Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 06-03-2012, 11:19 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1017
Tanner505 is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

cool thanks so is there any major difference in performance that you have noticed?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-04-2012, 10:56 AM
01grand's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,805
Thanks: 37
Thanked 62 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 54382
01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque Wire Snip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanner505 View Post
cool thanks so is there any major difference in performance that you have noticed?
Major? No, unless you mash on the throttle a lot. Torque management is used to make shifts "easier" on the transmission at wide open throttle. Snipping the wire prevents the signal from getting through to hold back timing during a WOT shift, so its only affect is at WOT. It prevents that lagging feeling when you speed up to pass someone, or really want to fly down the highway
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-04-2012, 11:34 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1017
Tanner505 is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

then im gonna do it hahaha i got a need for speed ahahaha
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-09-2012, 01:44 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2000 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver,Colorado
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1030
2KWJ* is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

hmmm something to consider... thanks! If i decide to either get a "tuner" or a trans kit would this affect it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-09-2012, 02:03 PM
01grand's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,805
Thanks: 37
Thanked 62 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 54382
01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque Wire Snip

I don't think so, its kind of an independent thing. Unless the tuner tells the PCM to ignore the torque management setting, then they would both be doing the same thing but no harm. The trans kit just helps a little more by making the shift quicker.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-11-2012, 02:27 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2000 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver,Colorado
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1030
2KWJ* is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

Thanks! i think i'm going to do this mod. MY WJ is a bit slow to react to throttle position. I rebuilt my 4.7 with H.O. cams, K&N air intake, deleted muffler, it seems slow to shift still. I think My trans is going south because it shifts hard into 2d gear when cold... Any ideas?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-11-2012, 11:42 AM
01grand's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,805
Thanks: 37
Thanked 62 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 54382
01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Torque Wire Snip

Fresh fluid and filters is always a plus in any automatic transmission. Although if only one gear is hard it could have something to do with that gear/clutch specifically. You could try installing the upgraded springs and rings to the valve body from the transgo shift kit, this would also give you a chance to check out the inside of the valve body for any problems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-11-2012, 10:10 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2000 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver,Colorado
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1030
2KWJ* is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

i inspected everything when i changed the oil and filter didn't find anything bad... I did use synthetic oil hoping it would help which it did a little bit.. gonna hook up my scanner and see if i can find something.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-13-2012, 02:25 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2000 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver,Colorado
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1030
2KWJ* is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

Did the Wire "snip" and i must admit it shifts a WHOLE lot better... Or maybe it's just me.... Before it would hesitate whether to down shift or up shift especially when cold. So i did it this morning and drove it to work and it shifted flawlessly, shifts felt more firm at full throttle and at cruise they are smooth. I romped on it while turning at it actually squealed the tires both front and rear!! the "test drive" was only a few miles today but it seems to work nice. Going to test it this weekend and drive through the mountains and see how it performs. THANKS GUYS!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-19-2012, 12:03 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2003 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 703
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1208
samplexample is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

Disconnected the TQ wire last weekend and what a difference! When she hits second you pretty much jump 5 feet forward. You'll feel more acceleration during that shift than any other time, ever. Definitely improves 0-60 time. Haven't tested 2-3rd shifts because I'm getting close to 80 up there. I've also noticed a difference with O/D off at about 2 grand. The clutch seems to totally engage rather than "slip" and slowly lower the RPMs. I usually put O/D off when im on a 45mph road...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-21-2012, 11:29 PM
janibeans's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1360
janibeans is on a distinguished road
Re: Torque Wire Snip

When I did mine('99 4.7), it would send it into transmission limp mode 80% of the time. I've read this only affects '99's, so it might not happen to you. I just reconnected the wire and was back to good.

BTW, don't snip it. Get a small screwdriver or another small, pointed tool to fit in the slit and push it out from the connector. That way, you don't have to re-wire anything, and just have to put it into the plug.

Anyone know if I can use my SCT to tune out TQ management?
__________________
The Brown Trout[SOLD]
On the hunt for a 5.9 or 4.7 HO Limited...
In the meantime, this is pretty entertaining....
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-22-2012, 12:11 AM
FlyinRyan's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2002 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 2,804
Thanks: 33
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 88666
FlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to FlyinRyan
Quote:
Originally Posted by janibeans View Post

Anyone know if I can use my SCT to tune out TQ management?
I remove torque management in the tunes.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
__________________

__________________
Due to my workload, please do not PM me as I do not regularly check my PMs. Thank you :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lug torque? Jdsmitty10 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 14 10-20-2013 08:46 PM
Torque spec Snow4Lif3 Suspension/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 0 09-20-2011 05:35 PM
WK and Torque Management Marlin Performance Modifications 26 08-18-2011 12:49 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.