Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-22-2013, 06:16 PM
brubakes's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 487
brubakes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to brubakes
MyGIG RER GPS Stuck

Driving home today I noticed that the GPS in my '08 WK's MyGig RER is "stuck". I thinks I'm at an intersection and won't "see" that I'm no longer there. Is there some kind of reset or something to make the GPS check its location? I have between 6 and 8 satellites and a decent signal when I look under system setup so I'm not sure whats going on.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2013, 06:59 PM
DAVY27's Avatar
Premium Member
Photobucket
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: City that Never Sleeps
Posts: 9,272
Thanks: 471
Thanked 206 Times in 180 Posts
Rep Power: 1660281
DAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond reputeDAVY27 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Send a message via AIM to DAVY27
Re: MyGIG RER GPS Stuck

is the gps frozen or it's moving but at the wrong location?

From wkjeeps...

To Reset the MyGIG radio it is best to pull the vehicle IOD fuse (with ignition off), instead of unhooking the negative battery cable. This is especially important with models REN and REZ radios. Disconnecting and Reconnecting the battery can cause electrical spikes that may damage MyGIG REN and REZ radios. Once the fuse is pulled, press Open/Close hardkey on upper left of head unit and hold for 10 seconds to discharge the capacitors in the headunit.


It happened to me a few times but that was when i had only 1-2 SATs available. I would turned off the engine and turn it back on and usually it would pick up the current location. A few times i had 5 SATs but the location was off by 10 miles. Drove for about 30 mins and nvr picked up the correct location. Would be fine the next day tho.
__________________

__________________

2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT Design
SRT Exterior,Magnaflow 14590 w/ SRT resonators,V2 CF Medic Hood,Injen Powerflow Intake,Flying Ryan Ported TB,Custom Painted Halo Headlights,HID lows/fogs,SRT Springs,Stillens,Gloss Black SRT Reps,Mopar Spoiler, Custom Painted Moldings with Snakeskin green GC letterings, Mopar Stripe,Tinted LED tails/rear fogs, TLS Harness,Switchbacks, Stage6 5" Tips,Custom Door Handle Leds,5% Tint,Altec Plate,HID Reverse,Mopar Front Emblem/ Rear Logo,Powerwire,Interior Leds,RGB LED cupholders,Mygig,Weathertech Mats,LXHarness Leds,Rear Cargo Light Mod,Lockpic V4,GlossBlack Vinyl Interior Pieces
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2013, 08:57 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,910
Thanks: 89
Thanked 78 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 571083
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
the screen show that you drive backward?


.....with apple parts on tour
__________________
All Uconnect Software

www.mydrive.ch

username: mygig@soxag
Password: gasolio

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2013, 08:32 AM
brubakes's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 487
brubakes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to brubakes
Re: MyGIG RER GPS Stuck

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAVY27 View Post
is the gps frozen or it's moving but at the wrong location?
The arrow stays suck at one spot but as I drive the map under it rotates. I'll try the IOD fuse.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2013, 11:56 AM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,910
Thanks: 89
Thanked 78 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 571083
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
You must just recalibrate the gps in the enigeering menu


....... iPhone with Tapatalk
__________________
All Uconnect Software

www.mydrive.ch

username: mygig@soxag
Password: gasolio

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2013, 12:41 PM
brubakes's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2008 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 487
brubakes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to brubakes
Re: MyGIG RER GPS Stuck

Quote:
Originally Posted by *sox* View Post
You must just recalibrate the gps in the engineering menu
How do I access the engineering menu?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2013, 12:48 PM
*sox*'s Avatar
Italien MOPAR Guy :-)

 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Basel / Switzerland
Posts: 1,910
Thanks: 89
Thanked 78 Times in 65 Posts
Rep Power: 571083
*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute*sox* has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to *sox* Send a message via Skype™ to *sox*
Seek +. Seek- and menu push togther, then going to nav debug menu then when you are in you see nothing go 3 x up in this menu and then you can see gps calibration.

After recalibrate drive with the car.

Dont touch the screen calibration!!!


....... iPhone with Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
All Uconnect Software

www.mydrive.ch

username: mygig@soxag
Password: gasolio

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mopar GPS antenna (mygig rer) blackpepper Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 3 12-05-2010 04:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.