Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-18-2013, 06:54 PM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

Is there an adapter like the PAC C2A-CHY HILO PAC C2A-CHY Add an Aftermarket Amplifier harness for Chrysler Can Bus Vehicles * Plugs into the vehicle\'s CAN bus and provides a stereo RCA audio output for adding aftermarket amplification. Provides full range audio output 20-20,000Hz. Audio othat allows you to add an extra amp to the stock system if you DONT have the premium sound system? Is the only way to tell if you have the premium sound system by looking for the amp under the back trim, and is that a definite tell of whether you have the premium or not?

I've got an amp and sub sitting around from my old car that I'd like to install in my new 07 GC but I don't really want to drop 100 in a deck, 100 in a wiring harness, and 20 in an ugly dash mount. I'm doing this more for a fun project and another reason to make something out of fiberglass, not so much cause I want a booming system, so I don't want to spend a fortune on parts.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2013, 08:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1094
wildin0ut is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

ahh forgot the name...think its like convertor or something.. you have to just splice them into your speaker wires and it gives you the rca plugs and also a remote wire hook up.. it was like 15 bux i believe.. its nothing fancy like that link you put up.. I have 2 12s with a 1200 watt amp and it worked perfectly.. go to best buy or a stereo shop.. installation was cake..
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2013, 08:21 PM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

well, I've answered the question about the premium amp. The amp is necessary for the adapter to work.

So my only question left is, is there an alternative for those without the amplified stock GC sound system?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2013, 08:23 PM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildin0ut View Post
ahh forgot the name...think its like convertor or something.. you have to just splice them into your speaker wires and it gives you the rca plugs and also a remote wire hook up.. it was like 15 bux i believe.. its nothing fancy like that link you put up.. I have 2 12s with a 1200 watt amp and it worked perfectly.. go to best buy or a stereo shop.. installation was cake..
ok, I'll have to look into it. It's a generic works-with-any-speakerwire adapter or is it made for Chrystler 2005-2010 car models?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-18-2013, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1094
wildin0ut is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

i had the same one hooked into my suburu.. works perfect.. i have a 430n in my car and didnt want to have to replace that unit just to have rca plugs.. i had them in a 2004 sti and no issues in my 2011 jeep.. might sound fishy due to the fact that there are over priced units that due the exact same thing out there for 100-150 bux but if u brought your car to best buy and had them install a sub and amp with you wanting to keep your stock unit they would install this $15 converter
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-18-2013, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1094
wildin0ut is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

*do
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-18-2013, 09:28 PM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Did it reduce the sound quality of the speaker you spliced from?
__________________
"Actual happiness always looks pretty squalid in comparison with the over-compensations for misery." - Mustapha Mond
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-18-2013, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1094
wildin0ut is on a distinguished road
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

well i still have stock speakers and there not the greatest.. doesnt seem to have changed the quality at all..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-18-2013, 10:14 PM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Ok, as long as all 4 speakers work then it sounds like the most cost effective route. At least for now till i find a head unit that matches well. Ive been looking for a while and havent found a unit that matches the green of the dash yet.... sucks cause i had a perfectly good sony one in my old jeep that i left in it on the trade in that would have matched perfectly..... and the dash insert kits at all ugly.....
__________________
"Actual happiness always looks pretty squalid in comparison with the over-compensations for misery." - Mustapha Mond
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2013, 09:00 AM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildin0ut View Post
ahh forgot the name...think its like convertor or something.. you have to just splice them into your speaker wires and it gives you the rca plugs and also a remote wire hook up.. it was like 15 bux i believe.. its nothing fancy like that link you put up.. I have 2 12s with a 1200 watt amp and it worked perfectly.. go to best buy or a stereo shop.. installation was cake..
What did you do about a remote for the amps? How did you get them to turn on? is there a remote wire you can splice like this from the deck or did you have to install a switch?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-19-2013, 10:45 AM
antsjeep's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 955
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 10962
antsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

Quote:
Originally Posted by imhoffg View Post
What did you do about a remote for the amps? How did you get them to turn on? is there a remote wire you can splice like this from the deck or did you have to install a switch?
cig lighter is what i tapped into. Works just fine.
__________________
2014 - Altitude - Billet Silver
DDM 5k HID, VLed 5k led fogs, 15% tint, Mopar Slush Mats & Cargo Mat,
Black Gorilla Lug Nuts, 1.25" Bora Spacers, Black Overland Mesh, Curt Hitch
Next: SRT Springs, JL Stealth Box & XD300/1, OEM Rearview Camera
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-2013, 10:54 AM
imhoffg's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: The Twin Cities
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 736
imhoffg is on a distinguished road
Garage
Re: Adding Aftermarket Sub Amp to Stock Deck

Quote:
Originally Posted by antsjeep View Post
cig lighter is what i tapped into. Works just fine.
Then you had to install a switch, correct? I'd prefer a solution that just works with the stereo, ignition and the standard electronics setup. I don't want wires and switches and all that jazz. Not sure if this is possible with this quick-fix setup though....
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what's the best AfterMarket Double Din Deck damien79 Audio/Visual/Navigation 14 02-16-2013 06:14 PM
adding amp nitroburn Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 07-19-2012 04:51 PM
Help wiring aftermarket subs+amp into stock 2012 srt8 radio mlarco52 Audio/Visual/Navigation 11 12-15-2011 12:25 PM
Adding a system to stock radio.... jeepgrand23 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 09-06-2010 06:21 PM
replace stock springs when adding lift? Hot5Nics Off Road Modifications 6 03-19-2010 04:26 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.