Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-26-2013, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1213
sswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond repute
Pac c2a-chy23

Any issues with this? Noise? Hiss? From what I've read on it, pretty straight forward device....I see they have an updated revision out as well.

I've heard great things about Navone stuff in the past..to deal with noise issues related to ground loops, spikes and alternator whine....if the PAC does introduce noise/hiss.

Navone Engineering Inc. N-555 2 Channel Noise De-Coupler
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2013, 08:32 PM
RageOfFury's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 97
Thanked 26 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 11075
RageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond reputeRageOfFury has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

What will you be using the PAC C2A-CHY23 for?
__________________

__________________
2011 WK2 Laredo E V6 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2013, 10:45 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 389
Thanks: 16
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 3860
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Greetings,

It should do the housekeeping as designed for.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio, Pioneer, JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2013, 05:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1213
sswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

For those wanting to know..works perfect....zero noise issues. Very happy I didn't have to use the hi-level outputs at the amp. Something to keep in mind for a noise free system. Ground the PAC to the headunit ground...in the instructions it says optional. When I did a resistance check from the outer shield ( ground ) to a known ground. Anyway, after grounding the PAC, problem solved. Also, use the remote wire from the PAC to power your processor or amps...first. If you have a processor, run the remote from the PAC to that and then let the processor turn on the amps.

Like I said, works perfect with zero audible noise...even with my ear up to the tweeter.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-19-2013, 08:02 PM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 564
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 871
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

what is it!?? (in english please)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-19-2013, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1213
sswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Basically, an interface adapter that converts the CANbus audio signals to low level analog at the headunit. Works like a charm. Didn't even need to de-equalize the signal.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2013, 11:12 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 862
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 3348
kkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond reputekkreit01 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Humm....I've read some mixed reviews. I need something for my Ram -- as there is not a fullrange signal in the OE Alpine system. I was thinking of an AudioControl LC6i or LC7i, but I've read of some noise issues with them. Both the PAC and LC6i devices seem to have pluses and minuses. Thanks for the review, but it makes my decision even more difficult.

EDIT: Forgot about this regarding the PAC device:
Does not retain factory radio's bass, mid-range & treble adjustments

Back to AudioControl for me.
__________________
2011 Laredo X in White Gold: QT1, V6, Tow Package, Sunroof, Mopar Step Bars/Slush Mats, 20% Tint, Airaid Intake.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-23-2013, 09:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 618
blackxj is on a distinguished road
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

been using the pac for almost a year to run a sub amp and it has been working great for my purpose. only the volume is controllable on its outputs from the deck so I assume it would be less useful for a full range speaker set up with out being able to control bass and treble at arms reach.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-24-2013, 08:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 145
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 1213
sswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond reputesswails has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Yep, you're going to need some sort of processing.

Mosconi 6to8
Alpine H800
Audison BitOne
Rockford 3sixty.3
Arc Audio PS8
Helix DSP
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2013, 07:04 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 341
OverlandAzul is on a distinguished road
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswails View Post
Basically, an interface adapter that converts the CANbus audio signals to low level analog at the headunit. Works like a charm. Didn't even need to de-equalize the signal.
So, I just ordered this and I am planning to install it on my 2014 Overland with the 8.4N. I will have the four rca full range signals from the PAC into the 3Sixty.3, from there into the JL XD 700/5 and RF P400-4. The JL will power the JL Stealthbox and run the Hertz HSK 165 components active for my front stage. The RF will run the Hertz ESK 165 coaxials in the back doors. However, I am not sure what to do with the center channel in the dash. I ordered a pair of Hertz ESK 87 3.5 coaxials. But, I'm thinking that I'll probably need to leave it connected to the factory amp so I can have the phone and navigation work, right?

Is this what you did?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-11-2013, 12:29 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 2235
voyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond reputevoyagerx has a reputation beyond repute
Has anyone who has used the PAC adapter used it with a headunit that has nav? I used the last revision and it broke the independent nav volume control on the head unit (was always on full). It also had a permanent wine on volume 22. Has the new revision fixed these two things?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-11-2013, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1333
VANT4GE is on a distinguished road
Re: Pac c2a-chy23

Is this compatible with the 2014's? Pac's website only has the 2013 model listed as the latest.

I have a 2014 Laredo E, I pulled out the 8.4 to take a look behind the unit. It seems even the Laredo's use a separate amp to power everything.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAC c2a-chy3 questions gpederson Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 04-22-2011 10:28 PM
Aftermarket amp/PAC C2A-CHY3 question nick.jeff Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 9 03-08-2011 10:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community