Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-09-2011, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1443
scrivenerc is on a distinguished road
Might have a problem here

I have a 2000 WJ with 125,000. The other morning when i left for work the tranny had a real hard time getting in to first. When i stopped at a stoplight the rpms dropped and it stalled. Later that day when I put it in reverse it stalled again, and seems to have an issue downshifting to first when Im at a stop. Any ideas would be very helpful. Its about an average of 30 degrees here in NC right now if that helps.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-09-2011, 08:14 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,195
Thanks: 9
Thanked 121 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 526214
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Might have a problem here

Donīt know which tranny/engine your jeep has, but many times shifting problems are caused by input/output speed sensors. But ofcourse first some basic things should be done. Is the fluid level ok and has the fluid been changed at normal service schedule? Did the "check engine" light lit up? So if you could answer these questions first, especially regarding which tranny/engine combo, we can maybe better help you out.
__________________

__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-09-2011, 08:52 PM
Chaoul1's Avatar
The Original

My Jeep: 2010 6.1L WK
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Posts: 6,913
Thanks: 2
Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts
Rep Power: 63463
Chaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond reputeChaoul1 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Might have a problem here

Torque Converter?
__________________
-Paul-
2010 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8

PaulsProfessional Automotive Detailing

PPAD's Custom Headlights

Contact for both DetailingPPADscustomwork@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-10-2011, 12:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1443
scrivenerc is on a distinguished road
Re: Might have a problem here

i have 4.7L, and no the check engine light did not come on. I bought the jeep used a few months ago and im not sure of when the last time the fluid was changed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2011, 07:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1527
ithinkfit914 is on a distinguished road
Re: Might have a problem here

i had that problem once before. I had a hard time getting out of first when the gas light came on. I just switched out the output speed sensor and haven't had any problems since. ::knock knock:: (me knocking on wood haha)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2011, 10:23 AM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,195
Thanks: 9
Thanked 121 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 526214
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Might have a problem here

When you donīt know the maintenance history of the car, you can better change all oils, fluids and liquids: engine oil + filter, transmission fluid + filters, diff fluid, T-case fluid, engine cooling liquid and brake fluid. It is ofcourse some work and you have to spend some money, but if you want to keep the car for some time, you can drive around without any problems and during the fluid change you can see the general condition of the several components. Any glinstering inside oil or fluid indicates wear, eventhough i think its quite normal to find some glinsters in the diff fluid.
Also engine air filter and plugs should be checked for condition or just changed, to start from 0.
But regarding your transmission, your problem is most probably caused by one of the transmission speed sensors, as mentioned before. Quite cheap and easy to change.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1527
ithinkfit914 is on a distinguished road
Re: Might have a problem here

Frango's right. Changing all the fluids and stuff is the first thing you should do. Other than that. THe output speed sensor cost me about 40$ and then I just did it myself
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-2011, 03:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area and Reno
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 1627
FredoinSF is on a distinguished road
Re: Might have a problem here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frango100 View Post
When you donīt know the maintenance history of the car, you can better change all oils, fluids and liquids: engine oil + filter, transmission fluid + filters, diff fluid, T-case fluid, engine cooling liquid and brake fluid.
Also engine air filter and plugs should be checked for condition or just changed, to start from 0.
I totally agree with Frango on this. At that age and mileage, the best option is to buy a car from the owner who has complete history and receipts. Short of that, assume nothing has ever been done. Whenever I buy a car with more than 50K miles, I just assume it will some amount of remedial maintenance and I factor it into the budget.

When I bought my 02 WJ with 87k, I did all of the above, plus the serpentine belt, and the radiator hoses. I also ended up changing tires because closer inspection revealed gouges on the inner sidewall and I did the shocks for good measure.

I can't give specifics on your trans problem, but sometimes fresh fluid and filters work wonders for recalcitrant transmissions. I have had cars go well over 200,000 miles with RedLine synthetic fluids and use their stuff in all my cars where possible. They make an automatic trans fluid for Chrysler vehicles.
http://www.redlineoil.com/product.aspx?pid=53&pcid=9

I did not have any transmission problems, but this stuff has been in the Jeep for almost 5,000 miles now and shifting is smooth. They also have a gear oil that meets the Jeep requirements, but I can't recall the recommended viscosity off the top of my head.
__________________
02 WJ Ltd 4.7 - RIP 10-01-11
Was hoping for a CRD WK2, now have X5 Diesel.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2011, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1443
scrivenerc is on a distinguished road
Re: Might have a problem here

Quote:
Originally Posted by ithinkfit914 View Post
Frango's right. Changing all the fluids and stuff is the first thing you should do. Other than that. THe output speed sensor cost me about 40$ and then I just did it myself
Where did you order the sensor from, and do you have a how to for the change out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2011, 09:48 AM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,195
Thanks: 9
Thanked 121 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 526214
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Might have a problem here

I bought mine online via www.justforjeeps.com. The change itself is very easy and you don't have to drain any fluid. They are both mounted on the left side of the transmission, one forward and one aft and are mounted with one bolt only.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-15-2011, 10:54 AM
cheapjeep's Avatar
Amber Instigator
My Jeep: 1997 2.5L TJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vintondale Pa.
Posts: 3,123
Thanks: 100
Thanked 71 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 332008
cheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Might have a problem here

Hey guys if one of the output speed sensors are bad it should be throwing a code.i know our '99 did. Hate to see ya buy a sensor for nothing.
  • P0720 Output Speed Sensor Circuit Malfunction
  • P0721 Output Speed Sensor Range/Performance
  • P0722 Output Speed Sensor Circuit Low Input
  • P0723 Output Speed Sensor Intermittent
__________________
Dave'04 Overland,I don't even remember what I did to it anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJXJWJ View Post
OK, fine...I'll admit...some amber lamps are good, and necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-15-2011, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1527
ithinkfit914 is on a distinguished road
Re: Might have a problem here

yeah mine threw the first one so thats why I changed it out
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem after my install Relwarc Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 14 10-28-2010 06:20 PM
Light problem cort692 Grand Cherokee - WK 16 07-02-2010 03:26 PM
has anyone else had this problem? 99limited Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 14 04-01-2010 05:17 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.