Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 909
bflosti is on a distinguished road
Using U-connect after replacing stock unit?

Ok i've done a lot of reading and research my install is planned for sunday complete overhaul audio.... stealth JL box avh4300 pioneer two amps all new 6x9s 6.5s and tweets with an xtra set in the center of dash for image/staging. steering wheel radio module..

THE QUESTION: The base radio with u-connect... from what i've read the unit connect is a seperate module that works with the radio.....is there a way to keep the u-connect???
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:51 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 557
Thanks: 44
Thanked 37 Times in 33 Posts
Rep Power: 4152
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Using U-connect after replacing stock unit?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bflosti View Post
Ok i've done a lot of reading and research my install is planned for sunday complete overhaul audio.... stealth JL box avh4300 pioneer two amps all new 6x9s 6.5s and tweets with an xtra set in the center of dash for image/staging. steering wheel radio module..

THE QUESTION: The base radio with u-connect... from what i've read the unit connect is a seperate module that works with the radio.....is there a way to keep the u-connect???
Greetings,

As of now, the only company working on interfacing an aftermarket radio with uconnect is Automotive Data Solutions, Idatalink mastero. The last update I have is late summer or fall for the uconnect version, Ford is the first up. The 2012 Kenwood radios DNX series will be the first ones. After that, I not sure who is getting it next. Their is a special connector in the HU for the mastero to plug into.

Here is a link to a youtube video demonstrating the system.



The new Kenwood DNX head units are faster, however, IMO the navi has taken a step back compared to the Alpine and Clarion head units.

Best for now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing stock REC JDubz Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 02-17-2012 10:14 PM
U Connect 8.4 TedD Audio/Visual/Navigation 9 12-13-2011 09:34 PM
can i replace stock head unit with this?... rotherdrummer Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 8 07-28-2011 04:21 PM
Looking at replacing my head unit Relwarc Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 6 07-08-2009 05:57 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community