Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Audio/Visual/Navigation

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 11-09-2010, 12:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1351
peerless is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Yes, I thought so... I'll have to buy those iSimple boxes

P.S. Anyone familiar with the circuits... will it be possible just to solder some... "resistor may be" on the PCI connection or something easy to be done just to tell HU we have a CD changer.. ?!?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-09-2010, 03:50 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2003 4.0L WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 582
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 2617
JeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond reputeJeepMe has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by peerless View Post
Yes, I thought so... I'll have to buy those iSimple boxes

P.S. Anyone familiar with the circuits... will it be possible just to solder some... "resistor may be" on the PCI connection or something easy to be done just to tell HU we have a CD changer.. ?!?
This is what I'm going to look into whenever I get some free time (so most likely not soon).

My initial thought is that the pin on the back of the radio (thinking pin 3 right now) needs see a ground before the radio recognized the input. The PCI pin is most likely just a HU output that tells the CD changer to switch discs or go to a new track. I doubt it would be used if you just hook up a mp3 player.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-09-2010, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1351
peerless is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Interesting, I might try grounding it...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 356
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
straty1987 is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeradyDavis View Post
god that seems like another language....
lol

cut 2 wires and connect the other 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepMe View Post
DUDE!!! You are my hero! I wanted to buy the AUX input (one side plugs into the CD changer on the HU and the other end is a male 1/8" jack) for my Jeep but didn't want to spend $80 on the cable. I was going to look into doing this but haven't found the time to figure it out. Now I have all the connections and don't have to work it out myself. I don't have a CD changer so there will be some MINOR changes but it'll work. Thanks a TON!!
glad it helps.
i was looking for soem time and did nto want to spend the cash and then found this mode on another car off youtube and talked to the guy, understood his mod the best i could and made it work for my wj
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 356
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
straty1987 is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by peerless View Post
Hi all, will it work on a missing CD changer, I mean that if no payload on the Changer harness will it be possible to select the CD changer mode from the radio?

from what i have read and talked to others that when the audio audio signals are detected you can select the mode and will tun to the devices. but i have not been able to test this yet since i have not found a old harness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peerless View Post
Anyone familiar with the circuits... will it be possible just to solder some... "resistor may be" on the PCI connection or something easy to be done just to tell HU we have a CD changer.. ?!?
going to look into this more put if you look at the 10 pin wiring only audio left, audio right, and Pci bus are the only thing the HU deals with.

on a side note there are mods that people have done to add a 3.5mm jack to the basic am/fm/tape and when you select tape and plug into the 3.5mm jack it will plat off that. but you have to solder onto the radio circuit boards which can go good or bad
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-10-2010, 05:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1351
peerless is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Btw, does anyone knows why I have C2 harness connected to the radio, but no cd changer cable in the cargo area, already removed the whole plastic cover and no cable for the changer, where its supposed to be or what then is connected to my radio.. cannot be sirius because no antenna is mounted on the roof...

Afaik, the cd changer is connected directly to the radio... if my WJ isn't with the factory preinstalled changer, wtf is connected to the HU?!?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-10-2010, 12:37 PM
cheapjeep's Avatar
Amber Instigator
My Jeep: 2004 4.7 HO WJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vintondale Pa.
Posts: 3,079
Thanks: 95
Thanked 68 Times in 64 Posts
Rep Power: 331828
cheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by peerless View Post
Btw, does anyone knows why I have C2 harness connected to the radio, but no cd changer cable in the cargo area, already removed the whole plastic cover and no cable for the changer, where its supposed to be or what then is connected to my radio.. cannot be sirius because no antenna is mounted on the roof...

Afaik, the cd changer is connected directly to the radio... if my WJ isn't with the factory preinstalled changer, wtf is connected to the HU?!?
Pull the storage bin back there and take a look.Maybe they always run the cable. Who knows could be in there and you could then run it anywhere you want
__________________
Dave'04 Overland,I don't even remember what I did to it anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJXJWJ View Post
OK, fine...I'll admit...some amber lamps are good, and necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-10-2010, 03:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79884
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Good idea for a easy aux-in cheapjeep. I'm gonna actually do that. I took my nav unit out for winter so have the one with the tape input so I'm gonna mount that up to the storage bin for the odd MP3 useage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepMe View Post
DUDE!!! You are my hero! I wanted to buy the AUX input (one side plugs into the CD changer on the HU and the other end is a male 1/8" jack) for my Jeep but didn't want to spend $80 on the cable. I was going to look into doing this but haven't found the time to figure it out. Now I have all the connections and don't have to work it out myself. I don't have a CD changer so there will be some MINOR changes but it'll work. Thanks a TON!!

Ditto. Looked into those Mopar kits for the iPod but I wasn't paying for one of those without getting track info on the HU (just CD 02 Tr 74 etc).

This'll work great to get a 3.5" input to the glove box and still retain the CD changer which I'd use more often anyway.



+rep to both of you guys, for the awesome tutorials/ideas.
__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-10-2010, 07:30 PM
cheapjeep's Avatar
Amber Instigator
My Jeep: 2004 4.7 HO WJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vintondale Pa.
Posts: 3,079
Thanks: 95
Thanked 68 Times in 64 Posts
Rep Power: 331828
cheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Thanks Marty!
__________________
Dave'04 Overland,I don't even remember what I did to it anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJXJWJ View Post
OK, fine...I'll admit...some amber lamps are good, and necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-10-2010, 07:39 PM
cheapjeep's Avatar
Amber Instigator
My Jeep: 2004 4.7 HO WJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vintondale Pa.
Posts: 3,079
Thanks: 95
Thanked 68 Times in 64 Posts
Rep Power: 331828
cheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Sorry Peerless missed the part about you already taking that apart. Maybe check behind the glove comp or pass kick panel. That's the route it should be taking
__________________
Dave'04 Overland,I don't even remember what I did to it anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJXJWJ View Post
OK, fine...I'll admit...some amber lamps are good, and necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 356
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
straty1987 is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by peerless View Post
Btw, does anyone knows why I have C2 harness connected to the radio, but no cd changer cable in the cargo area, already removed the whole plastic cover and no cable for the changer, where its supposed to be or what then is connected to my radio.. cannot be sirius because no antenna is mounted on the roof...

Afaik, the cd changer is connected directly to the radio... if my WJ isn't with the factory preinstalled changer, wtf is connected to the HU?!?

could be you had it and it was removed.
or you might of had another kit installed like sat or xm and it was removed.

what model do you have?
might of been install on all 02 and up like the fog light harness for just in case it get that item

if you tug the cable dose it come out?
the other end can be anywhere in the back passenger side. i have found a few stock cables in my WJ and have just learned to live with them before i break something
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-10-2010, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 356
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1870
straty1987 is on a distinguished road
Re: Easy aux in for WJ factory stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyp View Post
Good idea for a easy aux-in cheapjeep. I'm gonna actually do that. I took my nav unit out for winter so have the one with the tape input so I'm gonna mount that up to the storage bin for the odd MP3 useage.

Ditto. Looked into those Mopar kits for the iPod but I wasn't paying for one of those without getting track info on the HU (just CD 02 Tr 74 etc).

This'll work great to get a 3.5" input to the glove box and still retain the CD changer which I'd use more often anyway.

+rep to both of you guys, for the awesome tutorials/ideas.
can i ask why you took your nav unit out for winter?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How-To: Add a Sub/Amp to your Factory Stereo Matt Tech Tips DIY/How To 39 07-17-2012 10:18 AM
Warranty - Easy Care Drumandfly Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 15 10-25-2010 12:11 PM
couple of easy questions BillaWha? Grand Cherokee - WK 7 08-15-2010 10:25 PM
Remote wire for factory stereo? THA06 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 10 03-01-2010 11:31 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community