Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-01-2014, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1206
Kayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond repute
Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

Title says it all. Can I use my old TPMS on my new wheels when they get here? I'm ordering some Mamba MR1X's and am trying to save a buck or two. Thanks!

Also, if anyone wants to buy my old Ronin II wheels PM me!! Cheeeeaaaap!
__________________

__________________
2006 4.7L Limited Quadra-Drive II
17" Black Mamba MR1X Wheels on 255/70 Revo 2's
2" Rough Country Lift/Level
Bilstein's Front/Rear
K&N Intake -> Ported TB -> Flowmaster 50
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2014, 12:12 AM
SNUKE's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney, Aus
Posts: 2,860
Thanks: 69
Thanked 268 Times in 218 Posts
Rep Power: 5548
SNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond reputeSNUKE has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

yes
__________________

__________________
I'm just want it for the "shorter headlamps".

MY14 GC Limited, 3.0 CRD, Lux II, Granite Crystal, 18" Wheels, Tubular Side Steps.
Could I get my avatar much larger?
Ordered: July 7 2013 Delivered Nov 25th
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2014, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1206
Kayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

Thought so. Local tire place told my dad he couldn't use the same sensors when he got new snow tires. Told him it was bogus. Just wanna be prepared...
__________________
2006 4.7L Limited Quadra-Drive II
17" Black Mamba MR1X Wheels on 255/70 Revo 2's
2" Rough Country Lift/Level
Bilstein's Front/Rear
K&N Intake -> Ported TB -> Flowmaster 50
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2014, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 854
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 7945
dmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond reputedmsfun has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

Not worth using old ones if they have more than 70k. They are not designed to last much longer than that, and the labor cost to put on new sensors after the new wheels and tires are mounted will be far more than if you just do it now. I had one bad one at 75k, put on new sensors with new tires shortly after that.
__________________
2006 GC Overland QD II
5.7 Hemi, Modern Muscle 85 mm CNC ported TB, Apexi super voltage stabilizer, Billet Tech. Catch Can, Koni FSD shocks/struts, SRT8 sway bars, Cooper AT3's, Amsoil fluids, Diablosport Intune CMR tuned by Hemifever tuning.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2014, 11:41 AM
Strongjeff's Avatar
Project Six Shooter
My Jeep: 2008 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Songwon, South Korea
Posts: 5,572
Thanks: 135
Thanked 243 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 12229
Strongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsfun View Post
Not worth using old ones if they have more than 70k. They are not designed to last much longer than that, and the labor cost to put on new sensors after the new wheels and tires are mounted will be far more than if you just do it now. I had one bad one at 75k, put on new sensors with new tires shortly after that.
Agreed unless they were changed not too long ago.
__________________
2008 JGC, Grey Stone Metallic SRT-6
MODS-http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/project-six-shooter-build-thread-68955.html
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2014, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1206
Kayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

Nope. Stock sensors that have been moved once from stock tires to revo 2's years ago. 63k miles or so on them. I'm looking at rock auto for sensors now. Didn't expect an additional $200 for sensors... Any recommendations? They always have good prices and selection. Not sure what the difference is between direct fir and multi-fit...

2006 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) Sensor
__________________
2006 4.7L Limited Quadra-Drive II
17" Black Mamba MR1X Wheels on 255/70 Revo 2's
2" Rough Country Lift/Level
Bilstein's Front/Rear
K&N Intake -> Ported TB -> Flowmaster 50
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2014, 03:44 PM
Strongjeff's Avatar
Project Six Shooter
My Jeep: 2008 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Songwon, South Korea
Posts: 5,572
Thanks: 135
Thanked 243 Times in 233 Posts
Rep Power: 12229
Strongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond reputeStrongjeff has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayak83 View Post
Nope. Stock sensors that have been moved once from stock tires to revo 2's years ago. 63k miles or so on them. I'm looking at rock auto for sensors now. Didn't expect an additional $200 for sensors... Any recommendations? They always have good prices and selection. Not sure what the difference is between direct fir and multi-fit...

2006 JEEP GRAND CHEROKEE Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) Sensor
Direct fit. Had to replace one.
__________________
2008 JGC, Grey Stone Metallic SRT-6
MODS-http://www.jeepgarage.org/f5/project-six-shooter-build-thread-68955.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 245
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1206
Kayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond reputeKayak83 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Use old TPMS on New Wheels?

Had the wheels put on. They switched over the sensors without issue. Although after charging me for the rebuild kits for the sensors, mount/balance and black lug nuts it ended up being $300 just to switch some wheels. Ouch!






__________________

__________________
2006 4.7L Limited Quadra-Drive II
17" Black Mamba MR1X Wheels on 255/70 Revo 2's
2" Rough Country Lift/Level
Bilstein's Front/Rear
K&N Intake -> Ported TB -> Flowmaster 50
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS question for second set of wheels amill Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 8 10-24-2012 04:44 PM
New SRT wheels/tires/TPMS. What are my options to reprogram TPMS sensors? elp_jc Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 6 05-20-2012 03:03 AM
TPMS off JK Rubicon Wheels work sometimes and sometimes dont ccape0328 Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 11 10-26-2011 10:27 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community