Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-03-2011, 02:58 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Puyallup
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1577
Daved51 is on a distinguished road
Sirius Radio dropping Station

I need help....

Some where there was a post on a TSB on Sirius Radio dropping stations....

Any help?
__________________

__________________
Current: 2014 Overland V6 -Bilit Silver , ORII, ACC (Delv 4/3/14)
Trade: 2011 Overland V6 ORII - Dark Charcoal Pearl
Trade: 1994 GC Limited V8
Trade: 1984 Cherokee Chief - l4 TD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2011, 03:30 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,418
Thanks: 55
Thanked 133 Times in 115 Posts
Rep Power: 542669
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

all tsb are located at wk2jeeps.com i dont wsee a sirius one......

http://www.wk2jeeps.com/wk2_tsb.htm
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2011, 03:43 PM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2929
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

What do you mean by dropping stations? And which stereo do you have? There's a coming update for the 730N RER and the "updating channels" glitch, but if yours is losing channels (like one moment your Showtunes station is loud and clear, the next it isn't even in the list), there might be an issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2011, 05:47 PM
Cperez's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2205
Cperez is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Cperez
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technosavant View Post
(like one moment your Showtunes station is loud and clear, the next it isn't even in the list)
LOLOLOL!!! That took guts, TS. I admire that.
__________________
2011 JGC Overland 4x4
Mineral Gray/Black • 5.7L Hemi • 20" wheels
430n (RHB) • Advanced Warning & ACC Group
Sharkfin antenna • OEM roof rack/slush & cargo mats
Purchase date: 12.28.10

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2011, 06:30 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Puyallup
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1577
Daved51 is on a distinguished road
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

I have a 730N RER. When lessening to the SAT radio the music stops, the channel display in MAP mode, goes from “SAT 33” to “SAT…”. a short time later (1-2 min) the music is restored.

Hope the explains the dropped station..
__________________
Current: 2014 Overland V6 -Bilit Silver , ORII, ACC (Delv 4/3/14)
Trade: 2011 Overland V6 ORII - Dark Charcoal Pearl
Trade: 1994 GC Limited V8
Trade: 1984 Cherokee Chief - l4 TD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2011, 07:52 PM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2929
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daved51 View Post
I have a 730N RER. When lessening to the SAT radio the music stops, the channel display in MAP mode, goes from “SAT 33” to “SAT…”. a short time later (1-2 min) the music is restored.

Hope the explains the dropped station..
Hmm, I usually keep mine in split screen mode, and when the "updating channels" bug hits, the music cuts out and I see "updating channels" next to the station name while it does its thing, then a couple minutes later, it's back. I wonder if that isn't what is happening to you, but since you're in full screen map mode, you don't see the "updating channels."

Oh, and Cperez... I wondered if anybody would pick that one up. Just tossing in a little humor.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2011, 08:19 PM
Cperez's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2205
Cperez is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Cperez
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technosavant View Post
Oh, and Cperez... I wondered if anybody would pick that one up. Just tossing in a little humor.
Thanks alot. Now I can't get "Surrey With the Fringe On Top" out of my head.
__________________
2011 JGC Overland 4x4
Mineral Gray/Black • 5.7L Hemi • 20" wheels
430n (RHB) • Advanced Warning & ACC Group
Sharkfin antenna • OEM roof rack/slush & cargo mats
Purchase date: 12.28.10

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2011, 08:43 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 140
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1709
ostroveni is on a distinguished road
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

I have a similar issue. Every single bridge that I have to go under, the satelite radio stops and I get the aquiring signal message. Sometimes there is a delay and I get this a little after I pass the bridge ... Anyway, I assumed this is ok.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:02 PM
Technosavant's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: STL, MO area
Posts: 1,289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2929
Technosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond reputeTechnosavant has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by ostroveni View Post
I have a similar issue. Every single bridge that I have to go under, the satelite radio stops and I get the aquiring signal message. Sometimes there is a delay and I get this a little after I pass the bridge ... Anyway, I assumed this is ok.
Very normal for sat radio. Satellite radio is line of sight only- if there's something of enough substance to block the signal between your antenna and the satellite, you lose it. Overpasses, being in between skyscrapers, they'll leave you listening to nothing.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:35 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 417
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1962
Radside has a reputation beyond reputeRadside has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

The 430N has a buffer that allows one to rewind to previous songs. This also helps with the sat interference when going under bridges, trees, etc. Hopefully the update and the RHR will have the same/similar feature.
__________________
2011 Black Berry Laredo X
Chrome Running Boards
Chrome Fog Bezel
Shark Fin Antennal
MyGig 430N
20" SRT REPS (9"wide)
Good Year Fortera 265 50R/20
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-03-2011, 09:54 PM
Cperez's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2205
Cperez is just really nice
Send a message via AIM to Cperez
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radside View Post
The 430N has a buffer that allows one to rewind to previous songs. This also helps with the sat interference when going under bridges, trees, etc. Hopefully the update and the RHR will have the same/similar feature.
I had not thought about the buffer reducing dropouts. There are a few bridges I pass under frequently and I always knew I'd lose my signal in my Range Rover. I have noticed that this is not the case with the RHB. The section of road where I live has a pretty thick canopy of tree cover and I was always losing signal there also, but not any more. I gotta say I'm becoming a bigger fan of the 430n every day.

Speaking of the rewind function, I like the way that it shows you the upcoming song(s) whenever you go into replay mode, assuming you're in it long enough for the next song to start playing.
__________________
2011 JGC Overland 4x4
Mineral Gray/Black • 5.7L Hemi • 20" wheels
430n (RHB) • Advanced Warning & ACC Group
Sharkfin antenna • OEM roof rack/slush & cargo mats
Purchase date: 12.28.10

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2011, 05:24 PM
mhassler's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Harford County, Maryland
Posts: 482
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 1993
mhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond reputemhassler has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Sirius Radio dropping Station

I have the 730N and my Sirius is constantly "acquiring stations". In the past two months id say its acquired stations 25 times. My wife has had her R350 since June and not once has it acquired stations.

Hopefully the v2.4 later this month will help although i think this update is mainly for the ip4 issues.

And, going under a small two lane brigde should not cause the SAT to drop, going through a tunnel or when filling up at a gas station will/could.

Also, my radio control button on my steering wheel (middle button, left side, back of wheel) doesn't advance through the presets as it should, it just goes up in numerical order. I even demonstrated the problem to my delaership, they are looking into it. Anyone else experience this?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirius radio installation mizman Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 11-21-2010 12:30 PM
Is Sirius radio bi-directional? JoeSchmoe007 Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 10-11-2010 11:10 AM
sirius radio Motteler621 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 31 05-03-2010 01:03 PM
Custom Sirius Radio Mount JETLIFE Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 10 02-23-2010 01:26 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.