Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 08-11-2013, 07:24 AM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,372
Thanks: 97
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 11281
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Quote:
Originally Posted by VANT4GE View Post
Is this compatible with the 2014's? Pac's website only has the 2013 model listed as the latest.

I have a 2014 Laredo E, I pulled out the 8.4 to take a look behind the unit. It seems even the Laredo's use a separate amp to power everything.
The 2014s have an all new electrical architecture, so no none of the PAC adapters work. There are currently no aftermarket upgrades you can perform on the A/V system of the 2014s. You're stuck with what you got.
__________________

__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-11-2013, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1549
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Quote:
Originally Posted by RageOfFury View Post
The 2014s have an all new electrical architecture, so no none of the PAC adapters work. There are currently no aftermarket upgrades you can perform on the A/V system of the 2014s. You're stuck with what you got.
I think my only option right now is to use the speaker high level outputs to a Bit Ten or similar processor. Or i have to wait for PAC to come out with a 2014 compatible audio interface. Thanks for the info.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-12-2013, 12:40 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 985
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 3697
kkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

I would think you could also use an Audiocontrol LC6i-LC7i, or LC8i as a start. They will accept very high wattage inputs, sum all, and spit out a full-range output. There's still limited control of the sound, and you may be wishing for more EQ, but at least they'll get you a full-range signal to your amp.
__________________
2014 Durango Limited AWD in Granite: Premium Package, 2nd Row Captain Chairs, 2nd row Console.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-01-2013, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1549
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverlandAzul View Post
So, I just ordered this and I am planning to install it on my 2014 Overland with the 8.4N. I will have the four rca full range signals from the PAC into the 3Sixty.3, from there into the JL XD 700/5 and RF P400-4. The JL will power the JL Stealthbox and run the Hertz HSK 165 components active for my front stage. The RF will run the Hertz ESK 165 coaxials in the back doors. However, I am not sure what to do with the center channel in the dash. I ordered a pair of Hertz ESK 87 3.5 coaxials. But, I'm thinking that I'll probably need to leave it connected to the factory amp so I can have the phone and navigation work, right?

Is this what you did?
Any updates on your install, curious about the C2A-CHY23.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-02-2013, 02:09 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 537
OverlandAzul is on a distinguished road
I actually decided not to use it. I completed the install this weekend. Used high level inputs from OEM amp into 3sixty using front doors, tweeters, center channel, back doors, and sub. I ended up with a good amount of floor noise that ill have to take care of. Overall the sound detail, volume, and depth is in a different level all together from the factorynOEM. Just amazing. I also have to develop a special EQ for the factory CD player as the sound reproduction from that source sounds very different than the iPod and factory Bluetooth. Also the Nav voice and phone voice are somewhat muddied and play at a lower volume now, probably because of EQ; So a lot of adjustments still to do; but overall impressed with the upgrade.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-02-2013, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1549
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverlandAzul View Post
I actually decided not to use it. I completed the install this weekend. Used high level inputs from OEM amp into 3sixty using front doors, tweeters, center channel, back doors, and sub. I ended up with a good amount of floor noise that ill have to take care of. Overall the sound detail, volume, and depth is in a different level all together from the factorynOEM. Just amazing. I also have to develop a special EQ for the factory CD player as the sound reproduction from that source sounds very different than the iPod and factory Bluetooth. Also the Nav voice and phone voice are somewhat muddied and play at a lower volume now, probably because of EQ; So a lot of adjustments still to do; but overall impressed with the upgrade.
Glad to hear everything worked out. I keep hearing good things about the 3sixty and might consider one for my install.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAC c2a-chy3 questions gpederson Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 04-22-2011 10:28 PM
Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question nick.jeff Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 9 03-08-2011 10:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.