Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-29-2009, 02:40 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
wells747 is on a distinguished road
tire pressure sensors

Hi
I have a 2000 grand cherokee WJ and I have fitted tyre pressure sensers with a new EVIC but I can't seem to pair the sensers with the EVIC I have done the dionostic check and it says the EVIC is OK but shows the tyre sensers are faulty or missing but they are new can any one help with what I am doing wrong

roger
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2009, 03:09 PM
Milous's Avatar
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nottsure, Wair
Posts: 6,238
Thanks: 33
Thanked 1,814 Times in 817 Posts
Rep Power: 2392139
Milous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond reputeMilous has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Tyre Pressure Sensers

Quote:
Originally Posted by wells747 View Post
Hi
I have a 2000 grand cherokee WJ and I have fitted tyre pressure sensers with a new EVIC but I can't seem to pair the sensers with the EVIC I have done the dionostic check and it says the EVIC is OK but shows the tyre sensers are faulty or missing but they are new can any one help with what I am doing wrong
Are you following the proper procedure with the training magnet? Do you have the correct sensors installed?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2009, 04:49 PM
Chuck's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2004 4.0L WJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 3,869
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 5760
Chuck has a reputation beyond reputeChuck has a reputation beyond repute
Re: tyre pressure sensers

If you don't have a TMPS training Magnet (not sure if its very specific magnet) but you will need that to program the magnets.

Magnet Part #:52109664AA
(Similar to Miller Special Tool 8821)

According to WJJeeps.com

"10. Training / Retraining the tire sensors: The sensor transmitters can easily be retrained by anyone and takes just a couple of minutes to complete. The special magnet tool used for retraining is included with those vehicles in which the factory has installed the TPMS option. The magnet can also be purchased for around $25, otherwise a pair of 6" or so speakers with good size magnets will do the trick.
1. On the overhead console, use the "Menu" button to advance to the "Retrain" option in the EVIC menu.
2. When "Yes" is selected, training will begin, starting with the left front tire.
3. Place the special magnet momentarily on each valve stem, one at a time, in clockwise order (LF, RF, RR, LR, Spare). You'll have 60 seconds to place the magnet on the first tire stem and 30 seconds for each of the other four, the spare being last. As each tire location is "learned", there is a confirming horn chirp. It may take 5-10 seconds for the confirming chirp once the magnet is placed on each stem. That's it, the correct tire pressure will now be displayed for the corresponding tires and the TPMS is fully functional.

Note that for aftermarket steel wheels the training magnet cannot be used and that a 125kHz transponder is necessary to retrain the EVIC to the sensors. This process can be done by the dealer with a DRB-III tool. The ID's of each sensor must be written down and assigned a location (LF, RF, RR, LR, SP). They are then rewritten to tell the EVIC which position each sensor is in."


__________________
2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Special Edition 4.0
Quote:
Originally Posted by White WK Swagga View Post
I'm here, and I like black jeeps!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:13 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1437
ctgranite is on a distinguished road
Re: tyre pressure sensers

Will this training Magnet work for the 07. I only have the standard TMPS. I got new ones for JK Moab wheels. Not currently installed on the Jeep yet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2010, 11:41 AM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,402
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542559
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: tyre pressure sensers

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctgranite View Post
Will this training Magnet work for the 07. I only have the standard TMPS. I got new ones for JK Moab wheels. Not currently installed on the Jeep yet.
no. 07 needs no magnet. just move from oem wheels to moab wheels.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:59 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1437
ctgranite is on a distinguished road
Re: tyre pressure sensers

Thanks.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2010, 03:48 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1437
ctgranite is on a distinguished road
Re: tyre pressure sensers

I wanted to leave the stock tire and wheels togeather as a spare set, and install new TPMS in the MOAB wheels. The ones I bought are the same part number. Do I have to do anything to them to activate them?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:25 PM
Long Live the Graphite Ghost

 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13,402
Thanks: 55
Thanked 132 Times in 114 Posts
Rep Power: 542559
robpp has disabled reputation
Re: tyre pressure sensers

you can do that as well. add 4. thats what i did. it takes a few miles for them to learn the new ones when i switch but no issues.

i added 4 oem ones without issue. not sure on some aftermarket ones........

and YES, be sure of the paert number. there are like 3 different frequencies.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2010, 06:22 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2007 3.7L WK
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1437
ctgranite is on a distinguished road
Re: tyre pressure sensers

Cool...... Thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-2010, 03:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 1405
militition is on a distinguished road
Re: tyre pressure sensers

magnaflow
Quote:
Posted by carwaesSo you have a set of high flows and a set of gutted stock cats? If so, I really hope you got EVERY piece of catalyst out of those pre cats. If not, then chunks of it can and will remove them selfs and go directly down stream to the high flows and cause you problems. Gutting a cat is never a good idea, for a few reasons.
where is the cheapest place to get it?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire pressure sensors jp467 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 24 07-10-2011 11:15 PM
tire pressure sensors sleepy93 Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 6 03-04-2011 10:21 PM
Part No. for pressure sensors? JohnS Troubleshooting/Problems 6 10-17-2010 08:11 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community