Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Tech Tips/DIY/How To

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #25  
Old 01-30-2013, 07:44 PM
xJoshxx's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Burlington,KY
Posts: 844
Thanks: 33
Thanked 28 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 72609
xJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by collosus76 View Post
Heads up guys. I just got a call from the dealer. My Katzkin seats are done. Be aware though, if you do the Auto Climate control and for some reason you have to remove the seats (katzkin install for example) When they put everything together it will cause for codes to pop up

My ABS and Airbag light came on. dealer said it has to do when the system resets it throws the codes up since the Auto Climate is not originally part of the system. I have to take back the original manual climate control back with me so they can put it back in to reset the codes.


After that I can reinstall the auto myself. Hopefully it doesn't make any codes come out again. Will keep you all posted.
I have multiple services done not a single issue it sounds like they screwed up your airbag sensors when messing with the seats.

My dealer even added the auto temp to my sales code.

the AUTO TEMP IS NOT RELATED IN ANYWAY TO ABS/AIRBAGS they are trying to get out of fixing something they broke
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-30-2013, 07:48 PM
collosus76's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 955
collosus76 is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw View Post
Can't they reflash with the auto option ?

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

They tried but were unable. Not sure it's because the auto control I had was a used one or not. Once they hooked up the original one they had no problem fixing the lights and codes. As soon as I got home I reinstalled the auto control and no problems at all. If I ever have to get service done on the jeep I may pull the unit out and replace it with the stock one. It' s so simple now.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-30-2013, 07:58 PM
collosus76's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 955
collosus76 is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xJoshxx View Post
I have multiple services done not a single issue it sounds like they screwed up your airbag sensors when messing with the seats.

My dealer even added the auto temp to my sales code.

the AUTO TEMP IS NOT RELATED IN ANYWAY TO ABS/AIRBAGS they are trying to get out of fixing something they broke
I would agree with you if I hadn't seen it with my eyes. As soon as the stock unit was installed they were able to clear the error code no problem while with the auto control they couldn't. Since yours was added to your sales code that could be why you have not had any issues.

From their explanation it had to do with the seat being removed and disconnected from the car. They did not note any issues on the work order stating an issue with my control or anything. Like I said, once I got there they did not make a big deal about it at all. Parts manager even said I could reinstall the auto control once I got home.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-30-2013, 08:15 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2023
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
I just read about it being necessary to remove the negative battery cable and waiting 5-10 minutes before removing the seat (was in an audio upgrade post) maybe they didn't and that caused the codes...

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-30-2013, 08:19 PM
collosus76's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 955
collosus76 is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hacksaw View Post
I just read about it being necessary to remove the negative battery cable and waiting 5-10 minutes before removing the seat (was in an audio upgrade post) maybe they didn't and that caused the codes...

Think Outside !- No Box Required.

From the member that is doing/did the stereo install,correct? I recall reading that as well. Well like I said earlier problem is fixed and auto control back in. See my thread in the exterior/interior section for bad pics of the seats. "My wk2 so far"

Thanks guys for the possible solutions and causes. you guys rock!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-30-2013, 08:59 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 2023
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
Yeah, I just offered up the info because it seems odd that somebody else added it without codes or trouble adding in the auto to their build list. While it may seem dimples enough to remove/replace the thing I would wonder about with everything going through the "computer" now, the next service bulletin / update (which is based off build sheet associated with vin) gets the wrong software because the auto hvac isn't there...I'm probably over thinking this and I'm glad its working for you.

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-04-2013, 02:30 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
garyc442 is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

I just did this and it's a piece of cake..takes about 15minutes. Thanks for the DIY
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-04-2013, 08:03 PM
scooterha's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: WV
Posts: 1,706
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 220177
scooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond reputescooterha has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

hmmmm i'm going to be installing katzkin soon, I guess I'll do the leather first then the atc. my luck i'd be firing codes all over the board lol
__________________
Current Vehicle: 2015 Chrysler 200 S 2.4 Tigershark.
Granite Crystal Metallic. May not have the Jeep, but I'll still drop in and keep up with the news.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-04-2013, 08:12 PM
collosus76's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 955
collosus76 is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterha View Post
hmmmm i'm going to be installing katzkin soon, I guess I'll do the leather first then the atc. my luck i'd be firing codes all over the board lol
Let us know how it goes. I'm starting to think it had to do with what Hacksaw said about the battery not being disconnected. Post pics of how the seats come out. I'm loving mine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-15-2013, 10:22 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
FJohnny is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Thanks for the write up. I just installed the controls in my WK2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 06-12-2013, 12:15 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
2011GrandC is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Hey Guys,

I installed the auto HVAC (55111916AQ) in my 2011 WK2 and have an issue with all segments in the display lighting up and staying lit. The install went fine and it appears to be working otherwise. Any ideas?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 06-16-2013, 09:06 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
dlo232 is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Just installed the Auto control unit to replace the stock Manual unit.

Has anyone solved the icon illumination problem? I reseeded the plug to the unit and disconnected the negative(-) battery terminal for approx. 10 minutes to reset the unit.


2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo
Part # 55111916AQ (without heated or vent. seats) from Just for Jeeps
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**HOW-TO** add oem HID's to your Durango WD or Grand Cherokee WK2 Scottina06 2011+ Dodge Durango-WD 3 02-04-2013 08:21 PM
ADD SRT8 Brembos to your wk2? see last couple pages Scottina06 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 150 08-28-2012 03:00 PM
HVAC "Auto Mode" questions Mark W Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 5 06-17-2012 12:31 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.