Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1013
Silvano is on a distinguished road
Torque converter

Hello everybody,
i have a problem with my 2007 crd overland with track drive II:
When i turn the engine on, i hear a noise like if a metal tube tinkle on iron (or something like this), when i look under the car i find out that the noise is coming of the space between motor and automatic transmission.
There is a plug, when i take it out the noise became more noisy. Also if i accelerate more that 3000, there is a whistle.
Can some one help me please?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-04-2012, 02:52 PM
2005JGC's Avatar
Senior Member


My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,751
Thanks: 51
Thanked 69 Times in 58 Posts
Rep Power: 1653071
2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute2005JGC has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque converter

I would check to see that your flex plate bolts are tight. how long have you had the jeep?
__________________

__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee - Gone but not forgotten!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2012, 03:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1013
Silvano is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque converter

Thank you very much, this thing make me crazy, because it seems be big problem but I have no problem (no power problem or transmission changing problem).
It have 170.000 km, which are flex plate bolt? Thank you
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2012, 04:12 PM
Escape's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,911
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 113335
Escape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond reputeEscape has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque converter

On the bottom of your transmission, where it mounts to the engine, there are 2 large bolts that hold the inspection plate in place. Remove those 2 bolts and remove the inspection plate.

You will now be able to see where the Flexplate mounts directly to the torqueconverter inside the transmission bellhousing. Now your going to need a second person unless you have a lift. Turn the engine by hand using the crank bolt on the front of the engine and inspect each bolt on the flexplate making sure they are tightened to spec's. I numbered mine with a paint marker so I would know where I started.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Forged, Stroked, Blown, Bottle Fed & More
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-04-2012, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1013
Silvano is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque converter

I saw that bolt but i didn't control if they was tightened (but they looked ok). I reopened that plug after i saw how converter looks like, i thought that one of the bolt go off and make noise. How will i know they spec's?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-2012, 02:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1013
Silvano is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque converter

I just tried to tied up the bolt, but they was all ok

the video of the problem
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2014, 07:20 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1997 4.0L ZJ
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: county durham GB
Posts: 6
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 146
reikiwarrior is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque converter

mine sounds a little like this on a grand cherokee 1999 ,been standing 18 month but noise only there in R-N- D , no sound in park just normal
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque Converter and PCM relationship mmain Troubleshooting/Problems 3 03-27-2012 09:03 AM
failed torque converter matthewandandrea Troubleshooting/Problems 6 12-22-2011 05:11 PM
Torque Converter kaflyboy Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 2 12-15-2011 03:35 PM
Part # of SRT8 torque converter cmn1 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes 4 07-14-2010 10:01 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.