Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-08-2011, 05:39 PM
ryanwk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: sterling,VA
Posts: 251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2037
ryanwk is on a distinguished road
new tires and tpms ?

so i had a stelership put on the tires i got from tire rack yesterday grabber at2 in 255/65/17 jeep is all stock with the advanced tpms. and now the psi numbers on the dash are do not match up with the right tires. they are all working and showing the right psi but left rear is in the right rear on the display and so on. also about 5 months ago i had to replace 2 tpms due to broken stems got them from rock auto and dealer tells me that they can not check them with star scan tool does this seam right?and how do I fix the tpms thanks for any help
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2011, 06:30 PM
Redpit's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Rep Power: 2847
Redpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond reputeRedpit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: new tires and tpms ?

You could always get a programmer and turn them off. Kill 2 birds with one stone. Get improved performance and solve your tpms.
__________________

__________________

Gibson Exhaust, AFE Stage 2 Intake, Diablosport programmer, FlyinRyan trans tune & PCM tune, Brush Guard, Tail light Guards, HID Lows & Fogs, LED interior lights, SRB 100w Fog lights, Plasti-dipped wheels, 245/70/17 General Grabber AT2's, and Vent Visor Rain Guards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2011, 11:34 AM
Don's GC's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1019
Don's GC is on a distinguished road
Re: new tires and tpms ?

I ran into this problem a while back, and had to buy tpms sensors from Chrysler to fix the problem. The sensor has an id number that the star Scanner has to store in the system. an aftermarket sensor would probably work with the basic system, but not with the psi advanced system.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-14-2011, 12:37 PM
antsjeep's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 760
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Rep Power: 8581
antsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Re: new tires and tpms ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don's GC View Post
I ran into this problem a while back, and had to buy tpms sensors from Chrysler to fix the problem. The sensor has an id number that the star Scanner has to store in the system. an aftermarket sensor would probably work with the basic system, but not with the psi advanced system.
+1
__________________
2008 WK Laredo 4x4
RC 2.5" Lift, Bilstein HD, Monroe LL, 265/70/17 General Grabber AT2, JK Moabs, 1.25" spacers, K&N 57 Series, PW Mod,
DDM 5k Lows, VLED 6K LED Fogs, Stillen Covers, 15% front tint, BA System, Infinity 3.5" dash, JL Audio 250/1 & StealthBox
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2012, 06:29 PM
New Member
My Jeep: 2009 3.6L WK
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Jasp123333 is on a distinguished road
Re: new tires and tpms ?

what program is that
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7770
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: new tires and tpms ?

It works, so not all bad news; in the long run it is cheaper to just leave things as is, and realize the displays are reversed. It will cost quite a lot more to buy OEM sensors from the stealer plus the labor just to have them replaced.
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2012, 09:43 AM
Antonio186's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2002 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: East Bridgewater, ma
Posts: 554
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 346905
Antonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond reputeAntonio186 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: new tires and tpms ?

all you have to do is retrain the TPMS sensors.

i have the advanced tpms system in mine and when i got them rotated they did the same thing. im not sure about the WK, but on the WJ there is a TPMS training magnet in your jeep under the rear seat. if you dont have one, you can substitute it it with a 6x9 Speaker magnet, mine was missing so i used the speaker and worked like a charm. all you need to do is going to the EVIC and select retrain TPMS, after each tire is trained the horn will beep. and thats it

all the right psi readings on all the correct tires
__________________

|14 Billet Silver 5.7 WK2 Limited QTII|
|02 4.7 WJ Limited QuadraDrive|
|5000K HIDS Lows/Fogs|6K V-Leds 7w reverse lights|
|Build Thread|
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-22-2012, 03:27 PM
swarmer's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 838
swarmer is on a distinguished road
Re: new tires and tpms ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanwk View Post
so i had a stelership put on the tires i got from tire rack yesterday grabber at2 in 255/65/17 jeep is all stock with the advanced tpms.
Pics?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping rims+tires with another WK2 - will TPMS still work? rb3wreath Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 9 07-14-2011 08:31 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community