Fog lights on with High Beams? - Page 2 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Interior/Exterior/Visual

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 03-22-2015, 07:23 PM
Raptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 777
Thanks: 6
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 328518
Raptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicjak View Post
just install a relay with the trigger from the highbeam, pretty simple really, gotta love the forum police lol
It's not that simple anymore!

With a modern electrical bus system, and HID lighting that's not going to work.

I found on my old WJ one could burn both the fogs and hi-beams by inserting a penny into the joint in the stalk to activate the hi beams while the fogs were still powered. You can burn both the fogs and hi-beams on a 2011+ WK2 the same way, but not continuously as the stalk isn't jointed like the old WJ's and there is no place to place the penny to trick the stalk/switch into powering both light circuits simultaneously.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #14  
Old 03-22-2015, 07:36 PM
nicjak's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: victoria
Posts: 863
Thanks: 48
Thanked 120 Times in 106 Posts
Rep Power: 3040
nicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

mate im not sure exactly what you are wanting to do? here in aust the fogs are on all the time regardless of high or low beam. i have the hid fog kit and i also run a LED lightbar which lights on highbeam only trigered through a relay from my highbeam hid's so yes it can be done with canbus system.

im now guessing your fogs only come on with low beam and switch off with high is this correct? if so i would just run an extra relay to high beam or power them up with contstant 12v supply, or relay from parking circuit. lots of options.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor View Post
It's not that simple anymore!

With a modern electrical bus system, and HID lighting that's not going to work.

I found on my old WJ one could burn both the fogs and hi-beams by inserting a penny into the joint in the stalk to activate the hi beams while the fogs were still powered. You can burn both the fogs and hi-beams on a 2011+ WK2 the same way, but not continuously as the stalk isn't jointed like the old WJ's and there is no place to place the penny to trick the stalk/switch into powering both light circuits.
__________________
2012, grand cherokee 5.7 overland.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2015, 09:34 PM
Raptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 777
Thanks: 6
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 328518
Raptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicjak View Post
mate im not sure exactly what you are wanting to do? here in aust the fogs are on all the time regardless of high or low beam. i have the hid fog kit and i also run a LED lightbar which lights on highbeam only trigered through a relay from my highbeam hid's so yes it can be done with canbus system.

im now guessing your fogs only come on with low beam and switch off with high is this correct? if so i would just run an extra relay to high beam or power them up with contstant 12v supply, or relay from parking circuit. lots of options.
Yes that's correct, but keep in mind your overseas WK2 is wired differently than the WK2's sold here in the states. You have independently switched rear fogs, for example, we do not! With the canbus system it's not as simple as you describe. Your solution would work if you disconnect the OEM wiring to the fogs and run a completely new harness to them triggered off a relay from the hi-beam circuit. Even that may cause currents and voltage's not recognized on the OEM canbus system leading to other unforeseen problems. Every electrical signal goes thru the canbus to eliminate wiring and external relays, when this system senses a current or voltage it doesn't recognize problems may occur.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-22-2015, 11:14 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 647
m8keithappen is on a distinguished road
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

This is where US cars differ from ROW (Rest of World). On my previous car (Audi) all I had to do was use a simple USB cable connected to the OBD-II port to recode the car, and tell it that it was no longer in the USA.

Coding it for ROW enabled Fogs+High Beams, parallel parking lights, and a host of other features.

My 2015 Overland is a tremendous upgrade over my 2006 Audi A6, but in some ways, it was a step backwards. Incandescent interior lights??? LOL's.

I know there's a tool for the Jeeps as well. It's what the dealers use to "enable" the trailer wiring. Unfortunately, I don't think there's a 3rd party version of it like there is for VW/Audi (called VAG-COM).

If I had one... I'd do the same... FOG+HB. I'd also disable that silly feature of turning off the LED lights up front when the blinker is on. How ridiculous.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-23-2015, 12:15 AM
nicjak's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: victoria
Posts: 863
Thanks: 48
Thanked 120 Times in 106 Posts
Rep Power: 3040
nicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

mate im only trying to help but dont tell me something wont work when i actually have it working your starting to sound like the other forum officer
im sure with a test light you could find the trigger that is obviously switching them off when you select high beam, thats where i would be starting failing that i would just add another power circuit like i explained earlier

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor View Post
Yes that's correct, but keep in mind your overseas WK2 is wired differently than the WK2's sold here in the states. You have independently switched rear fogs, for example, we do not! With the canbus system it's not as simple as you describe. Your solution would work if you disconnect the OEM wiring to the fogs and run a completely new harness to them triggered off a relay from the hi-beam circuit. Even that may cause currents and voltage's not recognized on the OEM canbus system leading to other unforeseen problems. Every electrical signal goes thru the canbus to eliminate wiring and external relays, when this system senses a current or voltage it doesn't recognize problems may occur.
__________________
2012, grand cherokee 5.7 overland.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-23-2015, 03:17 AM
Raptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 777
Thanks: 6
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 328518
Raptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m8keithappen View Post
This is where US cars differ from ROW (Rest of World). On my previous car (Audi) all I had to do was use a simple USB cable connected to the OBD-II port to recode the car, and tell it that it was no longer in the USA.

Coding it for ROW enabled Fogs+High Beams, parallel parking lights, and a host of other features.

My 2015 Overland is a tremendous upgrade over my 2006 Audi A6, but in some ways, it was a step backwards. Incandescent interior lights??? LOL's.

I know there's a tool for the Jeeps as well. It's what the dealers use to "enable" the trailer wiring. Unfortunately, I don't think there's a 3rd party version of it like there is for VW/Audi (called VAG-COM).

If I had one... I'd do the same... FOG+HB. I'd also disable that silly feature of turning off the LED lights up front when the blinker is on. How ridiculous.
Yes the tool you need is called a "Star Scan" OBDII software reader and coder. Here in the US it's basically a dealer only item costing several thousand dollars, and even if you could obtain one, the software or code for it is proprietary Chrysler only. This proprietary code would cost thousands more, if you could somehow get it!

One may be able to enable some of these "overseas", or Export, features if you could get the right StarScan tool and the proper proprietary Chrysler codes for it. Then you would need and a tech with the proper knowledge on how to use it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-23-2015, 03:24 AM
Raptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 777
Thanks: 6
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 328518
Raptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicjak View Post
mate im only trying to help but dont tell me something wont work when i actually have it working your starting to sound like the other forum officer
im sure with a test light you could find the trigger that is obviously switching them off when you select high beam, thats where i would be starting failing that i would just add another power circuit like i explained earlier
Well mate, I think I've explained why your simple solution won't work on a vehicle equipped a with modern canbus electrical architecture system. You may want to reread what I've posted.

Let me repeat, your "overseas" WK2 is wired differently than the WK2's we have here in the states. The days of simply jumping in a relay to power an OEM lighting circuit, not an aftermarket stand alone lighting circuit, without accounting for the canbus signal are over!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-23-2015, 06:11 AM
nicjak's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: victoria
Posts: 863
Thanks: 48
Thanked 120 Times in 106 Posts
Rep Power: 3040
nicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor View Post
Well mate, I think I've explained why your simple solution won't work on a vehicle equipped a with modern canbus electrical architecture system. You may want to reread what I've posted.

Let me repeat, your "overseas" WK2 is wired differently than the WK2's we have here in the states. The days of simply jumping in a relay to power an OEM lighting circuit, not an aftermarket stand alone lighting circuit, without accounting for the canbus signal are over!
Mate you might want to reread what I posted, here I will write it again in plain old english. I understand exactly what you are saying my day job is running a mechanical workshop yes the os model is wired differently but what you are trying to achieve is no different to what I have already done. I have tapped onto the highbeam trigger wire of the hid headlights yes thats right hid and this wire then powers a relay yes one I have fitted to then power my led lightbar that is on the front of my overland when I switch to highbeam oh yes I can assure you my jeep that is the same as yours does run the same canbus system. And blow me down with no electrical or fault issues. Well i'll be you may say and yes I accept your apology good luck with figuring it out sounds like I have no idea and the 26yrs in the trade I must have wasted.
__________________
2012, grand cherokee 5.7 overland.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-23-2015, 07:10 AM
Barboots's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 2,369
Thanks: 129
Thanked 328 Times in 281 Posts
Rep Power: 10597
Barboots has disabled reputation
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?


Where's the popcorn?
__________________
2014 Overland CRD
Perth, Western Australia
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Barboots For This Useful Post:
  #22  
Old 03-23-2015, 07:19 AM
nicjak's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: victoria
Posts: 863
Thanks: 48
Thanked 120 Times in 106 Posts
Rep Power: 3040
nicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond reputenicjak has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barboots View Post

Where's the popcorn?
Hope you brought enough to share
__________________
2012, grand cherokee 5.7 overland.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-23-2015, 10:22 AM
Raptor's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 777
Thanks: 6
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 328518
Raptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond reputeRaptor has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicjak View Post
Mate you might want to reread what I posted, here I will write it again in plain old english. I understand exactly what you are saying my day job is running a mechanical workshop yes the os model is wired differently but what you are trying to achieve is no different to what I have already done. I have tapped onto the highbeam trigger wire of the hid headlights yes thats right hid and this wire then powers a relay yes one I have fitted to then power my led lightbar that is on the front of my overland when I switch to highbeam oh yes I can assure you my jeep that is the same as yours does run the same canbus system. And blow me down with no electrical or fault issues. Well i'll be you may say and yes I accept your apology good luck with figuring it out sounds like I have no idea and the 26yrs in the trade I must have wasted.
Your aftermarket LED lightbar is not on the OEM Canbus system but the OEM fogs are!!!!

What we are trying to do is very different than installing an aftermarket lighting circuit!!

26 yrs in a shop and you still can't comprehend what I have written?? Did you pass 4th grade reading comprehension?? Or are you going to continue writing nonsense without understanding the Canbus issue we have here in the States?

Please don't repeat that "you have done this" because you have not!
You have installed an aftermarket lighting circuit triggered by the hi-beam signal. That's all!

What we want to do is different. Your WK2 is wired differently than those sold to us in the States. Your export WK2 allows both of these OEM lighting circuits to be hot at the same time. THAT IS NOT THE CASE HERE IN THE US!!

OK let me repeat myself one last time!!

Try reading it one more time, maybe this time you'll get it!!!!

Yes you can trigger an aftermarket lighting circuit from the Hi beam signal of your OEM headlights, even if they are HID, but you cannot trigger an OEM lighting circuit, such as the fogs, that came from the factory on the canbus electrical architecture system the same way without problems! This is because Chrysler choose not to allow these two lighting circuits to be hot at the same time. (Here in the US, not for most Export models)

You would need to run an entirely new harness to the fogs with an independent power and grounds triggered off the relay signal you choose for this to work without problems. The OEM fogs are on the Canbus system and the OEM wiring doesn't allow these fogs to operate together w/the hi-beams in this country. When a signal is present for one the Canbus doesn't allow the other circuit to be hot. Export Star Scan OBDII programming coded to a US WK2, or a new independent wiring harness triggered as described above may allow these two lighting circuits to work simultaneously.
This Canbus issue is the same for those that want to swap OEM HID headlights into Jeeps that came with OEM halogen headlights, or SRT WK2's with LED strips into non SRT Jeeps. Same carline, even the same model years but because of the Canbus system these swaps aren't plug and play and custom wiring harness' are often required to make things work!

This will be my last response to the hopelessly uninformed in this thread, no matter what mindless response is posted later!

I swear!

Also please note; I might have a little more knowledge about electrical circuitry and related issues than most with a Bachelors Degree in Electrical Engineering & plenty of mod time on my 2012 Overland Summit! Not to mention the years spent modding everything else I've owned from Jeeps to Corvettes, Jap motorcycles, and Yamaha watercraft. Modern bus electrical architecture is really NOT mod friendly!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-23-2015, 01:14 PM
BadTA's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 183
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 15665
BadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond reputeBadTA has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Fog lights on with High Beams?

I just want to say, first off, I definitely welcome the input you both bring. Hell, any input anybody brings. I think both of you are making some valid points, but in the end it is starting to sound like a "reprogram" is the proper way to do this.

What I don't understand is, why would fog lights with High Beams be illegal?

It is not the fog lights that "blind" oncoming traffic. It is the high beams. If it were the fogs, then they would blind oncoming traffic even with the just the low beams. Right?

My understanding on the reason for doing it this way is, you don't use your high beams in fog, so if your high beams are on, you must not be in fog and thus not need fog lights.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Operating high beams together with fog lights? Scapie4 Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 14 01-21-2015 11:07 PM
High beams with fog lights Directfreak Troubleshooting/Problems 5 09-16-2013 07:34 PM
High Beams and Low Beams Switched. donddon Troubleshooting/Problems 4 02-20-2013 06:45 PM
Way to turn all lights on with high beams Dstraw2011 Visual Modifications 5 09-18-2012 08:20 PM
Can I turn my high beams into another set of low beams? thex2 Grand Cherokee - WK 8 11-02-2010 10:58 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.