Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-07-2012, 09:50 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
kbacker21 is on a distinguished road
Double Din Install

I have an 05 Grand Cherokee w/o nav and wanted to install the Pioneer sph-da01

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...adio+(SPH-DA01)

I've done my research and it appears as though I need:

Bezel - http://www.leeparts.com/jeep_grand_c...bezel_kit.html

Metra Kit - http://www.amazon.com/Scosche-CR1289.../dp/B000UF24RC

Antenna Adapter - http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...R9DZ36XBRWFYW6

I know I need a harness, but I don't know what one I need so I can still use my subs. There's one set of pre-outs on the stereo.

I was also planning to bypass the parking brake requirement for videos.

Can someone help me out with the harness and bypass as well as anything else I may be missing.

Thank you in advance.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-08-2012, 12:19 AM
TurboDiesel's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2008 3.0L WK
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,240
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 103853
TurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond reputeTurboDiesel has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Double Din Install

curious to know this aswell

alltho i drive an 08
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2012, 01:03 PM
JMLoughrey's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Farmington, CT
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 73030
JMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Double Din Install

for the harness, i'll need to know if you have the Boston Acoustic system or not. It makes a difference.

As for the video bypass, you'll need astandard 12v SPDT or SPST automotive relay.

30-ground
85-ground
86- Remote turn on wire from radio
87- Parking brake input from radio
87a- Not used.

That should bypass the parking brake circuit on a pioneer video screen.

Other option is to get a normal switch, available at any auto parts store, and put one side of the switch to ground and the other to the Parking brake input. Flip the switch and it'll bypass the brake lead.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2012, 01:19 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
kbacker21 is on a distinguished road
Re: Double Din Install

I don't have the Boston acoustics
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-09-2012, 09:52 AM
JMLoughrey's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Farmington, CT
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 73030
JMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Double Din Install

I would go with the Metra xsvi-6502-nav.

Gives you a reverse output if you put on a backup camera, also does parking brake (not needed if you bypass) and gives you R.A.P. (acc stays on when you take the key out until you open the door)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2012, 11:48 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
kbacker21 is on a distinguished road
Re: Double Din Install

will this harness allow me to hood up the speakers using wires leaving my pre-outs available for my subs?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2012, 05:40 PM
JMLoughrey's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Farmington, CT
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 73030
JMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Double Din Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbacker21 View Post
will this harness allow me to hood up the speakers using wires leaving my pre-outs available for my subs?
Yes it will.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-09-2012, 07:20 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
kbacker21 is on a distinguished road
Re: Double Din Install

Thank you so much for the help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:06 AM
LandEagle's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: europe
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2810
LandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond reputeLandEagle has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Double Din Install

..and what is the harness for boston please?
__________________
JeepForum.cz
founded
not signed
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-2012, 12:23 PM
JMLoughrey's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Farmington, CT
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 73030
JMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Double Din Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by LandEagle View Post
..and what is the harness for boston please?
for the boston system you'll need the Metra CHTO-013 harnes they make. Integrated the boston amps as they are run via data.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1211
anagib is on a distinguished road
Re: Double Din Install

im also doing the same exact install, except on a 06 with bostons would i need anything different, can this be done myself
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-20-2012, 10:57 AM
JMLoughrey's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Farmington, CT
Posts: 520
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 73030
JMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond reputeJMLoughrey has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Double Din Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by anagib View Post
im also doing the same exact install, except on a 06 with bostons would i need anything different, can this be done myself
Yes you will need a different harness if you have the Boston Acoustic system.

Metra CHTO-013 i beleive is the model number you are looking for.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wanting to install a double din lost boyz Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 5 04-12-2012 03:46 PM
Double DIN Mod? tommc4 Audio/Visual/Navigation 2 10-15-2011 05:16 PM
Want to do Double Din stereo install. Help? Djeazie Audio/Visual/Navigation 15 11-26-2010 03:41 PM
Double Din help! mathers Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 44 12-27-2009 06:23 PM
single din to double din 04 wj...HELP caileighpaige Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 13 10-28-2009 07:12 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.