Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:39 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 196098
mcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond repute
See-Thru Trapdoor for Amps

Hey guys..the title says it all. I'm thinking about modding the trapdoor in the truck to be see through so you can see the mounted amps I have. Has anyone done this before? Would it be particularly difficult? I feel like that trap door isn't leveraged as much as it could be in the WK..

I couldn't imagine it's all that difficult if you leverage those black T shaped things and do a little cutting of plexi glass at home depot? What are your thoughts? Plus I could imagine it would be a good opportunity to add some ventilation as I have 500/1 and 300/4 JL Audio Slash Amps mounted.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2012, 02:30 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 196098
mcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: See-Thru Trapdoor for Amps

Bump...any thoughts? Struggling a little bit to figure out how to mount it cleanly..weather stripping?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 12:57 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 931
SnowedIn has a spectacular aura about
Re: See-Thru Trapdoor for Amps

Alright man, I won't leave you hanging here.

Yeah, you could modify the "trapdoor" (cargo floor door). Personally, since the whole cargo floor is removable, I would just custom build the entire amp housing.

A lot of guys rip out the entire cargo floor and create custom storage for wheelin' gear, air compressors, etc. No reason you can't do the same thing. It just takes the usual assortment of hand tools/ screwdrivers, etc. Completely reversible.

Look around here and on the other jeep forums for ideas.

If I were doing it, assuming you had a router, use 3/4" MDF with 1/4" recess for 1/4" plexi. Use a good black silicone to mount it in, maybe some socket head cap screws for jeep worthy bling.

EDIT: Check this link for an example: How To: Build a False Cargo Floor in WK.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 10:41 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 178
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 196098
mcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond reputemcalc55 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: See-Thru Trapdoor for Amps

Awesome man, that sounds pretty good. Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Set your amps settings Matt Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 1 03-26-2010 08:46 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community