How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2! - Page 6 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Tech Tips/DIY/How To

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #61  
Old 10-23-2015, 06:18 PM
xJoshxx's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Burlington,KY
Posts: 1,419
Thanks: 122
Thanked 149 Times in 123 Posts
Rep Power: 74060
xJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond reputexJoshxx has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Glad to see this is still useful!

it's been 3 yrs since I made this!

__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee SRT8
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #62  
Old 10-26-2015, 05:06 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 0
WK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond reputeWK2 HVAC Engineer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

So, has anyone discovered the little Easter Egg I left in these automatic controls yet?



Back in 2009 I was arguing (surprise) with Germany about making a diagnostic mode for these controllers that would give me quick on-the-fly access to variables inside the controller. The Audi controllers we developed had a slick secret button press that would change the display in a data monitor of sorts. I really wanted to port this feature over to the WK2 controller, but our Germany office refused to help.

So, while sitting on the can one night at home, I engineered the following procedure:

1. Push and hold the AC button

2. Push and release the power button

(screen turns off)

3. Release the AC button

(within three seconds, perform steps 4 and 5)

4. Push and release passenger temperature UP button

5. Push and release the passenger temperature DOWN button


And now you're looking at some sweet diagnostic data!

What used to be the driver temperature on the left is now your channel number. What used to be your passenger temperature on the right is now your data.

In the event that the data is more than two digits of precision, the number will flash: INTEGER (one second) --> DECIMAL (one second) --> BLANK (one second)

For example, 22.50 would be displayed as: 22 (one second) --> 50 (one second) --> blank (one second)

Use the blower knob to change the channels. In a two zone system (WK) there are 24 channels. In three zone systems (WD and RT) I think there's 32 channels. You gotta forgive me, it's been almost six years since I've designed this and I have since moved on to a different job / company.

Ch. Description
1 Drive Energy Level (blacked out on production modules)
2 Passenger Energy Level (blacked out on production modules)
3 I forgot... blacked out anyway on production modules
4 I forgot... blacked out anyway on production modules
5 Drive duct outlet temperature target... I think
6 Drive duct outlet temperature target... I think
7 More stuff I forgot about the driver side
8 More stuff I forgot about the passenger side
9 Targeted evaporator temperature (I might have this and channel 10 swapped... it's been a while)
10 Evaporator temperature (when the AC compressor is running, the AC led will turn on. Pretty cool, eh?)
11 Mode distribution flap position. 0 = defrost, 50 = floor, 100 = panel. Extrapolate accordingly
12 Recirculation door position. 0 = fresh, 100 = recirc
13 Driver temperature blend door position
14 Passenger temperature door position
15 Blower speed (min = 20% IIRC)
16 Door actuator fault codes (0 = all is clear)
17 Software Version
18 Driver solar load
19 Passenger solar load
20 Combined solar load
21 Interior temperature
22 AC pressure (I think)
23 Coolant temperature (I think)
24 Outside temperature


Have fun, kids.

Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to WK2 HVAC Engineer For This Useful Post:
  #63  
Old 07-11-2016, 12:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 885
dirty_moose is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by WK2 HVAC Engineer View Post
So, has anyone discovered the little Easter Egg I left in these automatic controls yet?



Back in 2009 I was arguing (surprise) with Germany about making a diagnostic mode for these controllers that would give me quick on-the-fly access to variables inside the controller. The Audi controllers we developed had a slick secret button press that would change the display in a data monitor of sorts. I really wanted to port this feature over to the WK2 controller, but our Germany office refused to help.

So, while sitting on the can one night at home, I engineered the following procedure:

1. Push and hold the AC button

2. Push and release the power button

(screen turns off)

3. Release the AC button

(within three seconds, perform steps 4 and 5)

4. Push and release passenger temperature UP button

5. Push and release the passenger temperature DOWN button


And now you're looking at some sweet diagnostic data!

What used to be the driver temperature on the left is now your channel number. What used to be your passenger temperature on the right is now your data.

In the event that the data is more than two digits of precision, the number will flash: INTEGER (one second) --> DECIMAL (one second) --> BLANK (one second)

For example, 22.50 would be displayed as: 22 (one second) --> 50 (one second) --> blank (one second)

Use the blower knob to change the channels. In a two zone system (WK) there are 24 channels. In three zone systems (WD and RT) I think there's 32 channels. You gotta forgive me, it's been almost six years since I've designed this and I have since moved on to a different job / company.

Ch. Description
1 Drive Energy Level (blacked out on production modules)
2 Passenger Energy Level (blacked out on production modules)
3 I forgot... blacked out anyway on production modules
4 I forgot... blacked out anyway on production modules
5 Drive duct outlet temperature target... I think
6 Drive duct outlet temperature target... I think
7 More stuff I forgot about the driver side
8 More stuff I forgot about the passenger side
9 Targeted evaporator temperature (I might have this and channel 10 swapped... it's been a while)
10 Evaporator temperature (when the AC compressor is running, the AC led will turn on. Pretty cool, eh?)
11 Mode distribution flap position. 0 = defrost, 50 = floor, 100 = panel. Extrapolate accordingly
12 Recirculation door position. 0 = fresh, 100 = recirc
13 Driver temperature blend door position
14 Passenger temperature door position
15 Blower speed (min = 20% IIRC)
16 Door actuator fault codes (0 = all is clear)
17 Software Version
18 Driver solar load
19 Passenger solar load
20 Combined solar load
21 Interior temperature
22 AC pressure (I think)
23 Coolant temperature (I think)
24 Outside temperature


Have fun, kids.

This is just for diagnostics only. Is there any way to make actual setting changes?

The reason I ask is because maybe there is a setting in the AQ version that needs to be changed that will allow people to replace their manual climate control.

The AQ seems to have been built to prevent people from swapping out the manual controls, this why it's impossible to find the AP version.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 07-12-2016, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 417
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 1718
botlfed98 is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

so a 68111109AQ will not work for a swap?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 07-21-2016, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 885
dirty_moose is on a distinguished road
Re: How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!

Quote:
Originally Posted by botlfed98 View Post
so a 68111109AQ will not work for a swap?
I believe from my readings almost any of the AQ's will work with the exception of the AQ part that replaced the AP climate control with no heated and ventilated seats.

The AQ part will work on 2013s for some odd reason.

It seems that unfortunately if we want to add automatic climate control to our vehicles you will have to try and find a very elusive AP part. Or just add a climate control part that unfortunately will have a heated seat button.

It would be awesome if we could figure out how to add heated seats that work with the climate control buttons. My thought process is that it could be a very simple hack granted you know the basics of electrical engineering.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
**HOW-TO** add oem HID's to your Durango WD or Grand Cherokee WK2 Scottina06 2011+ Dodge Durango-WD 3 02-04-2013 08:21 PM
ADD SRT8 Brembos to your wk2? see last couple pages Scottina06 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 150 08-28-2012 04:00 PM
HVAC "Auto Mode" questions Mark W Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 5 06-17-2012 01:31 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.