Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > Export Grand Cherokee 2011+

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #181  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:43 PM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 389
Thanked 84 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 2263
DCRSRT is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

I wonder if you used a US VIN# to get an activation code, would that work?
__________________

__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT.
Mods: Borla ATAK axle back exhaust. Hawk HP Ceramic Brake Pads. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. SRTWIL front grille badge.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 06-15-2014, 11:55 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 663
chocco is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCRSRT View Post
I wonder if you used a US VIN# to get an activation code, would that work?
Let me know how you go with that one !!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 06-16-2014, 04:44 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 438
grog186 is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Chocco,

Hadn't really thought about the OBD connection. I'm thinking I'll grab a obd plug off ebay ~$3 and terminate the flash logic wiring in the plug.

I'm away from the jeep can anyone tell me if the obd port can have a plug in it and still look normal?

Cheers,
Chris


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:25 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 663
chocco is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by grog186 View Post
Chocco,

Hadn't really thought about the OBD connection. I'm thinking I'll grab a obd plug off ebay ~$3 and terminate the flash logic wiring in the plug.

I'm away from the jeep can anyone tell me if the obd port can have a plug in it and still look normal?

Cheers,
Chris

Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
I use my obd port I was thinking about a obd thru connector or breakout cable so i dont disturb the oem wiring its in a dog of a spot so you dont want anything thats to long or it will stick out to far.

My thoughts thus far.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 276
Thanks: 6
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2122
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grog186 View Post
Chocco,

Hadn't really thought about the OBD connection. I'm thinking I'll grab a obd plug off ebay ~$3 and terminate the flash logic wiring in the plug.

I'm away from the jeep can anyone tell me if the obd port can have a plug in it and still look normal?

Cheers,
Chris


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Are you talking about the obd with sim card ? So you can remote start/stop and track your vehicles location via app or pc?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 276
Thanks: 6
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2122
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

I've only got the simple bluetooth odb reader for checks. Doesn't do anymore than that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:35 AM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 195
Thanks: 14
Thanked 26 Times in 18 Posts
Rep Power: 663
chocco is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by imaz View Post

Are you talking about the obd with sim card ? So you can remote start/stop and track your vehicles location via app or pc?
Nah I use my obd for logging and have alarms set up using torque and I set and forget.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 276
Thanks: 6
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2122
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
Nah I use my obd for logging and have alarms set up using torque and I set and forget.
Seriously?

I havent found much use for it. I have the torque app, apart from watching the revs and see if theres any miss fire's - cant seem to use it for much. What kind of alarms?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:37 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 438
grog186 is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Yeah I thought having a plug in all the time wouldn't be ideal. Much rather that than splicing into the obd loom if it's going to be messy and obvious.

Imaz the 2014 has two wires that need to pick up from the obd high and low signal... Yet another change in the 2014 module


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 276
Thanks: 6
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 2122
imaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond reputeimaz has a reputation beyond repute
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grog186 View Post
Yeah I thought having a plug in all the time wouldn't be ideal. Much rather that than splicing into the obd loom if it's going to be messy and obvious.

Imaz the 2014 has two wires that need to pick up from the obd high and low signal... Yet another change in the 2014 module


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
That sucks. So it's not just can-bus plug and play.

If that's the case, I would definitely splice and hard wire. Being starting mechanism, you'd want it reliable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 06-16-2014, 05:48 AM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 438
grog186 is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

I tend to think a soldered removable plug will be reliable. Also easily removed. I assume the obd wiring is a wrapped package I.e no access to the back of the obd plug to add the wiring at the back of the terminals?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 06-16-2014, 06:01 AM
DCRSRT's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L WK2
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hills District, Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,187
Thanks: 389
Thanked 84 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 2263
DCRSRT is on a distinguished road
Re: WK2 - remote start down under.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
Let me know how you go with that one !!
Excuse me for offering a suggestion !!
__________________

__________________
MY14 Deep Cherry Red JGC SRT.
Mods: Borla ATAK axle back exhaust. Hawk HP Ceramic Brake Pads. CLStech headlight ribbon mod. SRTWIL front grille badge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wk2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody have remote start on 06 WK? jeepdizzle Grand Cherokee - WK 61 03-28-2014 11:09 PM
please help with my remote start livingrock21 Troubleshooting/Problems 16 09-04-2013 11:00 AM
Remote Start Disabled - Start Vehicle to Reset?? bmrsooner10 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 3 01-02-2012 10:11 AM
WK2 -question- Remote Start Jeepdewd Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 11 11-25-2011 04:19 PM
Remote Start Ricko Tech Tips/DIY/How To 13 10-31-2011 11:08 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.