Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 08-12-2013, 01:18 AM
greenwayer's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 6.4L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 3,066
Thanks: 71
Thanked 150 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 9962
greenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond repute
Adding sub to ba system

Hey guys,
The previous owner of my jeep had installed a sub in the back, but took it out. Since he left the wiring intact I want to install a sub. It looks like there are some audio cable running to the panel under the steering wheel where there may have been an amp at some point. I was wondering if it would be possible to wire the sub directly to the stock Boston amp in the back, so I don't have to buy another amp. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6.4L (The beast) (Fastest lifted WK) The Sparkly Build
2012 BMW X5 Turbo'ed (The b*tch)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L (Ol' reliable)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-12-2013, 11:17 AM
brentwoodkris's Avatar
The Ever-Dissatisfied Tinkerer
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 3772
brentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding sub to ba system

No. You'll need a separate amp to drive a sub. The factory BA system doesn't have an output for a sub, so you'll either have to do the Kicker system upgrade or do a LOC like I did in order to add a sub. If there are "cables" strung under the steering wheel, it could have been for about anything. Are they RCAs? Accessory wire? Power wire running to the battery through the firewall?

The easiest way to add a sub to the factory BA system is with a LOC and another amp. I installed my amp in the rear tool tray for a concealed build and left the LOC in behind the trim with the factor BA amp.
__________________

__________________
'05 WK GC 5.7L HEMI, Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmors, Monroe Reflex Front Struts/Monroe Load Adjusting Rear Shocks, EBC Drilled/Slotted Sport Rotors, Wagner Ceramic Brake Pads, Taylor Shorties, SRT8 Stock CAI Conversion, K&N Drop-in, Block Heater, 18.5% Tint All Around, Boston SE Speakers, 12" Alpine Type-R Sub w/ sealed box w/ RF PRIME R1000-1D, ScanGauge II w/ windshield mount, BT Catch Can w/custom bracket, Swagman Fork Mount Bicycle Rack, WeatherTech front floor liners, SRT8 Pedal Covers, eBay full LED lighting kit, Custom MDS Indicator LED Light, Mega Raizin Voltage Stabilizer & Grounding Kit, Challenger IAT Sensor, Escort Passport 9500ix, Python 5706P RS/Security/KE w/ extras, SA 5 switch panel, Fumoto Oil Valve, Overland WG Steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-12-2013, 02:10 PM
greenwayer's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 6.4L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 3,066
Thanks: 71
Thanked 150 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 9962
greenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Quote:
Originally Posted by brentwoodkris View Post
No. You'll need a separate amp to drive a sub. The factory BA system doesn't have an output for a sub, so you'll either have to do the Kicker system upgrade or do a LOC like I did in order to add a sub. If there are "cables" strung under the steering wheel, it could have been for about anything. Are they RCAs? Accessory wire? Power wire running to the battery through the firewall?

The easiest way to add a sub to the factory BA system is with a LOC and another amp. I installed my amp in the rear tool tray for a concealed build and left the LOC in behind the trim with the factor BA amp.
They are RCA audio cables. They run from the back of the rear seat to under the wheel. What's a loc?
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6.4L (The beast) (Fastest lifted WK) The Sparkly Build
2012 BMW X5 Turbo'ed (The b*tch)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L (Ol' reliable)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-12-2013, 02:38 PM
brentwoodkris's Avatar
The Ever-Dissatisfied Tinkerer
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 3772
brentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwayer View Post
They are RCA audio cables. They run from the back of the rear seat to under the wheel. What's a loc?
If you've got a factory BA system (including the headunit), then I'm not sure what purpose RCA cables from the front to the rear ever would have served because there are no RCA outs on our systems. This is because in order to use a LOC, or Line [Level] Output Converter, you want to have as much as a full spectrum of sound as possible to tap for your bass or line level output.

The factory BA system has encoded CANBUS signal which leaves the headunit and is decoded at the amplifier in the back trim panel, which then divides out the signals via a built in equalizer. The front speakers are divided into high/mids to the dashboard speakers and lows to the doors. The rear speakers get the full spectrum of sound. Therefore, the sound quality in the rear door speakers is your best bet for the closest to perfect sound qualify (or at least as your headunit interprets the media).

Because the input to the amp is encoded from the headunit, you must tap the output signal from the amp with the LOC. The LOC will be powered (convenient with already existing power wires from the amp OR the 12v DC socket connection next to it) and you'll need to tap the signal going to the rear speakers (see pinouts on WKjeeps). The LOC will have place for output RCA cables, which will then connect to the new amp you'll need for the sub.
__________________
'05 WK GC 5.7L HEMI, Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmors, Monroe Reflex Front Struts/Monroe Load Adjusting Rear Shocks, EBC Drilled/Slotted Sport Rotors, Wagner Ceramic Brake Pads, Taylor Shorties, SRT8 Stock CAI Conversion, K&N Drop-in, Block Heater, 18.5% Tint All Around, Boston SE Speakers, 12" Alpine Type-R Sub w/ sealed box w/ RF PRIME R1000-1D, ScanGauge II w/ windshield mount, BT Catch Can w/custom bracket, Swagman Fork Mount Bicycle Rack, WeatherTech front floor liners, SRT8 Pedal Covers, eBay full LED lighting kit, Custom MDS Indicator LED Light, Mega Raizin Voltage Stabilizer & Grounding Kit, Challenger IAT Sensor, Escort Passport 9500ix, Python 5706P RS/Security/KE w/ extras, SA 5 switch panel, Fumoto Oil Valve, Overland WG Steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2013, 08:37 AM
WK2007's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1545
WK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond reputeWK2007 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding sub to ba system

As usual, Brent has provided some excellent information. One thing that I would advice against, however, is to use any existing electrical wiring for powering the amplifier that drives the sub woofer. There are several reasons for this, one being it is much safer with a dedicated wiring from the battery to the amp that includes a fuse. If you choose not to run a separate power wires form the battery, you run the risk of affecting other parts of the electrical system should something burn out or short circuit. It is much easier (and cheaper!!) to replace some dedicated wiring rather than replacing OEM wiring harnesses or parts. In addition, existing electrical wires may provide enough voltage for your amp, but the wires may not be able to handle the recommended amperes needed for the amplifier (you can check the requirements for each amplifier by downloading manuals for various amplifiers on their respective manufacturer websites or check with places such as Crutchfield).

I just added a subwoofer to my BA system by using a LOC and the difference is tremendous. I run a Boston G112PS (ported setup) with a smaller 3ooW RMS (bridged) amp and this combination provides more bass than I really need.

Good luck!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2013, 09:49 AM
brentwoodkris's Avatar
The Ever-Dissatisfied Tinkerer
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 3772
brentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Quote:
Originally Posted by WK2007 View Post
As usual, Brent has provided some excellent information. One thing that I would advice against, however, is to use any existing electrical wiring for powering the amplifier that drives the sub woofer. There are several reasons for this, one being it is much safer with a dedicated wiring from the battery to the amp that includes a fuse. If you choose not to run a separate power wires form the battery, you run the risk of affecting other parts of the electrical system should something burn out or short circuit. It is much easier (and cheaper!!) to replace some dedicated wiring rather than replacing OEM wiring harnesses or parts. In addition, existing electrical wires may provide enough voltage for your amp, but the wires may not be able to handle the recommended amperes needed for the amplifier (you can check the requirements for each amplifier by downloading manuals for various amplifiers on their respective manufacturer websites or check with places such as Crutchfield).

I just added a subwoofer to my BA system by using a LOC and the difference is tremendous. I run a Boston G112PS (ported setup) with a smaller 3ooW RMS (bridged) amp and this combination provides more bass than I really need.

Good luck!
Well said WK2007! I didn't mean that he should power the actual amp by the existing wiring, but I can see how what I said can be interpreted to say as much. I powered my LOC via the 12v DC outlet in the back, and used the 12v switched DC outlet in the front as the accessory wire for the "remote switch" on my amp.

TO CLARIFY, emphasizing what WK2007 said, YOU SHOULD NEVER POWER AN AFTERMARKET AMP BY USING EXISTING OEM VEHICLE WIRING HARNESSES OR THE LIKE.

Powering my Fosgate amp is a Fosgate 4ga kit with the power wire running up along the floor trim and through the firewall to the battery. I believe it has a built in-line 100AMP fuse located about 12" from the battery. I ground down and roughed up one of the bolts for the liftgate latch and used that for my amp ground wire.

Also important to note is that if you plan on having a sub/amp with any decent wattage ratings (whether peak or RMS), you should buy your power wires accordingly. My amp pushing up to 1000w RMS is pretty much at the cap of allowable for a 4ga wire.

Also, I never recommend 8ga wire as they typically don't have enough throughput for a decent sub setup. If you cheap out on anything, DON'T cheap out on the wiring kit (some mfgr's use the wire coating when measuring wire thickness, etc).
__________________
'05 WK GC 5.7L HEMI, Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmors, Monroe Reflex Front Struts/Monroe Load Adjusting Rear Shocks, EBC Drilled/Slotted Sport Rotors, Wagner Ceramic Brake Pads, Taylor Shorties, SRT8 Stock CAI Conversion, K&N Drop-in, Block Heater, 18.5% Tint All Around, Boston SE Speakers, 12" Alpine Type-R Sub w/ sealed box w/ RF PRIME R1000-1D, ScanGauge II w/ windshield mount, BT Catch Can w/custom bracket, Swagman Fork Mount Bicycle Rack, WeatherTech front floor liners, SRT8 Pedal Covers, eBay full LED lighting kit, Custom MDS Indicator LED Light, Mega Raizin Voltage Stabilizer & Grounding Kit, Challenger IAT Sensor, Escort Passport 9500ix, Python 5706P RS/Security/KE w/ extras, SA 5 switch panel, Fumoto Oil Valve, Overland WG Steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2013, 05:24 PM
greenwayer's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 6.4L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 3,066
Thanks: 71
Thanked 150 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 9962
greenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding sub to ba system

The previous owner has already done some direct electrical wiring to the rear seats for a sub. Also under the steering wheel I found some bullet connectors. Are these for an amp?
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6.4L (The beast) (Fastest lifted WK) The Sparkly Build
2012 BMW X5 Turbo'ed (The b*tch)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L (Ol' reliable)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:04 AM
brentwoodkris's Avatar
The Ever-Dissatisfied Tinkerer
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 3772
brentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwayer View Post
The previous owner has already done some direct electrical wiring to the rear seats for a sub. Also under the steering wheel I found some bullet connectors. Are these for an amp?
What do you mean by "some direct electrical wiring to the rear seats?" Are we talking 4ga power wire directly from the battery? If not, then it won't be adequate. As for the under the steering wheel wiring, I've never seen anyone locate an amp underneath the steering wheel. There are WAY too many electrical connections under there that would provide a huge amount of interference, not to mention may be sensitive to the heat that an amp would create.

Basically, no one will be able to help you find out what you have without pics to go along with your descriptions.
__________________
'05 WK GC 5.7L HEMI, Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmors, Monroe Reflex Front Struts/Monroe Load Adjusting Rear Shocks, EBC Drilled/Slotted Sport Rotors, Wagner Ceramic Brake Pads, Taylor Shorties, SRT8 Stock CAI Conversion, K&N Drop-in, Block Heater, 18.5% Tint All Around, Boston SE Speakers, 12" Alpine Type-R Sub w/ sealed box w/ RF PRIME R1000-1D, ScanGauge II w/ windshield mount, BT Catch Can w/custom bracket, Swagman Fork Mount Bicycle Rack, WeatherTech front floor liners, SRT8 Pedal Covers, eBay full LED lighting kit, Custom MDS Indicator LED Light, Mega Raizin Voltage Stabilizer & Grounding Kit, Challenger IAT Sensor, Escort Passport 9500ix, Python 5706P RS/Security/KE w/ extras, SA 5 switch panel, Fumoto Oil Valve, Overland WG Steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:18 AM
greenwayer's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 6.4L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 3,066
Thanks: 71
Thanked 150 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 9962
greenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond repute
Ok so I did some digging today, and I found there is a 10 gauge wire for the sub which directly runs to the battery and has a 30 amp fuse. The ground for the sub however is only 18 gauge and connects to a 15 amp factory fuse under the steering wheel. There are 2 wires with bullet connectors that connect to a grey/ yellow and a grey/purple wire near the hood release switch under the steering wheel panel. However the bullet connectors look like someone squished them and rendered them unusable. Pics are attached.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image-3063412492.jpg (485.0 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg image-3522668608.jpg (459.7 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg image-900968074.jpg (354.2 KB, 14 views)
__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6.4L (The beast) (Fastest lifted WK) The Sparkly Build
2012 BMW X5 Turbo'ed (The b*tch)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L (Ol' reliable)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:47 AM
brentwoodkris's Avatar
The Ever-Dissatisfied Tinkerer
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 980
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Rep Power: 3772
brentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond reputebrentwoodkris has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenwayer View Post
Ok so I did some digging today, and I found there is a 10 gauge wire for the sub which directly runs to the battery and has a 30 amp fuse. The ground for the sub however is only 18 gauge and connects to a 15 amp factory fuse under the steering wheel. There are 2 wires with bullet connectors that connect to a grey/ yellow and a grey/purple wire near the hood release switch under the steering wheel panel. However the bullet connectors look like someone squished them and rendered them unusable. Pics are attached.
A 10ga power wire is ridiculously small. See the chart I link below for what gauge power wire you should have depending on the sub you plan on installing and the length of the power wire from amp to battery. How to determine the best wire gauge - Cable Gauge Chart

Also, ground wire's don't need to be fused, so having it connected to a fuse is strange. Basically you can find any metal part on the frame of the Jeep and use it as a ground to complete the circuit.

Judging by the amp pinout on wkjeeps, it looks like the tapped wires you referenced are the amplified signals for the drivers door speaker (woofer) Jeep Grand Cherokee WK - Audio system pinouts

Only thing that sucks about that is that that signal has already been scrubbed by the factory amp for low frequency only and you'll still need a LOC to convert it to line level for an amp (unless you have an amp with a speaker level input).

Basically, I'd start my own configuration from scratch and forget what's there. You'll be better off in the end unless you're installing a 50w sub.
__________________
'05 WK GC 5.7L HEMI, Goodyear Wrangler SilentArmors, Monroe Reflex Front Struts/Monroe Load Adjusting Rear Shocks, EBC Drilled/Slotted Sport Rotors, Wagner Ceramic Brake Pads, Taylor Shorties, SRT8 Stock CAI Conversion, K&N Drop-in, Block Heater, 18.5% Tint All Around, Boston SE Speakers, 12" Alpine Type-R Sub w/ sealed box w/ RF PRIME R1000-1D, ScanGauge II w/ windshield mount, BT Catch Can w/custom bracket, Swagman Fork Mount Bicycle Rack, WeatherTech front floor liners, SRT8 Pedal Covers, eBay full LED lighting kit, Custom MDS Indicator LED Light, Mega Raizin Voltage Stabilizer & Grounding Kit, Challenger IAT Sensor, Escort Passport 9500ix, Python 5706P RS/Security/KE w/ extras, SA 5 switch panel, Fumoto Oil Valve, Overland WG Steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-19-2013, 12:05 PM
08Hemi's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 4,296
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 31 Posts
Rep Power: 330518
08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute08Hemi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Stereo Install

That thread may help...gotta have some beats!! The stock BA system is fine, but needs more bass IMO
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-19-2013, 01:24 PM
greenwayer's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2005 6.4L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 3,066
Thanks: 71
Thanked 150 Times in 128 Posts
Rep Power: 9962
greenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond reputegreenwayer has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Adding sub to ba system

Quote:
Originally Posted by brentwoodkris View Post
A 10ga power wire is ridiculously small. See the chart I link below for what gauge power wire you should have depending on the sub you plan on installing and the length of the power wire from amp to battery. How to determine the best wire gauge - Cable Gauge Chart

Also, ground wire's don't need to be fused, so having it connected to a fuse is strange. Basically you can find any metal part on the frame of the Jeep and use it as a ground to complete the circuit.

Judging by the amp pinout on wkjeeps, it looks like the tapped wires you referenced are the amplified signals for the drivers door speaker (woofer) Jeep Grand Cherokee WK - Audio system pinouts

Only thing that sucks about that is that that signal has already been scrubbed by the factory amp for low frequency only and you'll still need a LOC to convert it to line level for an amp (unless you have an amp with a speaker level input).

Basically, I'd start my own configuration from scratch and forget what's there. You'll be better off in the end unless you're installing a 50w sub.
Wait I'm confused, if the factory amp has already scrubbed it for low level input, couldn't we just connect that low level to the sub? Shouldn't the sub readily accept said input? Also the 10 gauge is for the sub, not the amp.
__________________

__________________
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee 6.4L (The beast) (Fastest lifted WK) The Sparkly Build
2012 BMW X5 Turbo'ed (The b*tch)
1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0L (Ol' reliable)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some help on my thoughts about adding a sub to factory system. hound Audio/Visual/Navigation 5 04-03-2013 07:26 PM
Abs light, service brake system and 4wd system chaase68 Troubleshooting/Problems 15 08-09-2012 05:49 AM
Adding fogs on a WJ 02 WJ 4.7 V8 Interior/Exterior/Visual 5 11-06-2010 01:37 PM
Adding a system to stock radio.... jeepgrand23 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 09-06-2010 06:21 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.