Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-08-2011, 06:45 PM
hound's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2005 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Logan, Utah
Posts: 313
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2093
hound is on a distinguished road
which wires to tap for sub and remote signal

Hello all,

I plan on upgrading to the Kicker system (without the sub since it is no longer available). I am also putting in some heated seat elements in the rear seats. I need to tap into a 12V switched wire to run to my relay to turn on the heated seats and also the amp to a sub (if I add one).

Looking at the pinouts on wkjeeps.com, it looks like I should be able to tap into the yellow/red wire for my switched 12V. Is this correct? Can someone check my thoughts on this?

Also, I would need to use a line converter (looking at the JL JX500/1 which comes with a line converter built in). I believe the kicker instructions have you tap into the left front speaker. I see that on the Kicker amp, there is a sub+ (gray/brown) and sub- (dark green/brown). Can I tap into those even if I don't have the kicker sub?

Thanks,
Derek
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2011, 04:08 PM
antsjeep's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 956
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 10964
antsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond reputeantsjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Re: which wires to tap for sub and remote signal

You should tap into the rear speaker leads at the stock amp. And NO you wont need a line out converter, your amp accepts high level inputs.

I wired my JL 250/1 using a line out converter because the original amp i had in the car did not accept high level inputs. Regardless it worked out perfect and sounds great.
__________________
2014 - Altitude - Billet Silver
DDM 5k HID, VLed 5k led fogs, 15% tint, Mopar Slush Mats & Cargo Mat,
Black Gorilla Lug Nuts, 1.25" Bora Spacers, Black Overland Mesh, Curt Hitch
Next: SRT Springs, JL Stealth Box & XD300/1, OEM Rearview Camera
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Fuse to tap SickWhip Audio/Visual/Navigation 29 12-13-2011 03:29 PM
How many have Shorty wires ? and some questions... Snow4Lif3 Grand Cherokee - WK 5 10-31-2011 10:32 PM
Spark Plug Wires fishmpls Grand Cherokee - WK 9 09-06-2011 06:42 PM
Wires under the seats 3rdgearisheaven Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 6 03-07-2011 08:05 PM
Sodering wires/Question zipsayain Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 2 12-30-2010 10:48 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.