Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK > Technical Tips/DIY/How-To

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-31-2012, 01:47 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 992
SnowedIn has a spectacular aura about
Info Center / Lower Switch Bars

So, a silly question here but I haven't bothered to rip the dash apart yet. That will have to wait until I can do so without freezing solid.

I have an 06 WK. Can the upper/lower dash button bars be "upgraded" with factory switches or are the bus bars swapped based on trim level? I don't really care about switching in after-market functions at this time, just curious as to the inner workings.

I realize this may not be the best location for this, so if a moderator sees fit to move it, please do so.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:16 AM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,091
Thanks: 140
Thanked 163 Times in 153 Posts
Rep Power: 1255383
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Info Center / Lower Switch Bars

What do you want to add to it? For the most part they are computer controlled
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:53 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 992
SnowedIn has a spectacular aura about
Re: Info Center / Lower Switch Bars

Well I have a base model Laredo. If, for example, I wanted the heated seats, found the module, heat mesh, etc. Could I actually add the switch or is the PCB different between trim pkgs?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 02:56 AM
SvenskaJeepGuy's Avatar
Let's Roll
My Jeep: 2005 4.7L WK
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Scranton PA
Posts: 13,091
Thanks: 140
Thanked 163 Times in 153 Posts
Rep Power: 1255383
SvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond reputeSvenskaJeepGuy has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Info Center / Lower Switch Bars

Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowedIn View Post
Well I have a base model Laredo. If, for example, I wanted the heated seats, found the module, heat mesh, etc. Could I actually add the switch or is the PCB different between trim pkgs?
There is a mopar kit to add heated seats. Otherwise it would need to be activated at a dealership
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2012, 09:08 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2006 5.7L WK
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alaska
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 992
SnowedIn has a spectacular aura about
Re: Info Center / Lower Switch Bars

Well, some deep digging on the interwebz reveal that they are indeed discreet items.

From the few places you can find oddball OEM items like this it appears that they are sold as 1-gang, 2-gang....6-gang units with specified switch combinations for each part number.

What that means is that if you have heated seats but not the parking sensor, you'll need a completely different switch gang (not just the switch button/pads) to add the parking sensor and have it be/appear OEM. At least from a PnP standpoint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SvenskaJeepGuy
There is a mopar kit to add heated seats. Otherwise it would need to be activated at a dealership
Thanks for the advice! I actually have the Mopar kit installed and as you are no doubt aware the switches are just small round DPST that you try to locate in an inconspicuous place. Hardly what I would call a seamless integration. Hence my interest in finding out just how difficult it would be to bring it up to OEM specs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
media center 730n RHR info here Scottina06 Audio/Video/Navigation/Alarms 6 03-04-2012 02:25 PM
Info center displaying wrong MPG 05WK Troubleshooting/Problems 12 11-17-2011 03:42 PM
Need Help W/ Mess. on Info Center SRTDZGN Grand Cherokee - WK 10 05-27-2010 10:04 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community