Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #13  
Old 09-17-2013, 04:37 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Western NC
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 859
Doug4230 is on a distinguished road
Re: No start condition. Cam Position Sensor indicated.

Yes, checked all three wires for short to ground or each other. Harness seems clean. Wondered about internal mechanical failure as well. Not having a lift, it is going to be tough to visualize the trigger through the sensor hole. Guess I will try but looks like the Jeep is dead at least until next weekend. Thanks for all your help. Please keep an eye on this thread for a while as I am not giving up yet.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-17-2013, 04:49 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,251
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,835 Times in 821 Posts
Rep Power: 2392157
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: No start condition. Cam Position Sensor indicated.

Just to rule one more thing out, check the G200 ground connection (inside the center console). Very common in WJ's for this to be loose/rusted. (G200 is the ground for the cluster, BCM).
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Ground_G200_WJ.pdf (56.5 KB, 3 views)
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-17-2013, 11:30 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,676
Thanks: 9
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 525489
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: No start condition. Cam Position Sensor indicated.

If it will be impossible to see the cam sensor tone ring, then the only way to see it clear is by removing the valve cover.
The ground lug G200 where Milous was talking about, also supplies the ground to the SKIM, the imobilizer module, besides for many other components. How is the SKIS key symbol on the instrument panel, is it coming on when switching ignition in run and will go out soon thereafter?
I don't say that this ground can't be the problem, but also don't see any interconnection with it to the stored CPS fault in the PCM.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
Monroe Reflex shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-19-2013, 04:40 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Western NC
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 859
Doug4230 is on a distinguished road
Re: No start condition. Cam Position Sensor indicated.

I think we both may be missing the obvious here. If the Jeep jumped time or broke the timing chain (unlikely as it failed with a miss then no restart, not a lockdown), would it likely not show the same cam sensor position fault?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-19-2013, 04:49 PM
Member
My Jeep: 1999 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Western NC
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 859
Doug4230 is on a distinguished road
Re: No start condition. Cam Position Sensor indicated.

I should add that, yes, the security symbol indicates as it should and goes out. I checked my door frame bus wireing (earlier post) and it came back clean. At this point really thinking either computer or internal.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-19-2013, 10:52 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,676
Thanks: 9
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Rep Power: 525489
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: No start condition. Cam Position Sensor indicated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug4230 View Post
I think we both may be missing the obvious here. If the Jeep jumped time or broke the timing chain (unlikely as it failed with a miss then no restart, not a lockdown), would it likely not show the same cam sensor position fault?
Not sure what you try to say here. You still have the same cam sensor fault code. The fault code you are having is regarding the cam position sensor circuit, which seems to be electrical, but the PCM is looking for pulses from the cam sensor, because it sees the pulses from the crank position sensor. If for whatever reason the target wheel doesn´t pass the cam sensor, the PCM doesn´t know this, but probably will suspect something wrong electrically.
I would at least check the mechanical part out, before buying an other PCM
__________________

__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
Monroe Reflex shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Replace Crankshaft Position Sensor JeepMe Tech Tips/DIY/How to 8 06-23-2014 12:35 PM
Crankshaft Position Sensor Circuit n8jay Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 6 10-15-2013 06:55 AM
Crankshaft position sensor hemi_shox Grand Cherokee - WK 13 05-27-2013 01:19 AM
02 4.7 Throttle position sensor Thumper828 Tech Tips/DIY/How to 8 12-01-2012 01:03 PM
Where is Camshaft Position Sensor ftcomp Export & Diesel Powered Jeep Models 3 08-17-2012 04:47 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community