Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 09-07-2009, 12:33 AM
Chaoul1's Avatar
The Original

My Jeep: 2010 6.1L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 6,913
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 63431
Chaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

Andrew tell me how that chip goes. I might want to get one for my Jeep too. I need a little more power.
__________________

__________________
-Paul-
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8

PaulsProfessional Automotive Detailing

PPAD's Custom Headlights

Contact for both DetailingPPADscustomwork@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-07-2009, 05:37 AM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2317
Andrew has a brilliant future
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

I'm either getting the Jet Chip Stage 2, or the Superchip. Haven't decided.
I can never get to Redline my jeep. EVER. No matter what hill im on, or how hard i punch the acceleration.

Maybe its because of my vacuum leak.

Chaoul, what type of engine you have?
Got a Air Intake?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-07-2009, 07:30 AM
dreamer1213's Avatar
Founding Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 918
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2926
dreamer1213 has a reputation beyond reputedreamer1213 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

Don't buy the JetChip Andy....get the SuperChips tuner....you'll get a lot more use of the tuner then just that chip...and I've heard that in same cases the Jeep does forget what the chip tells it goes back to "stock"...

On a stock tune...you will NEVER, EVER get the engine to get close to redline if you put it in drive (D)....the computer tells the tranny to shift at a certain shift point....with a tuner you can increase that shift point...so its closer to redline...you can also increase the rev-limiter....and delete the governor...
__________________
{ Hannes }

02 WJ Overland 4.7L H.O V8

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-07-2009, 09:11 AM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2317
Andrew has a brilliant future
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

Thats what I was afraid of with the Jet Chip, and heard on other forums when I googled that issue.

I will definetely get the Superchips now.
How does the Superchips work anyways? Where does it plug into?

AutoAnything:$339.95
Jeep Flashpaq Tuner 3875
AutoAnything: $339.95
Lowest I've found.

Thanks man!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-07-2009, 10:28 AM
Dylans3960ccs's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alpharetta ,GA
Posts: 3,808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 5849
Dylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond reputeDylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond reputeDylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond reputeDylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

if you floor the gas in either park or netural, if your expecting a very sudden change in RPM's after going into either the red of the RPM gauge or just very close to the red, then you'll be dissapointed becaus the jeep has a fuel cut off (like an old muscle car) which restricts the flow of fuel as to keep the motor from over reving and breaking something.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:02 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2317
Andrew has a brilliant future
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

But it shouldnt go down to 0 in the RPMS and conk out, or about to when I'm in Neutral.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:08 PM
Chaoul1's Avatar
The Original

My Jeep: 2010 6.1L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 6,913
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 63431
Chaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

I have the I6 and stock air filter. I need a little more power. Not High Performance.
__________________
-Paul-
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8

PaulsProfessional Automotive Detailing

PPAD's Custom Headlights

Contact for both DetailingPPADscustomwork@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-07-2009, 08:14 PM
Dylans3960ccs's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Alpharetta ,GA
Posts: 3,808
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 5849
Dylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond reputeDylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond reputeDylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond reputeDylans3960ccs has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

No it really shouldn't and you might be able to set it right by un hooking the battery for a minuite or so and then hooking it back up again.

---------- Post added at 09:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:12 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaoul1 View Post
I have the I6 and stock air filter. I need a little more power. Not High Performance.
More power would be nice.

is the royal purple oil any different than synthetic oil?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-08-2009, 01:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79988
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylans3960ccs View Post
is the royal purple oil any different than synthetic oil?
Won't give you any more power if thats what you mean?

It is said to give surfaces a better coating, but I wouldn't choose it over Mobil1.

BTW, I love the animation in your sig!
__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-08-2009, 02:45 PM
Ridin' Around's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rochester, Il
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1974
Ridin' Around will become famous soon enough
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

As with any air intake change you should unhook your battery for several minutes, then when you fire it back up your computer will "Re-learn" how to idle with the new air. You have changed how much pressure/vacuum it takes for the engine to draw in air. This is a very common problem.

If you are searching for a vacuum leak, get yourself a small propane torch, turn on the gas but do not light it. With the engine running (and outside of the garage away from open flame) move the torch around all of your vacuum lines and other places air may be drawn into the engine (intake gaskets, throttle body, etc.) if the engine is drawing air you will notice a change in idle speed because of the propane.

My guess is the battery trick will work for you though, since the intake assembly was changed. Good Luck.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-08-2009, 07:06 PM
Andrew's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 330
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 2317
Andrew has a brilliant future
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

That's a very good idea!
But I believe I also have a Fuel Line, or Fuel Pump problem too.
This morning I went to accelerate, and it wouldn't go, then it went after I tried accelerating again. I could hear the engine getting cut off. Like the Fuel wasnt getting to the engine. I'm getting a diagnose this friday to find out whats causing all this B/S.

Thank you all! Anymore comments, let me know!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridin' Around View Post
As with any air intake change you should unhook your battery for several minutes, then when you fire it back up your computer will "Re-learn" how to idle with the new air. You have changed how much pressure/vacuum it takes for the engine to draw in air. This is a very common problem.

If you are searching for a vacuum leak, get yourself a small propane torch, turn on the gas but do not light it. With the engine running (and outside of the garage away from open flame) move the torch around all of your vacuum lines and other places air may be drawn into the engine (intake gaskets, throttle body, etc.) if the engine is drawing air you will notice a change in idle speed because of the propane.

My guess is the battery trick will work for you though, since the intake assembly was changed. Good Luck.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-08-2009, 09:04 PM
dreamer1213's Avatar
Founding Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 918
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 2926
dreamer1213 has a reputation beyond reputedreamer1213 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: K&N Air intake installed - but some problems!

Filter Filter might need to be changed....have you ever changed it?
__________________

__________________
{ Hannes }

02 WJ Overland 4.7L H.O V8

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air intake cover 08Hemi Performance Modifications 25 03-30-2012 03:22 PM
dual air intake ducks unlimited Performance Modifications 51 07-19-2010 07:38 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.