metropolitan areas. Even last year, in my western US trip, I did not have guidance issues. Sure, probably didn't know any better but where I know, based on my knowledge of traffic patterns and streets, the unit would choose the same routes 95% of the time. I don't remember any requests for U-turns or silly loops or routing on residential streets.

Years ago, Garmin released a PC version of their navigation software. Our UConnect 8.4 has largely the same interface and has the same customization options.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 07-17-2014, 12:31 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,722
Thanks: 291
Thanked 296 Times in 231 Posts
Rep Power: 91375
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

This may be a stupid question, but is there an easy way to add way-points to a route like you can with a Garmin nuvi?
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 07-25-2014, 04:45 AM
john150's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 145
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1835
john150 is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation Issues

So...Is this correct regarding the different NAV components?

Hardware--Garmin
Firmware--Harmon
Software--HERE
__________________
2014 GC Limited, True Blue, V-6, Nav, Tow. Delivered 4/27/13!!
2014 GC Summit, Bright White, V-6. Delivered 6/28/14!!
2007 Commander Sport, Steel Blue, Tow, Roof Rack, Fogs
2008 GC Laredo, Red Rock, Rocky Mountain Edition
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 07-25-2014, 07:02 AM
1stJeepGC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,549
Thanks: 222
Thanked 186 Times in 163 Posts
Rep Power: 27220
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by john150 View Post
So...Is this correct regarding the different NAV components?

Hardware--Garmin
Firmware--Harmon
Software--HERE
Greetings:

It should be:

Hardware (Uconnect HU): Harmon
GPS Software: Garmin
GPS Map Data: HERE (Navteq)


Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, DiabloSport inTune 1000-DCX, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 -- see the writeup link below for more details)

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-25-2014, 07:18 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1061
inverse121 is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation Issues

I'm a little late to the thread, but here is my experience with the traffic and nav issues.

I use my 2014 GC Overland for work every day on Long Island, Queens, Brooklyn and Staten Island. I have logged 14000 miles since April 1.

I also have a Garmin in my glove box for backup.

I occasionally experience the vehicle icon off the map and it just won't get on route. I usually have to shut the Jeep down and restart to fix that situation. It appears to have a problem getting a "fix" out east on Long Island. I have not had that issue since updating 2 days ago.

It would reroute me around traffic too often, sometimes getting me off the expressway, running me down a service road through a traffic light and back on the expressway at the next exit for a very mild delay. Often it routed me through neighborhoods. I let the traffic service service expire and tried using my garmin unit I keep in the glove box and was more pleased except for it sitting on the dash.

I decided to turn the traffic service back on and change the settings. I upped the delay time for reroute and played with some of the settings each day for a week. This seems to have eliminated the crazy rerouting issues I had been encountering. I am now happy with the traffic feature. Here's some screen shots. I think the default was like 3 minutes, but I can't remember. Sorry for the glare.





And my garmin with less options. You are shown the delay time on nav screen and can choose to reroute.



Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to inverse121 For This Useful Post:
  #44  
Old 07-25-2014, 07:44 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1061
inverse121 is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation Issues

Here's one last screen shot. The routes chosen are different.

You will just have to believe me when I tell you my uconnect is much more accurate at arrival times. The garmin 1450 has never been able to accurately predict arrival time on anything other than highway speed trips.

My garmin seems to think I average higher than the speed limit on every road. I suspect this is some sort of learned behavior

Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07-25-2014, 08:06 AM
Willx's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,989
Thanks: 536
Thanked 953 Times in 512 Posts
Rep Power: 1928190
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Navigation Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stJeepGC View Post
Greetings:

It should be:

Hardware (Uconnect HU): Harmon
GPS Software: Garmin
GPS Map Data: HERE (Navteq)


Best for now.
Close

Hardware : Harmon
UConnect bits : UConnect (There is a company joined at the hip to Chrysler that acts as UConnect, as in Harmon is not taking calls on Chrysler Software and phone access)
Base OS: QNX
GPS "Mapping interface" : Garmin (yes some of the decision making input is fiddled with by UConnect software interface)
GPS Map Data : HERE (Navteq)
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Willx For This Useful Post:
  #46  
Old 07-25-2014, 10:51 AM
AquaForester's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 732
Thanks: 2
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 7995
AquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

I turned off all options on my NAV and it had been working fine, then the other day I was coming home from Maryland it wasn't usable again, WTF?

I was actually running my iphone w/google maps concurrently and there was just no comparison. Google Map told me 5 hrs 29 mins and my Jeep Nav was telling me 9 hrs 2 mins taking me all kinds of ways. I've pretty much had it and am getting ready to do battle with Jeep for a refund of some kind.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 07-25-2014, 04:05 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 255
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 1373
TypeRod has a reputation beyond reputeTypeRod has a reputation beyond reputeTypeRod has a reputation beyond reputeTypeRod has a reputation beyond reputeTypeRod has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Navigation Issues

Sorry to kinda get off topic, does anyone know how to get out of the "auto" mode for the zoom feature? There are times I prefer to be zoomed out quite a bit than the auto mode. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 07-25-2014, 06:19 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1061
inverse121 is on a distinguished road
Re: Navigation Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko15 View Post
This may be a stupid question, but is there an easy way to add way-points to a route like you can with a Garmin nuvi?
Where To -> Trips

That's the same as Routes in a Garmin Unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by TypeRod View Post
Sorry to kinda get off topic, does anyone know how to get out of the "auto" mode for the zoom feature? There are times I prefer to be zoomed out quite a bit than the auto mode. Thanks.
Settings -> Map Setup -> Autozoom -> Far
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to inverse121 For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navigation issues on 2014 wuaname Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 10-09-2013 02:56 PM
2013 WK2 Navigation screen issues in cold weather ecolon1 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 12 03-14-2013 10:05 PM
Google Navigation and RBZ radio issues brjp1 Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 11-03-2012 03:18 PM
730N RHR Navigation issues marknj57 Tech Tips DIY/How To 8 08-04-2011 09:25 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.