Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Export Grand Cherokee 2011+

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #169  
Old 06-14-2014, 11:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks: 6
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 1869
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Hi,

Is there a special way to remove the knee panel? I've unscrewed the 4x 7mm bolts but it wont come out. Does the SRS Airbag need to be disabled first?

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoda42 View Post
I don't think the flash logic module really (very simplified ) does any thing other than monitor for when you lock the GC 3 times within a given time frame, it then takes the place of the start button and the brake switch, to set up the right sequence for a start of the GC.
When you then get in and do the take over sequence (push the start button twice, wait 2 sec, press brake pedal) the steering lock comes off on the first push, this is the same as if you don't start the GC but, foot not on brake push the start button once to turn on the radio or twice to go to the ignition "on" without starting, I believe in both cases the steering lock comes off.
So the flash logic is just tricking the GC into thinking you have got in and foot on brake pressed the start button.

When you do the take over, pressing the start button and brake unlocks steering lock and puts the flash logic to sleep, and you drive as normal.

Just had a thought, I will have to see if the remote start works off the door handle lock button, I'll report back
Yoda
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 06-15-2014, 01:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks: 6
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 1869
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

So it turns out I dont need to take any panels off. Pry off the steering surround will make enough space to get to the push to start button harness. You're not wrong I ended up with cuts to my arm..

I mounted the flashlogic module in the center console so I can reprogram easily without getting behind the steering. I didn't bother with a video guide as it was too simple of a job. Hope the pics below give enough insite to whats required.

All works as expected!
Step 1. Pry off the surroundings.
uploadfromtaptalk1402813726574.jpg

Step 2.
The harness you can see is actually the T-harness for the flashlogic.

You can see the harness for the push to start button - The one at the middle left of the picture with some yellow wires is the one actually behind the button that needs to be disconnected.
uploadfromtaptalk1402813746611.jpg

Step 3. Is where I positioned the flash logic routing the wires to the center console.
uploadfromtaptalk1402813762624.jpg
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to imaz For This Useful Post:
  #171  
Old 06-15-2014, 02:17 AM
ENFORCER's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,009
Thanks: 23
Thanked 95 Times in 77 Posts
Rep Power: 322050
ENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

So.....Does it work ?
I am hoping that you do not need to program it a 2nd time and it just works.
__________________
Previous Ride = 2011 JGC CRD Overland
Current Ride = 2014 Silver JGC SRT with Pano, HK and Spider monkeys.
Mods = CLSTech Ribbon Mod

Best 1/4 13.4@102Mph
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 06-15-2014, 02:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks: 6
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 1869
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ENFORCER View Post
So.....Does it work ?
I am hoping that you do not need to program it a 2nd time and it just works.
Yes, it works fine. Remote start and shutdown. Very quick to start it, without delay. Tested all scenarios, before take over and after.

Before take over, I hit the brake pedal and it shutsdown the car.

During take over, you press once, wait 2 seconds and press again. Take over complete.

I didnt bother with the hood pin. Prior sending the car for service, I'll just put it in valet mode which essentially disables the remote start. Simple step.
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to imaz For This Useful Post:
  #173  
Old 06-15-2014, 05:24 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 373
grog186 is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Congratulations imaz, the second flash must be something new with the 2014 modules I believe the take over procedure is different as well.

Great to hear yours is working as intended.




Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 06-15-2014, 05:33 AM
Tahlee's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Montmorency Vic Australia
Posts: 54
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 259
Tahlee is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grog186 View Post
Congratulations imaz, the second flash must be something new with the 2014 modules I believe the take over procedure is different as well.

Great to hear yours is working as intended.




Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Hi Chris .... any update on how is your install going on the 2014
__________________
Rob
White and indigo 3.6 Overland with ORAII ordered 3 April DELIVERED 29 August 14
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 06-15-2014, 05:37 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 373
grog186 is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Still in the works Tahlee, another 2.5 weeks at work.... But pretty sure I'm going to go ahead with it.

Will order this week to make sure it all arrives in time, the cold weather should help the minister of finance release the funds 😁


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 06-15-2014, 05:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks: 6
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 1869
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

During takeover procedure, if you press the start button too many times, you can actually cycle through the steering lock/unlock multiple times without the engine shutting down. So instead, you just repeat the take over procedure and continue driving.

With regards to heated seats, they do not recall your last settings. It just resets everytime you start the engine which is remains in the off position. Unlike the A/C, it is resumed.

Radio, it doesnt recall you last settings. For me I normally play from USB, so remote start will just start off with the RADIO frequency.

Going by the radio above, I guess seat memory options also do not recall your memory seating IF you have chooe then Easy Exit option. I guess you might need to hit the recall option when you hop in the car. I dont use the Easy Exit anyhow so I have not test.


Now to think of it why last settings from Seats and Radio is not recalled - Simply because the fobik is not in close range for the proximity to pick up who you are!

Overall, I'm using the remote start everytime now so it is like a habit - which is unnecessary. Fobik remote will be out of battery very soon..


Quote:
Originally Posted by grog186 View Post
Congratulations imaz, the second flash must be something new with the 2014 modules I believe the take over procedure is different as well.

Great to hear yours is working as intended.




Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 06-15-2014, 12:55 PM
xmanjid's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2012 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Saudi Arabia
Posts: 124
Thanks: 11
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 575
xmanjid is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post
so it turns out i dont need to take any panels off. Pry off the steering surround will make enough space to get to the push to start button harness. You're not wrong i ended up with cuts to my arm..

I mounted the flashlogic module in the center console so i can reprogram easily without getting behind the steering. I didn't bother with a video guide as it was too simple of a job. Hope the pics below give enough insite to whats required.

All works as expected!
Step 1. Pry off the surroundings.

Step 2.
The harness you can see is actually the t-harness for the flashlogic.

You can see the harness for the push to start button - the one at the middle left of the picture with some yellow wires is the one actually behind the button that needs to be disconnected.

Step 3. Is where i positioned the flash logic routing the wires to the center console.

well done and take good care of your arm
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 06-15-2014, 05:50 PM
ENFORCER's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,009
Thanks: 23
Thanked 95 Times in 77 Posts
Rep Power: 322050
ENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond reputeENFORCER has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Thanks for being the tester imaz, we all appreciate your effort that will help all of us out who choose this option.
__________________
Previous Ride = 2011 JGC CRD Overland
Current Ride = 2014 Silver JGC SRT with Pano, HK and Spider monkeys.
Mods = CLSTech Ribbon Mod

Best 1/4 13.4@102Mph
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 06-15-2014, 05:59 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 183
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 587
chocco is on a distinguished road
Thanks heaps.

So just dropped the car off for first service and no jeep usa still wont auth the pin code for activation.

So will be ordering the flash logic and cable.

Keep you posted.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:33 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 183
Thanks: 13
Thanked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Rep Power: 587
chocco is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grog186 View Post
So... Found out I can probably register with flash logic as a "freelance installer" the cable is approx. $50.

The plot thickens, is there any interest in 2014 remote starts?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Hi Chris,

I will be getting one as well now that Jeep this morning confirmed Jeep US still not authorizing OEM unit.

The only thin that worrys me is splicing into the OBD wiring !!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wk2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody have remote start on 06 WK? jeepdizzle Grand Cherokee - WK 61 03-28-2014 11:09 PM
please help with my remote start livingrock21 Troubleshooting/Problems 16 09-04-2013 11:00 AM
Remote Start Disabled - Start Vehicle to Reset?? bmrsooner10 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 01-02-2012 10:11 AM
WK2 -question- Remote Start Jeepdewd Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 11 11-25-2011 04:19 PM
Remote Start Ricko Tech Tips/DIY/How To 13 10-31-2011 11:08 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.