Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Interior/Exterior/Visual

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-21-2013, 07:38 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1251
BrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond repute
Unused factory buttons

So im planning on installing a set of electric exhaust cut outs soon. I dont want to put a random toggle switch in my jeep, I want to use one of unused factory buttons.

Does anyone know how to use one of the dead switches. I havent taken anything apart yet due to time...
Is there something stopping it from being pushed in on the dead buttons?

here is a pic of the buttons... I plan on using the one next to the emergency flashers...

Any help would be appreciated... i tried searching for it and couldnt find anything..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.JPG (19.7 KB, 121 views)
File Type: jpg photo 2.JPG (25.0 KB, 136 views)
__________________

__________________
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Altitude
5.7, Mineral Grey
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2013, 08:02 PM
Hacksaw's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 1928
Hacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond reputeHacksaw has a reputation beyond repute
It is probably a blank filler piece. You may want to get a replacement button,remove the emblem, and add a cool one of your own...maybe since you're talking about exhaust maybe a cork...

Think Outside !- No Box Required.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2013, 11:43 PM
jeepster86's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1346
jeepster86 is on a distinguished road
Re: Unused factory buttons

Unfortunately I don't think that will work. I installed some off road lights and that's where I wanted to mount the switches. When I removed the switch panel I found that they are all connected as one one the back and wired into the computer. Maybe someone smarter than me might be able to make it work...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2013, 11:47 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1251
BrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Unused factory buttons

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepster86 View Post
Unfortunately I don't think that will work. I installed some off road lights and that's where I wanted to mount the switches. When I removed the switch panel I found that they are all connected as one one the back and wired into the computer. Maybe someone smarter than me might be able to make it work...

I found this post when I was searching. When I get time I will take it apart. I'm just nervous about taking apart my 2013 jeep.

How to "activate" a switch blank '08+ (radar detector hardwire remote mute/LEDs)
__________________
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Altitude
5.7, Mineral Grey
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2013, 11:50 PM
jeepster86's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1346
jeepster86 is on a distinguished road
Re: Unused factory buttons

Cool, Hope that works!

There is a good picture of the back of the switch panel in this post:
How to add Auto HVAC to your WK2!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2013, 11:23 AM
thekoy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1276
thekoy has disabled reputation
Re: Unused factory buttons

I did this in my Jeep. The trick is finding the right switch to put behind the button. It has to be able to handle the load, be the right size, and have the right travel (key part) to make it work. What I did, and highly recommend, is to get a bank of switches to mod. This way if you feel the project isn't going well, you can ditch without damage.

This should be a link to the switch bank

I'd share pics, but the thread above pretty much covers it all. Pretty much the same from the WK to WK2 with regard to the switch bank.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:37 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1251
BrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond reputeBrandonATX has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Unused factory buttons

What switch did you use/recommend.
I want to use a switch to run two electric cutouts on one switch
__________________
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee Altitude
5.7, Mineral Grey
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:02 PM
thekoy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: NoVA
Posts: 65
Thanks: 8
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1276
thekoy has disabled reputation
Re: Unused factory buttons

I think this is the one that I used.

SPST PUSH BUTTON SWITCH "RED" ON-OFF : Amazon.com : Automotive

It is setup for just my radar detector so 3 amps is all I needed.

The down side to that switch however, is that it was not long enough to make contact with the back of the blank. I had to use a few rubber grommets to fill the gap. It actually gave it a nice "soft" feel when pressing so I am happy with it for now.

Those cut outs are going to sound pretty awesome coming from you Jeep, congrats.
__________________

2014 Grand Cherokee SRT - Granite

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Overland - Dark Charcoal
Gone, but not forgotten.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:11 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manhasset, NY
Posts: 172
Thanks: 2
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 326320
jdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond reputejdchamp31 has a reputation beyond repute
I have the exhaust bypass valves from QTP and got the remote control module as it was easier and cleaner.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2013, 10:08 AM
lysol's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2013 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: The Federal City
Posts: 317
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 935
lysol is on a distinguished road
Re: Unused factory buttons

You know. With the 3d printers on the rise, i bet it wouldn't be hard to make one from scratch in the near future.
__________________
"I've got GREAT news! , I just saved a bunch of money on my motorcycle insurance by outrunning the cops."

'13 WK2 Overland Summit V8 (Black Leather) Mineral Grey
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-19-2013, 05:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 695
chcfirefighter is on a distinguished road
Re: Unused factory buttons

Take a look at the end of this thread, it's what I did.

Switches to fit Factory "holes"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-25-2013, 09:47 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2013 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Augusta
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 607
gdasher is on a distinguished road
Re: Unused factory buttons

If all else fails, you can always go old school with some Mario Kart...
http://0.media.dorkly.cvcdn.com/48/5...6669217856.jpg
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Dash Buttons !!! Da_1388 Interior/Exterior/Visual 4 10-17-2012 10:31 PM
Key FOB with Five Buttons + 2?? iDave Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 10 05-02-2012 07:53 AM
Center Console Buttons bumpin_jeep Grand Cherokee - WK 6 02-11-2011 03:25 PM
Window/Unlock Buttons swing4terps Grand Cherokee - WK 4 10-13-2010 01:28 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community