I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now??? - Page 6 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Export Grand Cherokee 2011+

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #61  
Old 08-07-2014, 11:39 PM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Radknight View Post
Awesome...I really hope that they found the problem. It looks like you are only steps away and much closer to getting into your Jeep. I was feeling a bit negative about Jeep and Chrysler myself just hearing the dicking around they've been giving you.
Personally even though the problem was caused by Jeep I would put all the resulting headaches on John Hughes!
Their lies, excuses and in the end basically washing their hands of it, made a bad a bad situation much bigger than it ever needed to be.
I should not have to jump up and down and even attempt to contact Jeep Aust, as the stealer that sold me the vehicle, they SHOULD have ensured it was in working order before delivery and then they should have been the ones doing the fighting with Jeep to get things fixed!

Will take my hat off to the guys out at DVG Maddington for both being willing to get involved and in the end finding the issue!

Fingers Crossed once again that this is the root cause and no further issues pop up again during the testing.
Maybe I can then join the HAPPY Jeep owners

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #62  
Old 08-08-2014, 11:37 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 1,410
Thanks: 244
Thanked 263 Times in 201 Posts
Rep Power: 3533
SJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond reputeSJandL has a reputation beyond repute
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

How's it going Mark? Close to being back on the road yet?
__________________
'07 WK Limited 5.7 Hemi (Sold)
'14 WK2 Overland CRD - ORAII
'15 KL Limited CRD - ADII, Tech Group, Electronics Group and Pano.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-09-2014, 03:00 AM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SJandL View Post
How's it going Mark? Close to being back on the road yet?
Stopped in last night after work most of the interior stripped out of the car - seats, trims ect
I really would have thought these lines would have been run UNDER the vehicle
The damaged hose has been removed and now I will need to wait until Monday at least, since the Service department don't work Saturdays for the replacement to go in and for everything to be put back together!

After seeing the state of the car, I now just pray there wont be any squeaks, rattles or the like from removing and replacing trims.
Maybe it is only when I pull trims off? For some reason they just never seem to go back perfectly

So since they have it all in bits, I asked if they would swap the Cashmere coded door handles off the Laredo they have in their yard and my Chrome ones, Service manager said it was the least they could do considering what I have been through

I was also really hoping the donor vehicle supplied by Jeep would have the big center console bin without the CD player, or some other bits that could have been swapped, but no such luck there

So touch wood, I am hoping to pick it up early this week, then will go straight around to the panel shop to see what they say about painting the Chrome window trims black, and the black skirts Cashmere.
Then hopefully my detailer will be able to fit it in for a bath sometime SOON so I can then finally take it for a drive
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-09-2014, 03:28 AM
MMAG4X4's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 273
Thanks: 49
Thanked 46 Times in 33 Posts
Rep Power: 1438
MMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond reputeMMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond reputeMMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond reputeMMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond reputeMMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond reputeMMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond reputeMMAG4X4 has a reputation beyond repute
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

All sounds positive..
__________________
Mark
MY14 Grand Cherokee Limited 3.6L - Bright White
Interior: Black/Frost Beige
Modifications:
LAKIN Plate Brackets and Covers
Front Tow Hook
CouplerTec 4 Pad System
Interior LED's
Custom Engine Cover
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-09-2014, 06:32 AM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMAG4X4 View Post
All sounds positive..
Does look and sound positive this time, but after a number of false starts where the problem had been detected, parts ordered only to find other issues when those parts were changed

Quietly I am about 90% confident, but I am still going to will until I actually get the vehicle back in 100% working order before popping the Champagne
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-09-2014, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 465
Thanks: 27
Thanked 30 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 3017
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_38 View Post
Well took delivery on my Summit near on 8 weeks ago
During hand over I was not sure that the Quadra-Lift was operating correctly but I was assured by the John Hughes staff that all was OK (They can be now only can be described as a blatant LIES!)
When driving the next morning to get the windows tinted, I received a "Service Air Suspension Immediately" warning!
Left it at the the Tinting place and called the salesman at John Hughes.
Was assured when he called back that it would be only a reset or configuration setting that will be fixed as soon as they hook it up to their computers
John Hughes organised to pick the car up from the tinting place which just happened to be just around the corner and was taken to their service department around 11am.
3pm when I was wanting to leave work I called the service department to find out how things were going, only to be told that my car was not there and they knew nothing about it, told them Joe Higgins from new car sales had organised it Ohhh sorry we will look into it and call you back!
30 minutes later they call me back and state that they have found it and are just starting to look at it now! WTF you have had it most of the day? they would call me in 30 minutes when they know more!

About 15 minutes later what sounded like a young school kid called and said that he was the technician looking after my car and the Quadra-Lift controller had failed and they would need to get one sent over from the states to replace it - I asked why this was not picked up during their so call Pre Delivery Inspection and why then hell it was going to take 5 - 7 weeks to get the part sent over, I was told that it was tested and everything was working correctly and that the controller comes pre configured to the VIN of the car from the manufacture?
So in their eyes they wanted me to believe that magically somewhere between the Pre Delivery Inspection and me looking at it in the showroom this part craps it self - I called and still call Bullshit on BOTH that a pre delivery was carried out and the controller would be configured to the VIN!

Anyway Long story short I got Jeep Australia involved and they informed me that the controller was NOT configured by the 3rd party manufacture contradicting John Hughes EXCUSE for leaving me dangling since they already had my money without effecting any of their other stock!
More Lies and constant excuses from the John Hughes staff had me back in touch with Jeep Australia and asked if it was possible for the controller to go to DVG Maddington because I had really had enough of the people John Hughes with the no care no responsibility attitude.
Was called by Mark (Service Manager) at Maddington who was only too happy to look after the repairs for me
Took John Hughes 1 week to get the part over to Maddington
I was really happy to be informed by Mark that the Controller was perfectly fine and there was blown fuses which after investigating they found a damaged wiring harness - would take a couple of days to get one over from Melbourne
Replaced the harness and then found that the system had no Nitrogen and that they needed both the connection hoses because apparently not 1 Authorized service center in Western Aust has them nor do they have Nitrogen!

Get a call from the big man himself, John Hughes on the Thursday afternoon and he informs me that they have another car in the showroom and they will swap it over for me - Great John will see you Saturday

Pick the car up from Maddington Friday after work, go see John Hughes on the Saturday morning only to find that they were trying to swap my Summit for an Limited WTF Granted it was the same colour and it was a Jeep BUT with a bit of a price difference!

Over 1 more week for Maddington to get the Nitrogen in to recharge the system, couple of days to carry out the work and update all the software and maps.
Spoke to Mark the service manager just after lunch today and was told that everything was going well and it was now working only to be told there are further problems with the front pumps getting hot and over heating when I get there!
They are now waiting on further answers from Jeep!
Quadra-Lift pumps are not described as a "common" part so it looks like another bloody wait to get it sent over from the states!

8 weeks and counting, where they have had my hard earned money and I have a faulty piece of crap that I cant drive and to make it worse I have got no idea how much longer this will drag out for!

I know you can get good and bad in any brand, but I have NEVER had a run around like this and extended delays!
If this is what I get from a BRAND NEW Jeep I dread to think what its going to be like later when it gets "old"

Hi,

Sorry to hear about your problems, but hope you have got it all sorted out now. I can't be bothered reading the entire thread but yes I've heard issues with John Huges. Also avoid Wanneroo Jeep, their wankers ESPECIALLY if you didnt buy from them.

I bought my car from Maddington and they were great and after service. I had issues with my A/C which took a lot of convincing to get fixed - Unfortunaely for me I live near Wanneroo and took it there, wankers I'd say and leave it at that. I took it back to Maddington where I bought it from and they were happily booked it in for repairs with all the forum's advice on here. Gave me a loan car for the duration it was out at no cost.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-09-2014, 09:40 AM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
Hi,

Sorry to hear about your problems, but hope you have got it all sorted out now. I can't be bothered reading the entire thread but yes I've heard issues with John Huges. Also avoid Wanneroo Jeep, their wankers ESPECIALLY if you didnt buy from them.

I bought my car from Maddington and they were great and after service. I had issues with my A/C which took a lot of convincing to get fixed - Unfortunaely for me I live near Wanneroo and took it there, wankers I'd say and leave it at that. I took it back to Maddington where I bought it from and they were happily booked it in for repairs with all the forum's advice on here. Gave me a loan car for the duration it was out at no cost.
Basically I think ALL dealers are the same and that is not only a Jeep problem
Unfortunately for us Jeep owners in Perth metro we have limited choices (I really feel for the country owners that have NO choice)

I have heard nothing but bad stories about Jeep Melville and Osborne Park, couple of people including yourself imaz have had a bad run at Wanneroo!
I personally would NEVER have ANY further dealings with John Hughes

Which ONLY leaves DVG Maddington in the metro area - thankfully they have been great in trying to get me on the road

Still think I will be checking out SBR, Cruiseon and Jeepkraft once I am actually on the road.

All 3 up up your way imaz and Jeepkraft apparently has the new wiTECH diagnostic system which they say, provides them with full dealer level functionality including the Chrysler bulletin, recall and ECU Flash Updates.

Unlike the dealers all 3 are highly recommended by Jeep owners in the couple of Perth 4x4 groups I joined on Facebook

Just a bloody shame that you put all the time and money into building a great product and then be happy with such crap after sales care where its a huge fight to get things fixed and months waiting for parts!

I personally know a few people that refuse to buy Jeeps for those reasons
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-09-2014, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 465
Thanks: 27
Thanked 30 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 3017
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_38 View Post
Basically I think ALL dealers are the same and that is not only a Jeep problem
Unfortunately for us Jeep owners in Perth metro we have limited choices (I really feel for the country owners that have NO choice)

I have heard nothing but bad stories about Jeep Melville and Osborne Park, couple of people including yourself imaz have had a bad run at Wanneroo!
I personally would NEVER have ANY further dealings with John Hughes

Which ONLY leaves DVG Maddington in the metro area - thankfully they have been great in trying to get me on the road

Still think I will be checking out SBR, Cruiseon and Jeepkraft once I am actually on the road.

All 3 up up your way imaz and Jeepkraft apparently has the new wiTECH diagnostic system which they say, provides them with full dealer level functionality including the Chrysler bulletin, recall and ECU Flash Updates.

Unlike the dealers all 3 are highly recommended by Jeep owners in the couple of Perth 4x4 groups I joined on Facebook

Just a bloody shame that you put all the time and money into building a great product and then be happy with such crap after sales care where its a huge fight to get things fixed and months waiting for parts!

I personally know a few people that refuse to buy Jeeps for those reasons
Yeh but still need to go to the dealers for warranty replacement.

Maddington under went a restructure over the last 6 months, Hope they still keep their service. The guy I use to deal with is no longer there.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-09-2014, 10:43 AM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
Yeh but still need to go to the dealers for warranty replacement.

Maddington under went a restructure over the last 6 months, Hope they still keep their service. The guy I use to deal with is no longer there.
Well i have dealt with Mark the service manager mostly and he has been really great, I have met with Mark the workshop manager a couple of times and I also met and had a good chat with Tony the sales manager Friday afternoon while I was there, I cant say much for the old factory they are in but all the people I have dealt with there have be great.

Wish I had visited them when buying the vehicle in the first place.

As I said I will pay a visit to the 3 up in Wangara, see what kind of prices they are going to quote on Services and Accessories and assess it from there.
If they can offer a better service they may get my business even though it would be a real pain in the bum to get the vehicle up there and back.
Saving a couple of dollars would just be an added bonus.

Unfortunately yes, the warranty work would still need to go through a dealer.
But I am hoping ALL my issues have been sorted now and there wont be any further need for warranty work
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-09-2014, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 465
Thanks: 27
Thanked 30 Times in 26 Posts
Rep Power: 3017
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark_38 View Post
Well i have dealt with Mark the service manager mostly and he has been really great, I have met with Mark the workshop manager a couple of times and I also met and had a good chat with Tony the sales manager Friday afternoon while I was there, I cant say much for the old factory they are in but all the people I have dealt with there have be great.

Wish I had visited them when buying the vehicle in the first place.

As I said I will pay a visit to the 3 up in Wangara, see what kind of prices they are going to quote on Services and Accessories and assess it from there.
If they can offer a better service they may get my business even though it would be a real pain in the bum to get the vehicle up there and back.
Saving a couple of dollars would just be an added bonus.

Unfortunately yes, the warranty work would still need to go through a dealer.
But I am hoping ALL my issues have been sorted now and there wont be any further need for warranty work
Don't think service pricings are any different between them, I normally get billed for $460 for the normal service but lately at 36,000k I been paying $660. Its a pain being dvg maddington is so far, I normally take the day off and drop in at 7:30, otherwise arrange one of their loan cars for $35 and head to carousel for half the day.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 08-09-2014, 10:37 PM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
Don't think service pricings are any different between them, I normally get billed for $460 for the normal service but lately at 36,000k I been paying $660. Its a pain being dvg maddington is so far, I normally take the day off and drop in at 7:30, otherwise arrange one of their loan cars for $35 and head to carousel for half the day.
That is probably the problem, the dealers rely on customers sticking with them thinking that going elsewhere will effect the warranty hence they ALL stick together and have inflated prices. Then throw in that most dealers are not even using the specified oils

I have read that a lot of the CRD owners - buy their own Oils to make sure the dealers put the correct oil in and secondly to reduce the huge mark ups that they are adding on!! Seems to be a pain in the bum and something that I personally feel a customer should not have to do?

But a private workshop that has to rely more on return customers and word of mouth to keep in business surely will look after you better?

I hear what you are saying about the trip from Wanneroo to Maddington but at least the train station is just across the road and since I work in the city its not too bad for me. Will be different heading from Willetton up to Wangara and the 3 workshops I mentioned are no where near the Station - Jeepkraft did say in a post on Facebook that they were happy to do a drop off and pick up to/from the station but they dont open until 8.30 which would mean that I wouldnt get to work till 9.30ish.

Maddington I drop my spare set of keys off a day or so before and then leave the car there early morning, jump on the train head to work
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-12-2014, 06:11 AM
Mark_38's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 257
Thanks: 64
Thanked 31 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1284
Mark_38 is on a distinguished road
re: I bought a Jeep - started a Mistake.....but now???

Well after 10 weeks of arguments and headaches, I finally have a working vehicle

No thanks to John Hughes but with a huge thanks to the team out at DVG Maddington

Now the mods and extras can start
Hopefully the regret will soon be replaced with joy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
jeep

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying 5/6 speed a mistake? CaptRB Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 27 01-12-2012 12:50 PM
Did I make a mistake ordering a 2012? WoodyCanuck Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 14 09-23-2011 04:11 PM
Could I have made a mistake? Curly Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 20 01-11-2011 09:20 PM
I think someones made a mistake?? RK vs. RRO hella_wk Off Road Modifications 8 12-13-2010 10:49 PM
Before I make a mistake - someone chime in! Chris Grand Cherokee - WK 10 01-31-2010 06:46 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.