Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-20-2014, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 21003
rich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond repute
Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

I'm considering updating my maps in my '11. I updated last year and the maps did not include my neighborhood. I don't want to waste money again. Would you please see if 11418 E. 110th St North, Owasso, OK 74055 is found on your system?
thanks
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2014, 08:32 AM
ScottK's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 32
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 637
ScottK is on a distinguished road
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich mac View Post
I'm considering updating my maps in my '11. I updated last year and the maps did not include my neighborhood. I don't want to waste money again. Would you please see if 11418 E. 110th St North, Owasso, OK 74055 is found on your system?

thanks

Did state, city, street, wouldn't let me type 114XX.... It only was going to allow 110XX


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________

__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee Limited
Black on Black, 20s, 8.4AN
HIDs in factory halogen casing
Tint: 15% fronts, 60% windshield
Blendmount for Escort Passport 9500i
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2014, 09:09 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 638
Thanks: 51
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 4734
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Greetings,

Out of curiosity, I tired the address on my Igo Primo off line navi app which has the maps from HERE (Navteq) as updated Dec of 2013 did show up. The Garmin app has a map update from the same time period and also uses HERE. I also tried MotionX online navi app and it also showed up.

What is your latest map data release showing up as?

Best for now.
__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 see the writeup for more details http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html )
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2014, 09:32 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Coastal NJ
Posts: 117
Thanks: 7
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Rep Power: 2041
46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute46er has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich mac View Post
I'm considering updating my maps in my '11. I updated last year and the maps did not include my neighborhood. I don't want to waste money again. Would you please see if 11418 E. 110th St North, Owasso, OK 74055 is found on your system?
thanks
Your house # does not show, but the street and neighborhood does; Baily Medical Center, Legends Steak
__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee Limited, Bright White, MDH 031503, V6, QTII, nav, sun roof, fold flat pass seat
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2014, 10:04 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bay Village, OH
Posts: 862
Thanks: 10
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
Rep Power: 1557
14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute14SummitHemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich mac View Post
I'm considering updating my maps in my '11. I updated last year and the maps did not include my neighborhood. I don't want to waste money again. Would you please see if 11418 E. 110th St North, Owasso, OK 74055 is found on your system?
thanks
Yep, u r in my map database in my '14 Summit. Your address hits all the guessing points of how to enter this type of address. After a couple bad guesses this is how I found it:

At the point of entering street name I typed, "East 110th North" and it came up. Using just "E" or omitting "th" or inputting "St" yielded nada.

Pic of my exact database is attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0320.jpg (30.6 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0321.jpg (28.5 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0322.jpg (29.8 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2014, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 21003
rich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond reputerich mac has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Thanks guys -
guess it's time to update!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-25-2014, 01:56 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 328730
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich mac View Post
Thanks guys -
guess it's time to update!
You should remember that the 14 Jeeps have a different map system than the 11-13 Jeeps.

That said.
I have maps version 2014.30 and your address shows up in my maps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20140725_135150-SM.jpg (83.8 KB, 12 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-25-2014, 07:05 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: brOOklyn
Posts: 1,244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2760
JoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond reputeJoeSchmoe007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd3.6 View Post
You should remember that the 14 Jeeps have a different map system than the 11-13 Jeeps.

That said.
I have maps version 2014.30 and your address shows up in my maps.
Is your system 430N? I have '11 Laredo X with 430 N with original maps. I recently started driving to work and thinking about an upgrade.

I am OK with paying $150 BUT only if maps are actually updated in any significant manner, but how can you tell?

On the other hand I have Google Maps on my Android phone and also Copilot Navigator - Android software with standalone maps that are updated several times a year.

FWIW I have not installed any unauthorized software updates on my Nav system. I vaguely recall people bricking their Nav systems even while installing factory map updates or having some software issues afterwards and I really don't want to deal with this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2014, 10:15 PM
Todd3.6's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 303
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 328730
Todd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond reputeTodd3.6 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeSchmoe007 View Post
Is your system 430N? I have '11 Laredo X with 430 N with original maps. I recently started driving to work and thinking about an upgrade.

I am OK with paying $150 BUT only if maps are actually updated in any significant manner, but how can you tell?

On the other hand I have Google Maps on my Android phone and also Copilot Navigator - Android software with standalone maps that are updated several times a year.

FWIW I have not installed any unauthorized software updates on my Nav system. I vaguely recall people bricking their Nav systems even while installing factory map updates or having some software issues afterwards and I really don't want to deal with this.
I have the 430N, I use it sometimes and sometimes I use Google Maps on my Android. It is handy to store some friends addresses that I don't visit very often (our boating group is all over the Twin Cities). It's also nice to keep a 'Home' address in case you are somewhere unfamiliar and get turned around and just need to get to the nearest familiar highway. The key point is to NOT use your actual home address, use a gas station close to your house.

The 2014.30 map update is significantly updated from even the original maps that were on my system. I believe mine was 2013.x originally.

Funny thing is the latest version is 2015.10, their version numbers make no sense to me.

If you haven't updated anything on your radio, I would at least upgrade to v33. If you are still on v10, you will have to upgrade to v23 first, then v33.

My radio started with v23 software, I upgraded to v33 software and then v50 software. Then I found out through various forums and searches how to upgrade my maps and also found out that the v50 software doesn't allow map updates.

So I reverted back to v33, updated the maps, and then upgraded again to v50. I've done this a couple times with no issues.

The key points I've learned:
1) Radio software updates should be done from a CDROM, do not try to use a USB drive.
2) Map updates should be done from USB drive. Another forum member tried to update from a DVD I sent him and it failed. I've never had a problem from USB drive so I told him to copy the files to USB drive and try again, but he was back overseas and didn't think his wife could manage it.
3) Going back and forth between v50 and v33 is time consuming, but not a big deal.
4) Map updates are time consuming, it helps to use a newer high speed flash drive when doing it.

Many people have upgraded their radio software and maps. Patience is the key and following advice from people that have already done it.

EDIT: Reading another forum... Looks like the 2015 map versions may be another format and will not work on the 430N. A couple people have tried and failed. Looks like I may just leave mine at 2014.30 and use my Android if it doesn't work right for new roads.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-31-2014, 11:17 PM
Justal13's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 373
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 1966
Justal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond reputeJustal13 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Just updated my 2012 GC with 430N RHB last week. Mine is a Sept 2011 build, so the maps were 3 years old. The 430N update has been out-of-stock forever, and I was growing weary of all the errors and missing roads & addresses in the 2011 version. The DVD I received said it was for "Garmin Chrysler 430N RHB and 8.4N RB5/RB6 US, Canada and Mexico". So far, I like that it has all the local newer roads that were missing from the old version (have not taken any roadtrips using it yet), updated points of interest (supposedly "1.5 million new or updated") and practically every freeway interchange now shows in Junction View (hardly any did in the old version). The price was $150 plus sales tax and shipping, but well worth it IMHO. It took almost 2 hours to run the update, with a warning in the instructions to keep the power on to the radio the entire time by leaving the vehicle running or making sure to leave it in run/accy. The process requires registering your disk on-line with Garmin using supplied ID code, validation code and downloading an unlock code. Garmin has always been a bit paranoid about people "stealing" map updates and wants to make sure you actually paid for it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-31-2014, 11:47 PM
cmh2001's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 76
cmh2001 is on a distinguished road
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

That's weird, you live four minutes from me. But the road I would take to go in your direction does not exist in my 2013's Garmin maps, 121st East Ave and E 105th place.
__________________
2013 GC Trailhawk

Gone buy not forgotten: 89 YJ Islander, 91 YJ Sahara, 95 Cherokee, 07 JKU Sahara, 09 Commander
/=S=/ Ridernation - Oklahoma Chapter
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-01-2014, 06:36 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NYC Area
Posts: 638
Thanks: 51
Thanked 45 Times in 41 Posts
Rep Power: 4734
1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute1stJeepGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Will someone with 2014 maps run an address?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmh2001 View Post
That's weird, you live four minutes from me. But the road I would take to go in your direction does not exist in my 2013's Garmin maps, 121st East Ave and E 105th place.
Greetings,

This does not surprise me at all. HERE (Navteq) maps for the Jeep, especially the original one comes with GC are all running out of date and/or too long of a refresh. It seems talking with others and folks with different brands of OEM vehicles, they find same situation with HERE.

With off-line maps, as with your case their, is a positive and negative. The positive of course is the map is load in the HU and you do not have to worry about loosing a data connection. The negative of course is, the maps are not refreshed often. Which is way some have gone to their smartphones or tablets to use on-line maps such as Google, Waze, MotionX and etc....

As I stated in another thread about navigational issuers, I have notice that off-line maps that uses TOMTOM's database, the maps seam to be updated quarterly. The period ranges from 3-5 months.

Remember, HERE maps are owned by Nokia and as we all know, they have taken a big hit over the years. They claim they have the resource to maintain the map database.


Best for now.
__________________

__________________
Laredo X, Trail Rated, QTii, Sele-Terrian, Quadra Lift, Off-Road Adventure Package ii, Nokian Rotiva AT, Tow, AFE CAI, Custom Sound System ( HAT speakers, JLAudio , Pioneer , JBL MS-8 & RF 3.sixty.3 see the writeup for more details http://www.jeepgarage.org/f155/2011-...ver-79121.html )
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 430N RHB - Updated Maps 2014.10 Americas but questions! stroked250 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 12 04-22-2014 11:20 AM
2012 430N RHB - Updated Maps 2014.10 Americas stroked250 Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 08-09-2013 03:26 PM
Navi maps for Russia and Ukraine for JGC 2014 Taras Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 06-28-2013 09:10 AM
Updating maps on the 2014 and backup camera question. nikon858 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 7 04-25-2013 01:33 AM
Navigating to address in "My Files" address book spinxt Audio/Visual/Navigation 0 02-27-2013 11:36 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community