Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #121  
Old 10-13-2013, 05:34 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,038
Thanks: 204
Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
Rep Power: 89238
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Did the update early last week and lost the FM presets. Later in the week I redid the presets. Lost them again today. I think I'll wait a few days and see what happens before I reset them again.
__________________

__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 10-13-2013, 07:57 PM
clowenthal's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 187
Thanks: 23
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 755
clowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko15 View Post
Did the update early last week and lost the FM presets. Later in the week I redid the presets. Lost them again today. I think I'll wait a few days and see what happens before I reset them again.
Is it possible that you set them on driver memory 1, but then accessed the vehicle via driver memory 2 and that's why the presets seem to be missing again?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 10-13-2013, 08:38 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
factor05 is on a distinguished road
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

So I qualify for the update according to the UConnect site, but because I am in Australia does that mean I need to download an international version? I am on the site - https://rsur.extra.chrysler.com/rsur/Uconnect.do and I have access to '2013-2014 RAM_Viper_Jeep Grand Cherokee UCONNECT® 8.4_RJ3'

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 10-13-2013, 09:17 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 745
Born2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

So, I did the update this morning, and everything completed successfully. Then 2 hours later I still got the “Vehicle Phone Requires Service” message. WTF?

I have been to the dealer 3 times about this problem and they told me:
1. If they don't see the problem happen first hand they cannot help me.
2. There is a software fix coming for this, and I need to wait for the software.

So I waited (impatiently), and now an update comes out that SPECIFICALLY states it corrects this problem, and I am still getting the error? The error occurs completely randomly, and I live 30 minutes from the dealer, so cannot just stop by when it happens at some random time. What am I supposed to tell my dealer to get them to replace the unit? The message pops up and disappears to fast too even snap a photo of it happening? And even then, would I need to hold up a newspaper with the current date for the photo, like some kidnapping proof of life??

This is really bull$h1t.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 10-13-2013, 09:38 PM
jacko15's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 2,038
Thanks: 204
Thanked 145 Times in 118 Posts
Rep Power: 89238
jacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond reputejacko15 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Quote:
Originally Posted by clowenthal View Post
Is it possible that you set them on driver memory 1, but then accessed the vehicle via driver memory 2 and that's why the presets seem to be missing again?
I'm the only driver, so I never change the memory settings. I only have one set up.
__________________
Mine: 2014 Overland 4x4 V6, ORA II, billet silver/black, Michelin LTX M/S 2's, MaxCare Lifetime, delivered 4-13-'13
Wife's Jeep: 2008 Compass Sport 4x4, 2.4L I4 DOHC, CVT, Lifetime powertrain warranty
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 10-14-2013, 12:08 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 531
libby2cm is on a distinguished road
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2golf View Post
So, I did the update this morning, and everything completed successfully. Then 2 hours later I still got the “Vehicle Phone Requires Service” message. WTF?

I have been to the dealer 3 times about this problem and they told me:
1. If they don't see the problem happen first hand they cannot help me.
2. There is a software fix coming for this, and I need to wait for the software.

So I waited (impatiently), and now an update comes out that SPECIFICALLY states it corrects this problem, and I am still getting the error? The error occurs completely randomly, and I live 30 minutes from the dealer, so cannot just stop by when it happens at some random time. What am I supposed to tell my dealer to get them to replace the unit? The message pops up and disappears to fast too even snap a photo of it happening? And even then, would I need to hold up a newspaper with the current date for the photo, like some kidnapping proof of life??

This is really bull$h1t.
Its just from the aircard initializing at power up.. Take a pill and calm down...

Also try pulling neg battery cable, leave it for 10 min then connect it back to make sure everything gets power cycled.


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 10-14-2013, 01:05 AM
Barboots's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 899
Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 47 Posts
Rep Power: 2061
Barboots has disabled reputation
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2golf View Post
... would I need to hold up a newspaper with the current date for the photo, like some kidnapping proof of life??

This is really bull$h1t.
Oh man, that is gold
__________________
2014 Overland CRD
Perth, Western Australia
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 10-14-2013, 04:37 AM
clowenthal's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 187
Thanks: 23
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 755
clowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond reputeclowenthal has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko15 View Post
I'm the only driver, so I never change the memory settings. I only have one set up.
I figured it was worth a shot in the dark! My presets have held so I hope you just had a bizarre anomaly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 10-14-2013, 07:44 AM
StaticFX's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 682
Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 1089
StaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond reputeStaticFX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Quote:
Originally Posted by libby2cm View Post
Its just from the aircard initializing at power up.. Take a pill and calm down...

Also try pulling neg battery cable, leave it for 10 min then connect it back to make sure everything gets power cycled.


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
you should not have to do that. Just wait a day or so for everything to settle in.. if it happens again try to get a picture of it to show your dealer. I was having the message as well, and it has not appeared since the update
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 10-14-2013, 08:21 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 745
Born2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Quote:
Originally Posted by libby2cm View Post
Its just from the aircard initializing at power up.. Take a pill and calm down...

Also try pulling neg battery cable, leave it for 10 min then connect it back to make sure everything gets power cycled.


Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
This problem occurs completely randomly, and most often NOT when I start the car but more often it occurs after driving the vehicle for some period of time. Anywhere from 20 minutes to 60 minutes into a drive. Does the Aircard power up at various times while the car has been driven?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 10-14-2013, 08:37 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 73
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 531
libby2cm is on a distinguished road
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2golf View Post
This problem occurs completely randomly, and most often NOT when I start the car but more often it occurs after driving the vehicle for some period of time. Anywhere from 20 minutes to 60 minutes into a drive. Does the Aircard power up at various times while the car has been driven?
Yep.. If it gets an ota push. It appears anytime radio looses connectivity with a/c you get that message.. Of course this can happen if card dies but more often seems to occur when a ota update is received.. Seen it happen several times. My guess is that in new sw release they put some logic in that keeps message from being shown if card reboot is BC of ota update.

I have a Feb build with all original components so if anyone has a reason to complain it would be me, Lol, but radio is ship shape for me.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 10-14-2013, 08:46 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 64
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 745
Born2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond reputeBorn2golf has a reputation beyond repute
Re: UConnect 13.38.52

Quote:
Originally Posted by libby2cm View Post
Yep.. If it gets an ota push. It appears anytime radio looses connectivity with a/c you get that message.. Of course this can happen if card dies but more often seems to occur when a ota update is received.. Seen it happen several times. My guess is that in new sw release they put some logic in that keeps message from being shown if card reboot is BC of ota update.

I have a Feb build with all original components so if anyone has a reason to complain it would be me, Lol, but radio is ship shape for me.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk
I have seen this happen 5 times in a single day. Are they pushing OTA updates that frequently?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
13.38.52, 8.4an, grand cherokee, navigation, ra4, ram, uconnect, update, viper

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything different about UConnect 8.4 radio RA3 and UConnect Access Via Mobile REDDIZE Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 07-03-2014 09:54 PM
uconnect Tommy Liu Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 10-04-2013 11:37 PM
Uconnect fitzgjr1 Audio/Visual/Navigation 6 08-02-2012 08:45 PM
Uconnect Wi-fi Jpeyatt Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 01-16-2012 10:35 AM
UConnect jerky Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 11-09-2010 11:07 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community