RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10 - Page 3 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #25  
Old 11-09-2015, 11:17 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Imabadman is on a distinguished road
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Post #2 because I have to...

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #26  
Old 11-09-2015, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: brOOklyn
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 8994
JoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd3.6 View Post
Joe,

Send me a PM with a GMail address and I can share a link with you to my G-Drive to download the ISO (GMail addresses work best with G-Drive).

Note that this ISO is the radio update only, you are on your own for the maps update, but following the JKForums thread mentioned earlier should help you out to find the map updates if you want (piece of advice... register at GPSUnderground).

If you are currently at a radio software version earlier than v23, you should update to v23 first, then v33.
I have the v23 update up on G-Drive also.

Then if you prefer a black/dark-green theme rather than blue, after updating the maps you can go to v50 (which I also have up on my G-Drive).

Todd
Burned your ISO at 4x, no difference. Shows "Updating Nav" in the upper right corner, "Reading files" in the center of the screen and then "PND did not update". First time, second time and all the time. Never actually prompts me "Do you want to update Nav" or anything like that.

I probably burned half a tank of gas trying already.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-10-2015, 01:14 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 849
Thanks: 5
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 350796
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 View Post
Burned your ISO at 4x, no difference. Shows "Updating Nav" in the upper right corner, "Reading files" in the center of the screen and then "PND did not update". First time, second time and all the time. Never actually prompts me "Do you want to update Nav" or anything like that.

I probably burned half a tank of gas trying already.
JoeSchmoe007 you don't mention what model year you have...
(and it's not in your profile)
NOTE: This is only good for model year 2011 & 2012 430N radios. They changed something in the model year 2013 & 2014 430N radios. Those radios require Garmin software v5.

I don't run the engine and I've even done this work in the winter and not killed my battery (though I ran an extension cord in through the window and ran a space heater to keep warm).

If you have push-button start you can press the button twice to get to the 'run' mode without the engine running, but the system will shut down after 30 minutes so set a timer to restart once it shuts down.

"PND did not update" is a normal message because there are no map updates on the CDROM, only the Garmin and radio updates.

What I did:
My radio was at v50.
I inserted the v33.02.01 CDROM.
It asked me if I wanted to update HDD baseline files.
I chose YES.
It works for a little while, then starts updating Garmin files.
After a few minutes it produces the "PND did not update" message.
Pressed OK.
Radio reads files for a few more minutes, then prompts me to 'update' from v50 to v33.
Select YES.
The radio restarts.
Automatically comes back up and starts updating the radio firmware files with a progress bar.
Once the 'update' completes the radio shuts down and shows the time (I have that set in my settings, to show the time when the radio is shut down).
At that point I press "LOAD" to eject the update CDROM.

At that point instead of looking at the actual Garmin software version, I tried the 2016.10 map update and it worked.

It was only afterwards that I went into the settings and looked at the Garmin software version and noted that it was actually at v3.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Todd3.6 For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #28  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: brOOklyn
Posts: 1,334
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 8994
JoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd3.6 View Post
JoeSchmoe007 you don't mention what model year you have...
(and it's not in your profile)
NOTE: This is only good for model year 2011 & 2012 430N radios. They changed something in the model year 2013 & 2014 430N radios. Those radios require Garmin software v5.

I don't run the engine and I've even done this work in the winter and not killed my battery (though I ran an extension cord in through the window and ran a space heater to keep warm).

If you have push-button start you can press the button twice to get to the 'run' mode without the engine running, but the system will shut down after 30 minutes so set a timer to restart once it shuts down.

"PND did not update" is a normal message because there are no map updates on the CDROM, only the Garmin and radio updates.

What I did:
My radio was at v50.
I inserted the v33.02.01 CDROM.
It asked me if I wanted to update HDD baseline files.
I chose YES.
It works for a little while, then starts updating Garmin files.
After a few minutes it produces the "PND did not update" message.
Pressed OK.
Radio reads files for a few more minutes, then prompts me to 'update' from v50 to v33.
Select YES.
The radio restarts.
Automatically comes back up and starts updating the radio firmware files with a progress bar.
Once the 'update' completes the radio shuts down and shows the time (I have that set in my settings, to show the time when the radio is shut down).
At that point I press "LOAD" to eject the update CDROM.

At that point instead of looking at the actual Garmin software version, I tried the 2016.10 map update and it worked.

It was only afterwards that I went into the settings and looked at the Garmin software version and noted that it was actually at v3.
Just followed your instructions to the letter with engine off. Outcome is the same as before.

I am contemplating downgrade to v. 23 (and then upgrading to 33.02.01) but v.23 is not compatible with maps I currently have on the device (2014.40). I am afraid I may end up with a brick.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-11-2015, 10:22 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Imabadman is on a distinguished road
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

So I down graded my firmware on my 2011 430N RHB head unit to the 33.02.01 and was able to load the 2016.20 map files using the file structure previously discussed;

└───Garmin
. │ gmapprom.img
. │ gmaptz.img
. │ gmapbmap.img
. │
. ───ASR
. │ 05F19R7K.SRX
. │ 05F19R7L.ASR
. │ 05F19R7M.ASR
. │ 05F19R7N.ASR
. │
. ───JCV
. │ D3191180A.JCV


I substituted JCV file LaneAssistFull - D3060190A.JCV (838mb) for, as I understand, split screen D3191180A.JCV (504MB). I want the full screen JCV file like I previously did on my updates.


I started the update process, said 2 files to load. Process took just about and hour off my USB flash drive. Afterward I verified that the GPS maps updated to 2016.20 and then went into the hidden Developer's menu on the head unit and looked at the GPS file structure. There is no ASR folder? I can't remember if that was previously there or not... Have others seen this?


I also noted that in the JCV folder, there is NO JCV file. Now I'm not sure if that was because I selected too large of a JCV file or the wrong JCV file, both are 2016.20 JCV files though.


Can someone confirm for me that the file D3191180A.JCV is FULL SCREEN or a SPLIT SCREEN junction file? I'm getting conflicting information.


A special thanks to Todd3.6 for the help and support.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-11-2015, 03:18 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 849
Thanks: 5
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 350796
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

I usually just use the "high res junctions" file (single file usually 800-900MB).

2016.20 >> D3153190A.JCV (full screen)

2016.20 is out?
darn, now I have to go through the process again...
Or maybe just wait for 2016.30

My method:
USB drive:
Garmin\gmapprom.img
Garmin\JCV\D3060xxxA.JVC

That's it, just those 2 files.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-12-2015, 07:40 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Imabadman is on a distinguished road
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

YES! 2016.20 is out and loaded right up for me. After I corrected my issues...


Total bone head move on my part. Couldn't figure out why the junction file wouldn't load... well I named the folder JVC instead of JCV. Doh! Dyslexia strikes.


Anyway, corrected that on the flash drive and 50 min later the maps were reloaded WITH the large full screen junction file, LaneAssistFull - D3060190A.JCV (838mb). Punched in a test route and working perfectly.,
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-15-2015, 07:26 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 849
Thanks: 5
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 350796
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Decided to bite the bullet and pull down the 2016.20 update.

So I'll be going through the 'v33 downgrade', 'map update', 'v50 upgrade' process some evening this coming week.

Always nice to have the latest/greatest maps.

One thing I noticed with the map images I was getting is that the meta-data in the image file showed "All" (for all of the North America maps) instead of the release number. So I found mention if a tool in some other forum thread called "GMapTool". You can open the image and set the meta-data to whatever you want.

I set mine to "CT North America NT 2016.20".

Now when I go into the information section of the maps, I can verify that what version I'm on.

FYI for those that are curious:
==================================
Check map file version:
Turn on radio (if not already).
Press "Menu" button on right of head unit.
Select "NAV Setup".
Select "Map".
Select "Info".
You will see your maps version displayed.

Example:
CN North America NT 2016.20
==================================
Check Junctions file:
Set a destination where you would expect to see a junction (such as a highway off ramp). Once calculated, press the top of the screen and it will show you each step of the directions. Select the first one and scroll through until you see the "junction button" light up. There is your junction and you have confirmed it's been
installed incorrectly.
==================================
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-16-2015, 08:15 AM
nubby105's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 247
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 1605
nubby105 is on a distinguished road
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

I updated to the 2016.20 maps with info on Wranglerforum.com
The only issue I have is now I have the black Nav screen.
Previously I had the white screen with the colors. Anyone know which
is the newer version? I have updated several times and this is the first time
that I got this black / white screen.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-17-2015, 04:36 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 849
Thanks: 5
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 350796
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by nubby105 View Post
I updated to the 2016.20 maps with info on Wranglerforum.com
The only issue I have is now I have the black Nav screen.
Previously I had the white screen with the colors. Anyone know which
is the newer version? I have updated several times and this is the first time
that I got this black / white screen.
Just downgraded mine to v33 to attempt 2016.20 update, but seem to be having issues with the full screen JCV file (loads but doesn't populate in the maps).

In v33 and v50 my Nav screen is black background with white large icons (and some other colors).
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-19-2015, 06:57 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 849
Thanks: 5
Thanked 82 Times in 71 Posts
Rep Power: 350796
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd3.6 View Post
Just downgraded mine to v33 to attempt 2016.20 update, but seem to be having issues with the full screen JCV file (loads but doesn't populate in the maps).

In v33 and v50 my Nav screen is black background with white large icons (and some other colors).
Quoting myself...
Had a bad map 'img' file.
Found a new/different img file and was able to update to 2016.20, and then upgraded the radio back to v50.

Radio downgrade/updates take about 10-15 minutes each.
Map/JCV file updates take about 55 minutes.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-02-2015, 11:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 578
719c6 is on a distinguished road
Re: RHB 430N Update to City Navigator NT 2016.10

Any chance I can get a link for the 33.02.01.zip? I have a 2011 Ram with the 430N so I think "your" method will work. Been using 33.01.23 and 50.00.07.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
update

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
430N RHB Map Update issues zursch Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 1 02-06-2014 01:00 PM
How do you get the RHB Nav to display City Names? HammFist Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 03-11-2013 05:49 PM
430N RHB Navteq Map Update Available jerryw1000 Audio/Visual/Navigation 22 11-12-2012 07:50 PM
430N RHB Firmware Update DieselvRR Audio/Visual/Navigation 20 10-05-2011 11:23 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.