Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 > WK2 SRT General Discussion > Audio/Video/Navigation/Alarms

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 10-21-2013, 11:42 PM
sddin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 610
sddin is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmaker View Post
Hi Kegs/Willx I tried the reboot as you mentioned but did not work. In any case i took it to the dealer as i took the opportunity to have some minor things fixed and to my disappointment they could not update and get it going, new one on order to be replaced next week. It's not what i was hoping as I'm worried about what cosmetic damage they may do in the process, I'll just have to have a stern word with them before they do it. It's a shame as the unit had been working flawlessly with no glitches or hint of anything going wrong..........then all of a sudden, blank black screen, Willx is this something that has occurred on other rides? Cheers
Happened to me as well. Reboot also didn't work for me and dealer had to order new unit. Took all but an hour to replace with no issues. Been working great since.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-22-2013, 02:30 AM
mrmaker's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Hills, Sydney
Posts: 356
Thanks: 37
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 1385
mrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 8.4in Screen Blank

Quote:
Originally Posted by sddin View Post
Happened to me as well. Reboot also didn't work for me and dealer had to order new unit. Took all but an hour to replace with no issues. Been working great since.
Yeah, sounds easy enough, i just didn't want my console touched, have no choice though.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-22-2013, 04:30 AM
Willx's Avatar
Moderator - MOTS jr.


My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 529
Thanked 861 Times in 470 Posts
Rep Power: 1927146
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmaker View Post

Hi Kegs/Willx

I tried the reboot as you mentioned but did not work. In any case i took it to the dealer as i took the opportunity to have some minor things fixed and to my disappointment they could not update and get it going, new one on order to be replaced next week. It's not what i was hoping as I'm worried about what cosmetic damage they may do in the process, I'll just have to have a stern word with them before they do it.

It's a shame as the unit had been working flawlessly with no glitches or hint of anything going wrong..........then all of a sudden, blank black screen, Willx is this something that has occurred on other rides?

Cheers
Yep, there is some bad hardware out there and they will replace it. Honestly it is no big deal, it is one of the easiest radio swaps out there.

Take some photos in advance if you are concerned.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-22-2013, 04:40 AM
mrmaker's Avatar
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Hills, Sydney
Posts: 356
Thanks: 37
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 1385
mrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond reputemrmaker has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 8.4in Screen Blank

Thanks Willx,

That's good to know, taking a photo is a good idea.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-22-2013, 05:21 AM
Willx's Avatar
Moderator - MOTS jr.


My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4,884
Thanks: 529
Thanked 861 Times in 470 Posts
Rep Power: 1927146
Willx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond reputeWillx has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmaker View Post
Thanks Willx,

That's good to know, taking a photo is a good idea.
I honestly only heard of one incident and it was a long time ago and only one store. But hey, piece of mind.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nav 730N Blank Screen jstfly Audio/Visual/Navigation 9 12-06-2014 01:13 PM
2014 Overland and blank screen on replacement radio perruz Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 09-23-2013 04:46 AM
Upgrade to 8.4in screen? wstrick17 Audio/Video/Navigation/Alarms 16 07-03-2013 08:22 PM
430N (RHB) gives me a blank, then white SCREEN OF DEATH!...nothing works! THEPRFCT10 Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 06-07-2011 09:53 AM
430N (RHB) gives me the blank, then white SCREEN OF DEATH!...nothing works! THEPRFCT10 Audio/Visual/Navigation 6 03-22-2011 11:35 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.