Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Interior/Exterior/Visual

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 07-09-2014, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 179
gayazgaffoor is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Thanks man but I guess I am in a totally different time zone.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-10-2014, 02:44 AM
mrkonow's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 138
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1743
mrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond reputemrkonow has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Yes, the install is a breeze!!!

Did you get the uConnect store working?

Also, This is my humble opinion about this "hack"... In case of the missing pre-wired GPS antenna cable, and to avoid removing the headliner, I would try to use this or similar:

Chevrolet Cadillac Hummer GM GMC GPS Navigation Map Antenna GP 05 3M | eBay

And mount the square antenna at the middle top dash(if it bothers you, maybe a small custom fabrication to make it less noticeable). I used a similar antenna with my Pioneer App Radio in my old Jetta(inside the car/top dash) and it worked perfectly.

Successful swap on my Laredo E RA2 to RA4.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-10-2014, 03:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 179
gayazgaffoor is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Mine came with the sharkfin but I haven't opened the hard liner yet. Hopefully I will find the blue cable. But the twist is I'm not sure if the maps are going to work here in the Middle East(Dubai)!!! Keeping my fingers crossed on this.
Did the park assist work???
And you opened up this whole mod for me when I stumbled on your another RA2....thread!!! Salute...


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-10-2014, 10:18 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 211
maxbear3145 is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

This is what comes up with my uconnect... HD radio works, same with XM radio and Traffic.



Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkonow View Post
Yes, the install is a breeze!!!

Did you get the uConnect store working?

Also, This is my humble opinion about this "hack"... In case of the missing pre-wired GPS antenna cable, and to avoid removing the headliner, I would try to use this or similar:

Chevrolet Cadillac Hummer GM GMC GPS Navigation Map Antenna GP 05 3M | eBay

And mount the square antenna at the middle top dash(if it bothers you, maybe a small custom fabrication to make it less noticeable). I used a similar antenna with my Pioneer App Radio in my old Jetta(inside the car/top dash) and it worked perfectly.

Successful swap on my Laredo E RA2 to RA4.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Radio 2.jpg (511.5 KB, 100 views)
File Type: jpg radio 1.jpg (516.2 KB, 99 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-10-2014, 12:22 PM
pinetar's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sierra NV
Posts: 871
Thanks: 2
Thanked 35 Times in 35 Posts
Rep Power: 1741
pinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond reputepinetar has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Really want to upgrade my RA2 and you guys are making it sound more plausible. Thanks for all the continuing information being provided!
__________________

BLOO WK2 '14 - True Blue - Laredo E - V6 - ORA I - QT II
-
GY Adventure ATs : Summer / Blizzaks : Winter / Moab & Stock 17's
/ Gibson Axle Back / aFe drop-in / Tinted Tails with VLEDS / Black Trim ...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-10-2014, 11:45 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
jacksoncm3 is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Did the parkview work once the RA4 was installed?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-11-2014, 08:40 AM
BlckWK2's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 258
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 796
BlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Hi MaxBear,

Did you send in your RA3 to get the $150 core turn in rebate from the eBay seller? I see prices at $895 for the RA4.


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
BlckWK2 - 14' Altitude (BlackonBlack)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-11-2014, 11:50 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 211
maxbear3145 is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Hi,
No I did not. He said its on your Honor system. Told me to take my time to see how everything works out. I paid 730 out the door for this unit.

Here is another picture of the navi working in the cluster.

I wish I could reset this RA3 unit and sell it outright.... does anyone know if that's even possible?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg custer.jpg (504.2 KB, 96 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 07-11-2014, 02:48 PM
BlckWK2's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 258
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 796
BlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Cool. Now the seller needs to get more in stock


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
BlckWK2 - 14' Altitude (BlackonBlack)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-12-2014, 04:27 PM
BlckWK2's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 258
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 796
BlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond reputeBlckWK2 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Made contact with the seller directly. Should be getting my RA4 Wednesday of this coming week. Thanks for posting this. The dealership wants $595 to active NAV on the RA3. A little bit more and I can get all the other features from the head unit.
__________________
BlckWK2 - 14' Altitude (BlackonBlack)
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-14-2014, 03:34 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 211
maxbear3145 is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlckWK2 View Post
Made contact with the seller directly. Should be getting my RA4 Wednesday of this coming week. Thanks for posting this. The dealership wants $595 to active NAV on the RA3. A little bit more and I can get all the other features from the head unit.
Exactly thats how i felt. Honestly the HD radio is amazing.. I was shocked it seems better than XM
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-15-2014, 09:22 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 41
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 211
maxbear3145 is on a distinguished road
Re: 1st Mod : Nav - RA3 to RA4

So just a quick update. The Navi headunit had a software revision of 12.29.4 .

So I did some digging and updated it to 14.05.3

Here is the Link to do so ( the iso file unpacked )

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bwi...it?usp=sharing

The update worked perfectly. No issues at all right now. The only thing I am unable to figure out is how to get the Uconnect Working properly.

The 1st picture is showing the old software
The 2nd is after I updated it with the 14.05.3 Iso file via usb
The 3rd is showing the uconnect application... trying to connect but this is all it does....

Thats all I have for now.. Ill keep you guys posted if anything changes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (527.0 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (526.6 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (514.6 KB, 30 views)
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ra4

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 Uconnect RA3 - RA4 / Engineering Menu *sox* Audio/Visual/Navigation 21 08-13-2014 03:42 PM
RA2 (5" screen version) vs RA3/RA4 ?? Abacus Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 9 05-12-2014 04:23 PM
Convert from Uconnect 8.4 RA3 to RA4 ccp.jose Audio/Visual/Navigation 12 03-07-2014 03:41 PM
TSB RA3 and RA4 radio (8.4AN radio) shirogc2014 Technical Service Bulletins and Recalls 2 11-08-2013 03:20 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.