Reprogram clockspring/SCM - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-30-2015, 09:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 766
jdmm08 is on a distinguished road
Reprogram clockspring/SCM

Anyone know how to re flash/reprogram the clock spring. I replaced mine with a used part and according to the seller because it came out of a similar 05 grand Cherokee limited it doesn't require programming.

But I still have the same U110A code, traction light and service elec break warning. If like to try reprogramming it before dropping $600 on a new one.


Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-2015, 04:05 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 953
Thanks: 2
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 277859
dr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Reprogram clockspring/SCM

I could be wrong, but I thought the U110a was for the CANBUS C losing communication with the SCM, not the clockspring...I know they are often used interchangeably but have never been certain if they are in fact the same part. I think the clockspring is included within the SCM.

The SCCM is the module with the turn signal/ wiper stalk and the SCM connects to that. First I would check the relevant fuses, then I would pull and replace both (SCM and SCCM) those from a scrap car and see if that solves your problem.

If not, it may be a short or ground anywhere downstream from the SCM to CANBUS B.

In any event, the clockspring should not need programming.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2015, 04:16 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 953
Thanks: 2
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 277859
dr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Reprogram clockspring/SCM

Not specific to the WK, but this may help with troubleshooting if you haven't seen it already:

Fault Code U110a - Chrysler 300C Forum: 300C & SRT8 Forums
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2015, 07:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 766
jdmm08 is on a distinguished road
Re: Reprogram clockspring/SCM

Thanks. I did try the fuse but unfortunately it didn't do anything for me. I think I've isolated it to the actual clockspring and if that doesn't work then the B bus. In which case will be probably more cost than it's worth at this point.


Sent from my iPad using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-03-2015, 09:50 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 953
Thanks: 2
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 277859
dr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond reputedr.lee.baugh has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Reprogram clockspring/SCM

Good luck, and keep us posted.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2016, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 178
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 2937
wkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond reputewkearney99 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Reprogram clockspring/SCM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmm08 View Post
Thanks. I did try the fuse but unfortunately it didn't do anything for me. I think I've isolated it to the actual clockspring and if that doesn't work then the B bus.
How'd it turn out?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the clock spring same as steering control module (scm) jdmm08 Troubleshooting/Problems 4 03-01-2015 05:54 PM
SCM Problem feg75 Troubleshooting/Problems 4 03-27-2014 08:06 PM
HELP: how to i reprogram my auto-up windows crazylikeacharger Troubleshooting/Problems 4 09-12-2011 11:11 PM
How to reprogram remote keyless entry for 04 Jeep Grand Cherokee Ltd. stryker620 Troubleshooting/Problems 11 04-15-2011 06:29 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.