Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-11-2015, 09:57 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 6350
WATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond repute
Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Is it possible to replace the 8.4 NA with something more current or "better"?

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-11-2015, 10:20 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
apicerne is on a distinguished road
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

I used to have jeep SRT8 2008 and I was able to change the head unit without any problems. Now I drive SRT8 2012 and its head unit is interchangeable also. Hope this helps. If you still not sure let me know the year of your vehicle.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2015, 10:23 PM
Da Jeeper's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 625
Thanks: 87
Thanked 71 Times in 56 Posts
Rep Power: 2375
Da Jeeper is on a distinguished road
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WATacoRider View Post
Is it possible to replace the 8.4 NA with something more current or "better"?
With all the control integration in the unit, best bet for sound is a bit ten processor


http://www.abt.com/mobile/product_de...oduct_id=58204
Add an amp or 2 then speakers and a sub.
alpine makes a unit that can replace the head unit on several models...just not sure on the wk2...plus there like 3k
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2015, 06:35 AM
1stJeepGC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 214
Thanked 178 Times in 155 Posts
Rep Power: 27143
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Greetings,


Due to the integration between the various vehicle systems and the headunit, including Uconnect, as of my last recent search, it is not possible to perform a direct headunit swap out. The closet product being worked on currently to get to market is:

iDatalink Speculation...

Depending on your requirements, the only option is to get one of the various lockpick systems out. If you search the forum, many options can be found.

As to upgrade the audio quality of the the system, as the other member indicated here, integrating an aftermarket DSP, amp and speakers will change the sound completely. Again, tons of threads here on upgrade options.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, DiabloSport inTune 1000-DCX, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 -- see the writeup link below for more details)

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2015, 03:27 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 374
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 6350
WATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond reputeWATacoRider has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stJeepGC View Post
Greetings,


Due to the integration between the various vehicle systems and the headunit, including Uconnect, as of my last recent search, it is not possible to perform a direct headunit swap out. The closet product being worked on currently to get to market is:

iDatalink Speculation...

Depending on your requirements, the only option is to get one of the various lockpick systems out. If you search the forum, many options can be found.

As to upgrade the audio quality of the the system, as the other member indicated here, integrating an aftermarket DSP, amp and speakers will change the sound completely. Again, tons of threads here on upgrade options.

Best for now.
That's a bummer. It seems so shitty we have to have a UConnect subscription to get and send proper voice text.

My S.O. doesn't need any subscription for texts in the Accord.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2015, 04:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1522
mufugger is on a distinguished road
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

I plan on replacing mine soon as well. I'm patiently waiting for a wireless carplay deck to be released though. I get so annoyed with the iPhone 6 integration with the RHR 730n. Half the time it connects, and half the time it plays through what sounds like AM radio. Or other times while I'm trying to get it to connect while having directions going in google maps, I get about a zillion commands with each one followed by "phone call completed".
Nothing but a pain.

Does anybody know if you can use the VR button on the steering wheel, the backup camera, amp, etc with an aftermarket pioneer/kenwood/alpine carplay deck?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2015, 04:47 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
apicerne is on a distinguished road
Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufugger View Post
I plan on replacing mine soon as well. I'm patiently waiting for a wireless carplay deck to be released though. I get so annoyed with the iPhone 6 integration with the RHR 730n. Half the time it connects, and half the time it plays through what sounds like AM radio. Or other times while I'm trying to get it to connect while having directions going in google maps, I get about a zillion commands with each one followed by "phone call completed".

Nothing but a pain.



Does anybody know if you can use the VR button on the steering wheel, the backup camera, amp, etc with an aftermarket pioneer/kenwood/alpine carplay deck?

It's possible to my knowledge but you will lose some of the options I am sure you could have them all but it's more complicated. Also I have found out that there is a delay in connection via Bluetooth in most head units. As a result I just connect to a wire (USB) or AUX. INSTANT. I had KENWOOD.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2015, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1522
mufugger is on a distinguished road
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

I've also found my USB connection to be flakey too. When I connect my iPhone spotify/music/maps/whatever works fine. Once I switch from one audio source to another, it will stop transmitting audio and I have to switch to bluetooth.

I find it funny that chrysler claims to work closely with apple, but it's been a rough user experience since day one with this thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2015, 05:07 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
apicerne is on a distinguished road
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufugger View Post
I've also found my USB connection to be flakey too. When I connect my iPhone spotify/music/maps/whatever works fine. Once I switch from one audio source to another, it will stop transmitting audio and I have to switch to bluetooth.



I find it funny that chrysler claims to work closely with apple, but it's been a rough user experience since day one with this thing.

I have found out that it always depends on the year and model of your vehicle. I have jeep Srt8 2012. And I had no issues changing head unit but like I told you I lost the ability to use steering wheel buttons for stereo other then that I am ok with it. ( in return I got a remote controller). Just as useful as buttons once you get to used to it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2015, 09:18 PM
1stJeepGC's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 214
Thanked 178 Times in 155 Posts
Rep Power: 27143
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Possible To Replace Headunit In JGC?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mufugger View Post

Does anybody know if you can use the VR button on the steering wheel, the backup camera, amp, etc with an aftermarket pioneer/kenwood/alpine carplay deck?
Greetings,

Since you have a pre-2014 Uconnect unit, your best bet is to look into the Kenwood units and get iDatalink Maestro interface.


iDatalink - Maestro - Home

Plug in your year and info.

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, DiabloSport inTune 1000-DCX, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 -- see the writeup link below for more details)

http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to replace full size spare with collapsible spare? Carbon6 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 2 04-10-2015 06:08 PM
Replace head gasket OR replace ENGINE?! HELP!! AudreyHell Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 0 08-03-2013 05:50 AM
headunit sound settings mrjaydeeone Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 1 03-28-2010 07:22 PM
aftermarket headunit install in WJ mrjaydeeone Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 6 02-14-2010 09:30 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.