Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Export Grand Cherokee 2011+

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #109  
Old 02-20-2014, 05:49 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oakford, Western Australia
Posts: 605
Thanks: 2
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 34380
Swampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoda42 View Post
Well the flash logic remote start kit does work for an Australian 2011 Laredo CRD, installed it this arvo (just the T harness) and it works, yippee
That's great news. So without the extra wires tapped, that just means the indicators don't blink?
__________________

__________________
Regards

Swampy

Delivered: GC Overland CRD, Deep Cherry Red

"Patience takes too long"
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 02-20-2014, 06:30 PM
yoda42's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1472
yoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampy View Post
That's great news. So without the extra wires tapped, that just means the indicators don't blink?
Hi Swampy, indicator blink is an original feature on the GC and as you use the original remotes nothing changes there.
The extra wires are,
Drivers door, not sure what this is for (to be tapped into drivers door switch -ve wire, instructions say this is a purple wire behind the kick panel, the instructions are for a LHD and although I did find a purple wire behind our RHD drivers kick panel with out a wiring diagram I was not confident it was the correct wire for the RHD, so left it un connected) .

Park light (this is the US/European style park light, used to be left on when vehicle is parked in bad weather so vehicle can be seen by others driving by, usually only 1 light on front and rear, we don't have these in Oz).

Horn, I assume it beeps at you before start up

There is also an aftermarket bonnet switch included in the kit (being how annoying it is to get wires through the fire wall I didn't bother, I will be re doing my UHF antenna, and running a wire for spot lights in the near future so might run the bonnet switch then)

I read Xman's right up and decided to try it with just the T-harness, and it works, the steering lock is disabled when you enter the GC and carry out the "take over procedure".
So press the lock button on remote 3 times slowly (easiest to watch for blinker flash before next press), GC will go through the same start up process as if you press the start button inside, this could take 10 sec or more depending on air temp.
When ready to enter GC unlock as normal (either with remote or door handle), now press the start button slowly twice (don't touch the brake pedal before or while doing the 2 start button presses)( the steering lock disables on the first press), wait 2 seconds then press brake pedal, take over complete drive as normal :-)
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo CRD & Aussieswag Rover LX Campertrailer
www.travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 02-20-2014, 07:15 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oakford, Western Australia
Posts: 605
Thanks: 2
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 34380
Swampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Thanks Yoda

Your write up is much appreciated.

Based on what you have said, there really is little point in attempting to connect the extra three wires.

I'll need to check what the range is on the standard remote to see if it is far enough, otherwise they do sell a range extender, however that is via a seperate Key fob.

Must have been a pain getting to the WIN module? Also, does your vehicle have the driver side Knee air bags?
__________________
Regards

Swampy

Delivered: GC Overland CRD, Deep Cherry Red

"Patience takes too long"
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 02-20-2014, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 601
imaz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by yoda42 View Post
Hi Swampy, indicator blink is an original feature on the GC and as you use the original remotes nothing changes there.
The extra wires are,
Drivers door, not sure what this is for (to be tapped into drivers door switch -ve wire, instructions say this is a purple wire behind the kick panel, the instructions are for a LHD and although I did find a purple wire behind our RHD drivers kick panel with out a wiring diagram I was not confident it was the correct wire for the RHD, so left it un connected) .

Park light (this is the US/European style park light, used to be left on when vehicle is parked in bad weather so vehicle can be seen by others driving by, usually only 1 light on front and rear, we don't have these in Oz).

Horn, I assume it beeps at you before start up

There is also an aftermarket bonnet switch included in the kit (being how annoying it is to get wires through the fire wall I didn't bother, I will be re doing my UHF antenna, and running a wire for spot lights in the near future so might run the bonnet switch then)

I read Xman's right up and decided to try it with just the T-harness, and it works, the steering lock is disabled when you enter the GC and carry out the "take over procedure".
So press the lock button on remote 3 times slowly (easiest to watch for blinker flash before next press), GC will go through the same start up process as if you press the start button inside, this could take 10 sec or more depending on air temp.
When ready to enter GC unlock as normal (either with remote or door handle), now press the start button slowly twice (don't touch the brake pedal before or while doing the 2 start button presses)( the steering lock disables on the first press), wait 2 seconds then press brake pedal, take over complete drive as normal :-)
Just having a read at your reply. Thanks for the clarification. ..

You made it sound like every step to remote start and take over needs to be very specific with timing. It must have taken you sometime to decrypt the procedure

Well done.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:01 PM
yoda42's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1472
yoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swampy View Post
Thanks Yoda Your write up is much appreciated. Based on what you have said, there really is little point in attempting to connect the extra three wires. I'll need to check what the range is on the standard remote to see if it is far enough, otherwise they do sell a range extender, however that is via a seperate Key fob. Must have been a pain getting to the WIN module? Also, does your vehicle have the driver side Knee air bags?
Hi swampy,
All Oz WK/2 GC's have the drivers side knee air bag.
I'm an ex-mechanic so have had the operation for double jointed elbows and triple jointed wrists ;-), I'm also use to working on things I can't see.
The only things I removed (apart from drivers kick panel, to check for purple wire) was the felt trim around the obd2 connector and the drivers foot well light (same piece of felt) and the popped out the "leather" trim around the steering column, just pull on the plastic ring of this and it unclips, it stays attached to the steering column.
This gave me room to get my hand through the gap under steering column, to reach the back of the start button module, I did need a small flat blade screw driver to undo the clip on the plug that goes into the back of the module.
Then it was just a matter of plugging in the flash logic T-harness, between the module and the plug just removed from it,

Then go through programme procedure to get the flash logic to talk to the GC (by programme I don't mean to programme the flash logic for the GC, the eBay vendor had already done this, it is just a sequence of opening and closing doors and pushing the start button) so things talk to each other.
I cable tied the flash logic module to the top of the OBD2 plug bracket and tided up the cable then put the trim back.
I got a couple of small scratches on my hands, but that's normal when working in tight spots on cars
Yoda
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo CRD & Aussieswag Rover LX Campertrailer
www.travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:11 PM
yoda42's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1472
yoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
Just having a read at your reply. Thanks for the clarification. .. You made it sound like every step to remote start and take over needs to be very specific with timing. It must have taken you sometime to decrypt the procedure Well done. Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
Hi imaz,
It's pretty easy, when I say slow I just mean half a second between pushes of the lock button or start button, I have found if you are to rapid between pushes of any buttons on the GC (steering wheel buttons are a good example) the function some times won't happen
I think the GC just needs a bit of extra time to run through its sequences, it's just a factor of the amount of systems there are in the GC, I now use a slow press of all buttons rather than a quick tap, and this seems to eliminate those times the buttons don't work and you have to push the same button again to get the action you want
Yoda
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo CRD & Aussieswag Rover LX Campertrailer
www.travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:22 PM
Swampy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oakford, Western Australia
Posts: 605
Thanks: 2
Thanked 19 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 34380
Swampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond reputeSwampy has a reputation beyond repute
Thanks Yoda, appreciate the detailed response.

In the OEM kit, they have a WIN antenna that plugs into the WIN module. I wonder if that can be purchased separately and if there is a socket on the standard WIN module to accept this? That may increase the range of the standard OEM remotes. Thickens the plot.........
__________________
Regards

Swampy

Delivered: GC Overland CRD, Deep Cherry Red

"Patience takes too long"
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 601
imaz is on a distinguished road
So, there is just something in the flash logic module which handles the steering lock, differently to the oem remote start kit from mopar.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 02-20-2014, 10:58 PM
yoda42's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1472
yoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
So, there is just something in the flash logic module which handles the steering lock, differently to the oem remote start kit from mopar. Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
I don't think the flash logic module really (very simplified ) does any thing other than monitor for when you lock the GC 3 times within a given time frame, it then takes the place of the start button and the brake switch, to set up the right sequence for a start of the GC.
When you then get in and do the take over sequence (push the start button twice, wait 2 sec, press brake pedal) the steering lock comes off on the first push, this is the same as if you don't start the GC but, foot not on brake push the start button once to turn on the radio or twice to go to the ignition "on" without starting, I believe in both cases the steering lock comes off.
So the flash logic is just tricking the GC into thinking you have got in and foot on brake pressed the start button.

When you do the take over, pressing the start button and brake unlocks steering lock and puts the flash logic to sleep, and you drive as normal.

Just had a thought, I will have to see if the remote start works off the door handle lock button, I'll report back
Yoda
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo CRD & Aussieswag Rover LX Campertrailer
www.travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 02-20-2014, 11:07 PM
yoda42's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1472
yoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond repute
No the remote start doesn't work off the door handle, and for swampy I tried a remote start from my back fence @20 meters and it works :-)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo CRD & Aussieswag Rover LX Campertrailer
www.travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 02-21-2014, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 131
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Rep Power: 601
imaz is on a distinguished road
Lol. I think it does more though. Dont forget, the car knows the key is not in the car when you remote start.

Now if you leave the keys away from the car, hop in and try start manually, will it start?

How about test if you remove the push to start button. Remote start. Hop in, and insert the key fob. Would the logic module handle that you have entered the car and alow you to drive? Remembering that if you use the keyfob to start instead of push to start button you do not need to press the brake pedal.

Sorry, just setting some test scenarios for you.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 02-21-2014, 05:55 AM
yoda42's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2011 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Darwin Australia
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Rep Power: 1472
yoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond reputeyoda42 has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
Lol. I think it does more though. Dont forget, the car knows the key is not in the car when you remote start. Now if you leave the keys away from the car, hop in and try start manually, will it start? How about test if you remove the push to start button. Remote start. Hop in, and insert the key fob. Would the logic module handle that you have entered the car and alow you to drive? Remembering that if you use the keyfob to start instead of push to start button you do not need to press the brake pedal. Sorry, just setting some test scenarios for you. Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
Won't start with out the key in the car, and I'm not surprised, the flash logic doesn't interact directly with the key at all , it does not learn what frequency your key is.
Have not tried the key after remote start but there is a version in the PDF manual for the flash logic for the GC without push to start (USA Laredo )
As I said before it just tricks the GC into thinking all start parameters have been met
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo CRD & Aussieswag Rover LX Campertrailer
www.travelswithbeagles.blogspot.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wk2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody have remote start on 06 WK? jeepdizzle Grand Cherokee - WK 61 03-28-2014 11:09 PM
please help with my remote start livingrock21 Troubleshooting/Problems 16 09-04-2013 11:00 AM
Remote Start Disabled - Start Vehicle to Reset?? bmrsooner10 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 01-02-2012 10:11 AM
WK2 -question- Remote Start Jeepdewd Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 11 11-25-2011 04:19 PM
Remote Start Ricko Tech Tips/DIY/How To 13 10-31-2011 11:08 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community