Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-25-2013, 05:17 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
06_Hemi_Overland is on a distinguished road
Exclamation TPS light illuminated after PCM replacement

Hi all,

I replaced my PCM today with a re-manned unit. Everything was supposed to be ready to go and no trip to the dealer needed. Here are the stats: 06 GC Overland w/ Hemi 5.7L 4WD. Trans 545RFE.

I can't seem to find out a DIY on doing a re-learn procedure to the TPS. When I hook up a "snap on" (red brick scanner), I can monitor the voltages on APP 1 & 2 Throttle position percent stays at 0% no matter where the pedal is physically. The voltage goes up and down with pressing the accelerator pedal. With that in mind the TPS sensor is sending out a signal. So, to rule out any hardware issues, I put the working PCM back in and throttle works fine, no TPS light, No Codes. With this in mind I need to do a re-learn procedure on the TPS. Does anyone know how to do that without using Starscan?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2013, 08:54 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
06_Hemi_Overland is on a distinguished road
Arrow Re: TPS light illuminated after PCM replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by 06_Hemi_Overland View Post
Hi all,

I replaced my PCM today with a re-manned unit. Everything was supposed to be ready to go and no trip to the dealer needed. Here are the stats: 06 GC Overland w/ Hemi 5.7L 4WD. Trans 545RFE.

I can't seem to find out a DIY on doing a re-learn procedure to the TPS. When I hook up a "snap on" (red brick scanner), I can monitor the voltages on APP 1 & 2 Throttle position percent stays at 0% no matter where the pedal is physically. The voltage goes up and down with pressing the accelerator pedal. With that in mind the TPS sensor is sending out a signal. So, to rule out any hardware issues, I put the working PCM back in and throttle works fine, no TPS light, No Codes. With this in mind I need to do a re-learn procedure on the TPS. Does anyone know how to do that without using Starscan?

I'm going to post an answer to myself:

I used The Autel Maxidas DS708. I went into the Miscellaneous menu and did a TPS relearn function. Didn't work the first time. Worked the second time. The Autel still reported that it didn't successfully reset the Module. TPS light went off on the dash and throttle was restored. Saved money by not having it at the stealership for a starscan session!

Throttle works, no lights.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with TPS replacement (P0123/0121) tkdgirl Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 13 02-19-2014 07:59 AM
Check Engine Light, Shifting Issues, TPS - no fix josebroo Troubleshooting/Problems Discussion 3 06-29-2013 08:25 AM
Check engine, tps dash warning light, oil pressure warning light seongmokim Troubleshooting/Problems 1 11-19-2012 12:17 PM
Illuminated Interior Light accessory Kit.. J13ntv Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 3 08-20-2010 05:50 PM
Pcm 4x2 = pcm 4x4 surfrman Grand Cherokee - WK 6 08-04-2010 06:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community