Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #781  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:16 PM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 719
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1197
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

lol yeah - that much i knew was wondering if anyone had heard that this was required first?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #782  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:20 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 836
geox19 has a reputation beyond reputegeox19 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticFX View Post
lol yeah - that much i knew was wondering if anyone had heard that this was required first?
You could go into the engineering menu and reset the radio miss quoted sorry

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #783  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:21 PM
bill_de's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,170
Thanks: 318
Thanked 346 Times in 302 Posts
Rep Power: 1801655
bill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticFX View Post
lol yeah - that much i knew was wondering if anyone had heard that this was required first?
As I was hitting enter I thought, he's got to know this, but it was too late.

Anything with a computer in it should have a reset button, so doing this shouldn't hurt.


---
__________________
If you need a shoulder to cry on ...

... pull over to the side of the road!

Reply With Quote
  #784  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:24 PM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 719
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1197
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

yeah. i have seen that. didnt try it. would that be the same as pulling the batter cable?

and will i have to re-set everything up??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #785  
Old 07-22-2013, 03:28 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 836
geox19 has a reputation beyond reputegeox19 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticFX View Post
yeah. i have seen that. didnt try it. would that be the same as pulling the batter cable?

and will i have to re-set everything up??
Stumped me on that one lol I haven't been willing to try that yet just got my uconnect system working how I wanted a few days ago. Give it a try be my test dummy instead of Chryslers lol should I post the try this at your own risk I take no responsibility if your shit blows up. :-) I want you to get a new radio so we can see if chrysler is using updated hardware or driver or if they just got a batch of bad M2M modules

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #786  
Old 07-22-2013, 04:25 PM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 719
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1197
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

Pulled the cable..waited 35 mins (mowed lawn) put it back on. We'll see, doubting it though.


Somewhere i saw a post about resetting the Sierra card through the engineering menu. Cant find it... anyone know where it was?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #787  
Old 07-22-2013, 04:28 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 327
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 836
geox19 has a reputation beyond reputegeox19 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by StaticFX View Post
Pulled the cable..waited 35 mins (mowed lawn) put it back on. We'll see, doubting it though.


Somewhere i saw a post about resetting the Sierra card through the engineering menu. Cant find it... anyone know where it was?
Damit StaticFX you didn't want to be my test dummy? Lol don't worry about the modem reset now you just did it. I actually think you will find that your radio and aircard will run much better now because the way that these updates are applied the system never flushes out the cache from what I've seen. Come to think of it maybe you didn't reset the modem I forgot the M2M run of very low current and the radio might even have battery in it so give it a try. After I reset my modem I haven't gotten a phone needs service message not saying it will fix your problem but worked for me. I never got the phone needs service message until the latest update though so who knows.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #788  
Old 07-22-2013, 06:09 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manhasset, NY
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 326348
jdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by geox19 View Post
Stumped me on that one lol I haven't been willing to try that yet just got my uconnect system working how I wanted a few days ago. Give it a try be my test dummy instead of Chryslers lol should I post the try this at your own risk I take no responsibility if your shit blows up. :-) I want you to get a new radio so we can see if chrysler is using updated hardware or driver or if they just got a batch of bad M2M modules

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2
Resetting the radio in engineering modes wipes out all data on the radio including registration. After a few minutes of being turned on it will re-link to uConnect servers but you will still have to program all settings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #789  
Old 07-22-2013, 07:10 PM
Coolspot's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 478
Coolspot is on a distinguished road
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

Hi everyone, I just updated my Canadian 2014 Overland with the update and it worked! Navigation is faster and system boots faster too.

Canadian version doesn't have the "apps" or the Uconnect (no buttons on rear-view mirror)


Thanks a lot!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #790  
Old 07-22-2013, 07:17 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,136
Thanks: 213
Thanked 156 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 89572
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

Don't know if this is pertinent to the conversation here, but after having my Jeep for three months, I realized I never tried the Assist button. So this afternoon I pushed it and got the three selections on the screen. I touched Uconnect Access Care and waited. An error screen came up that said I wasn't registered, and gave a number to call. I know I was registered, so remembering that I had read somewhere in the forum that reinstalling the Uconnect apps in the App menu might reload my registration, I went to that screen. I chose the button to reinstall all apps and followed the prompts. The prompts told me I would see the screen go black, all of my app data would be lost, the radio would reset, and to wait for everything to come back. Mind you, I've never had a red light on the mirror, or any other problems that were significant, so I was a little leery when the screen went black. When I previously loaded software version 13.19 I briefly had a "phone needs service" warning, but that never has returned. When my radio rebooted I checked everything I could think of, and nothing was changed. Nav, settings, and everything else was fine. I again tried the Assist button and selected Uconnect Access Care and was immediately connected to a very pleasant customer service rep who asked what she could do to help me. I told her I wasn't having any problems, but after three months thought I better check the Assist button and see if it worked. She laughed and said that was a first, and we chatted for a while and wished each other a good day. Anyway, I don't know if the radio was completely deactivated and reset or what, but all is working well. Sorry for the long post, but I thought someone might be interested.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jacko15 For This Useful Post:
  #791  
Old 07-22-2013, 08:11 PM
bill_de's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6,170
Thanks: 318
Thanked 346 Times in 302 Posts
Rep Power: 1801655
bill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond reputebill_de has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.19.0 - Unofficial

Jack,

That's good info. I had the same thing after the update. I called the number and they reset it overnight. If it happens again I'll try the method you described.

Something else seems to have happened since the update. Awhile back I was getting a slight knock accelerating from a stop. Somebody mentioned it might be the hill assist. I went into the evic and shut it off. Now I can't find the option to turn it back on. Turning it off didn't stop the knock, but it is no longer there, so I figured I'd turn hill assist back on.


---
__________________
If you need a shoulder to cry on ...

... pull over to the side of the road!

Reply With Quote
  #792  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:17 PM
SnoFire's Avatar
The Negotiator
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 4,874
Thanks: 55
Thanked 135 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 390040
SnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond reputeSnoFire has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Jack,

Wait until tomorrow sometime and report back if it stayed that way. Mine did the first day as then was back at square 1.
__________________

__________________
2014 GC Limited V6 LuxII/Tow/RA4 Max Steel/Blk Michelin LTX M/S2

Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
13.19.0, 8.4an update, jeep 8.4, jeep uconnect, uconnect 13.19.0 update, uconnect 8.4

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything different about UConnect 8.4 radio RA3 and UConnect Access Via Mobile REDDIZE Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 08-19-2014 11:55 PM
UConnect glock17 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 12 03-26-2013 09:39 AM
Uconnect Wi-fi Jpeyatt Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 01-16-2012 10:35 AM
NEW UNOFFICIAL 1/4 Mile, 12.77@107.5 Tim@NCTSLLC At The Track 27 10-17-2009 12:47 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community