Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-30-2012, 03:45 AM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houghton,MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1754
DivineXtacy is on a distinguished road
Question 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

I recently took my Jeep to the dealership for 45->545 conversion.But they told me that their OBD did not mention any updates for my tranny.My question-

>Is it because I own a 00'WJ;that the OBD does not show any updates for my tranny?For ex-Chrysler introduced the flash for post 2002 vehicles.So according to their database;pre-2002 vehicles are not supposed to get that update.

>Or is it because it's already been done?

I have the TSB with me and I'm planning to tell the dealer to use the TSB and perform the mentioned steps in it.Atleast then,I''ll be sure that its 545RFE

On a side note,could someone please tell me the difference between the following:

1>http://transgoonline.com/products.ph...5&prod_start=0

2>http://transgoonline.com/products.ph...dcountview=Yes

Any input will be appreciated!
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2012, 04:35 AM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,289
Thanks: 9
Thanked 127 Times in 120 Posts
Rep Power: 526332
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

If the TSB was performed, there should be a placard on the TCM and/or PCM which states this. You could also count the shifts. From a stop, you should feel 5 times a shift, where the latest is the torque converter lockout. Some shifts you do not or almost not feel, so you could also watch the rpm indicator, or better let a passenger watch it while you watch the road.
But when the DRBIII doesn´t show any update available, its probably already done.
__________________

__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2012, 04:42 AM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,539
Thanks: 36
Thanked 2,305 Times in 963 Posts
Rep Power: 2392930
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivineXtacy View Post
I recently took my Jeep to the dealership for 45->545 conversion.But they told me that their OBD did not mention any updates for my tranny.My question-
The update was for 1999-2000 model years. If you PM me last 8 of your VIN I can check if the Flash was performed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2012, 06:35 AM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houghton,MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1754
DivineXtacy is on a distinguished road
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

I will check it out.Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by Frango100 View Post
If the TSB was performed, there should be a placard on the TCM and/or PCM which states this. You could also count the shifts. From a stop, you should feel 5 times a shift, where the latest is the torque converter lockout. Some shifts you do not or almost not feel, so you could also watch the rpm indicator, or better let a passenger watch it while you watch the road.
But when the DRBIII doesn´t show any update available, its probably already done.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2012, 06:36 AM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houghton,MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1754
DivineXtacy is on a distinguished road
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

PM sent

Quote:
Originally Posted by Milous View Post
The update was for 1999-2000 model years. If you PM me last 8 of your VIN I can check if the Flash was performed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2012, 03:40 PM
01grand's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,808
Thanks: 37
Thanked 62 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 54442
01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

The difference in the 2 kits (from my knowledge) is that the "reprogramming kit" has a resistor to modify line pressure, which wouldn't be needed if used with a different programmer like a super chips. That said there are those that run both just fine, I bought the HD2 reprogramming kit but have yet to install the resistor but plan to, even though I do run a super chips programmer.
__________________
Aaron

My Jeep: 2001 Grand Cherokee Limited, 245/65R17 Falken Rocky Mountain ATS, K&N drop in air filter, Bilstein HD's. De-badged, eagle-eye LED Tails & LED 3rd brake light, Addco front and rear sway bars, Superchips tuned & TM snip, interior 6k LED's, Gen3 ccfl projectors with Volt 6k HID lows, akebono brake upgrade with R1 Concepts premium rotors.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-04-2012, 11:33 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houghton,MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1754
DivineXtacy is on a distinguished road
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01grand View Post
The difference in the 2 kits (from my knowledge) is that the "reprogramming kit" has a resistor to modify line pressure, which wouldn't be needed if used with a different programmer like a super chips. That said there are those that run both just fine, I bought the HD2 reprogramming kit but have yet to install the resistor but plan to, even though I do run a super chips programmer.
Thanks for replying.Wouldn't the resistor bypass ur superchip programmer settings?I mean, I have read posts about people removing their resistor so as to make their performance chips function as intended.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2012, 12:52 AM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 49,625
Thanks: 896
Thanked 1,128 Times in 774 Posts
Rep Power: 7718616
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

doesnt the conversion require a new tcm from a 5 speed rfe?
__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED\BlackOps CFR Edition" 1 of 1
2013 JKU Wrangler 10A-stormtrooper'ed, JW Speaker and more!
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2012, 03:57 AM
cheapjeep's Avatar
Amber Instigator
My Jeep: 1997 2.5L TJ
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vintondale Pa.
Posts: 3,130
Thanks: 100
Thanked 71 Times in 66 Posts
Rep Power: 332039
cheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond reputecheapjeep has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottina06 View Post
doesnt the conversion require a new tcm from a 5 speed rfe?
From the way I understand it Scott it's just a simple reflash of the existing one.
__________________
Dave'04 Overland,I don't even remember what I did to it anymore.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJXJWJ View Post
OK, fine...I'll admit...some amber lamps are good, and necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2012, 08:49 AM
01grand's Avatar
Super Moderator

My Jeep: 2001 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Posts: 1,808
Thanks: 37
Thanked 62 Times in 61 Posts
Rep Power: 54442
01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute01grand has a reputation beyond repute
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DivineXtacy View Post
Thanks for replying.Wouldn't the resistor bypass ur superchip programmer settings?I mean, I have read posts about people removing their resistor so as to make their performance chips function as intended.
I'm not exactly sure how they play together, but I have read from others that it works fine using both. The resistor is just that, an electrical resistor that modifies the voltage of the signal going back to the TCM from the line pressure sensor. My guess would be that the resistor is doing the work, the stock TCM code would adjust the pressure up, whereas the super chips programming would up the pressure on its own regardless. Lol don't quote me on this though I'm pretty much just thinking out loud, I haven't seen what the actual superchips programming does.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-06-2012, 08:57 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houghton,MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1754
DivineXtacy is on a distinguished road
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01grand View Post
I'm not exactly sure how they play together, but I have read from others that it works fine using both. The resistor is just that, an electrical resistor that modifies the voltage of the signal going back to the TCM from the line pressure sensor. My guess would be that the resistor is doing the work, the stock TCM code would adjust the pressure up, whereas the super chips programming would up the pressure on its own regardless. Lol don't quote me on this though I'm pretty much just thinking out loud, I haven't seen what the actual superchips programming does.
Interesting.....will keep researching more on this as I plan to purchase the superchips in a month
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2012, 08:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houghton,MI
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1754
DivineXtacy is on a distinguished road
Re: 45RFE to 545RFE flash question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottina06 View Post
doesnt the conversion require a new tcm from a 5 speed rfe?
I thought the same until I realized that it's just a simple flash of the TCM using the TSB released by Chrysler.As long as it's an inexpensive mod;I'm happy
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
45RFE & 545RFE Diagnosis - Except Next Generation Controller jdmhvac3 Troubleshooting/Problems 0 06-04-2012 07:45 PM
Polling: MTBF Speed Sensors 45RFE/545RFE CherokeeChief Troubleshooting/Problems 1 09-07-2011 04:34 PM
45RFE problems. New member 2.8-350TBI Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 14 01-25-2011 02:52 AM
45RFE 545RFE Transmission Pressure Booster jeeppro Performance Modifications 17 05-17-2010 08:01 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by Chrysler Group LLC.