Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Export Grand Cherokee 2011+

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:06 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Australia
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 940
bbinc is on a distinguished road
New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Picked up my new overland today - great so far except that still after driving around for 3 hours (1 hr with new upgraded 2.120 software from SOX) it hasn't yet locked on to any satellites. Set for Australia.

Should I wait longer or do something like disconnect the battery (don't know if this affects anything else leading to more inconvenience) ?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2012, 09:42 AM
GlennR's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 851
Thanks: 60
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 2193
GlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond reputeGlennR has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbinc View Post
Picked up my new overland today - great so far except that still after driving around for 3 hours (1 hr with new upgraded 2.120 software from SOX) it hasn't yet locked on to any satellites. Set for Australia.

Should I wait longer or do something like disconnect the battery (don't know if this affects anything else leading to more inconvenience) ?

If you do a search on WK2 Down Under, you'l find a discussion on the same topic. I think the solution is to (A)give it a few hours to try and track the minimum three/four satellites, and if that doesn't work, (B) ask the dealer to reposition the antenna located under the dash.
__________________

__________________
White Overland CRD
Black Interior, 3500KG Towbar with towpack, Ambo Tints, Aqua ambient lit footwells, Mopar stainless pedals, Mopar Chrome Side Steps, Polished stainless door sill protectors.
Wish List : - Chip, 22's or grow my hair back, shed 20kgs and 10 years, sell the lot and buy an SRT8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2012, 04:40 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Australia
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 940
bbinc is on a distinguished road
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by GlennR View Post
If you do a search on WK2 Down Under, you'l find a discussion on the same topic. I think the solution is to (A)give it a few hours to try and track the minimum three/four satellites, and if that doesn't work, (B) ask the dealer to reposition the antenna located under the dash.
Thanks - i hope its the same simple problem - its just that I have still yet to see a map of anything show up or a position readout (others seem to have least got something sometime even if it was wrong)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:29 PM
savvas's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 658
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
Rep Power: 164111
savvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond reputesavvas has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Atmospheric conditions can also affect GPS in general. If there happens to be a lot of moisture in the atmosphere, then it can delay acquisition of satellites. Especially if it's travelled halfway around the world since the last time it found one.

What has SA been like lately?
__________________
Savvas

2012 True Blue Laredo CRD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2012, 02:59 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 145
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1334
just4fun is on a distinguished road
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

I am in SA at the moment and have had no issues, with the weather being cloudy and wet whilst traveling.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2012, 06:46 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Australia
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 940
bbinc is on a distinguished road
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

My dealer couldn't help me over the phone and I'd like to avoid driving back there for this.

Odd thing is that my "nav database info" screen does not list my car's VIN - its blank as per picture attached - can anyone confirm that their car's VIN no. shows up in this screen for them.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20120428_093907.jpg (344.5 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2012, 08:38 PM
ENFORCER's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,965
Thanks: 23
Thanked 82 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 321947
ENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Mine has the VIN, I would try to disconnect the battery for 10mins and see what happens.
A Reboot tends to fix things.
__________________
Previous Ride = 2011 JGC CRD Overland
Current Ride = 2014 Silver JGC SRT with Pano, HK and Spider monkeys.
Mods = CLSTech Ribbon Mod
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2012, 09:27 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Australia
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 940
bbinc is on a distinguished road
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENFORCER View Post
Mine has the VIN, I would try to disconnect the battery for 10mins and see what happens.
A Reboot tends to fix things.
thanks for looking. I suspect you are right - but i was told to not disconnect the battery by the dealer and i don't want to risk voiding my warranty somehow - so i guess i might have to make a special trip back or wait for 1st service.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2012, 11:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1216
pwyss is on a distinguished road
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbinc View Post
My dealer couldn't help me over the phone and I'd like to avoid driving back there for this.

Odd thing is that my "nav database info" screen does not list my car's VIN - its blank as per picture attached - can anyone confirm that their car's VIN no. shows up in this screen for them.
No VIN either on my 2 weeks old Overland but navigation works fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-29-2012, 02:45 AM
ENFORCER's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,965
Thanks: 23
Thanked 82 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 321947
ENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

I am sorry guys, Mine DOES NOT have the VIN. It is on the Radio part, but not the Nav part.
__________________
Previous Ride = 2011 JGC CRD Overland
Current Ride = 2014 Silver JGC SRT with Pano, HK and Spider monkeys.
Mods = CLSTech Ribbon Mod
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-03-2012, 07:52 AM
Deserthucker's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2011 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Kalgoorlie WA
Posts: 867
Thanks: 7
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 2144
Deserthucker has a reputation beyond reputeDeserthucker has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

Enforcer mine has the VIN in the nav database. Remember you pointed it out to mask the VIN!
__________________

Ordered WK2 Mineral Grey (was Blackberry) Hopefully. 18th March 2011
ETA late June now late September
Got it 9th September
Australian Outback
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-03-2012, 06:23 PM
ENFORCER's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,965
Thanks: 23
Thanked 82 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 321947
ENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: New Overland CRD - SatNav Does Not See Any Satellites ...

That was a different screen. My Nav DB screen does not have the VIN, but the Info screen for the whole unit does.
__________________

__________________
Previous Ride = 2011 JGC CRD Overland
Current Ride = 2014 Silver JGC SRT with Pano, HK and Spider monkeys.
Mods = CLSTech Ribbon Mod
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody have a 2007 Overland CRD 2WD? Crashtown Diesel Powered WK Grand Cherokee 6 06-27-2014 11:42 AM
Grand Cherokee SatNav steve59 Grand Cherokee - WK 6 07-18-2011 09:44 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community