Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WJ > Troubleshooting/Problems

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-05-2011, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79985
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Exclamation TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Got a bit of an issue with my shift points having just installed a new TB this weekend on the Jeep.

I went for a drive yesterday and due to traffic/slow drivers I didn't really think anything of the tranny shifting at 4krpm at WOT, although I did notice some hesitation which wasn't there before. WOT, it just went. Just put it down to maybe the PCM re-learning and me kinda driving like a granny due to road conditions for a while.

When I got home, I restored the stock tune, then reloaded the 91 Perf tune (Superchips). Today driving to work, exact same issue. It won't rev above 4k rpm, 3k on is a drag. Low down power is great, revving in N is also good.


Only thing I can think of that could have changed is the TPS position. on the pic below you can see it isn't straight. Now when I installed it on the new one I had to rotate it slightly to get it to go in due to the metal pin on the new TB being dead straight.




So could this be my problem, or is it the fact that I really need a custom tune for the new one. Engine management light isn't on and aside from sloppy mid-range power and shifting it drives fine.


Any help/insight would be awesome and sorry for the essay!

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2011, 12:46 PM
Scottina06's Avatar
JeepGarage Founder
My Jeep: 2014 6.4L SRT8 WK2
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Berea, Kentucky
Posts: 49,378
Thanks: 875
Thanked 1,045 Times in 720 Posts
Rep Power: 7718293
Scottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond reputeScottina06 has a reputation beyond repute
Garage
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

what TB do you have? ported?
__________________

__________________
SCOTT
The HARDER you work...the LUCKIER you are!
2014 REDLINE red Jeep SRT "BLOODIED\BlackOps CFR Edition" 1 of 1
2013 JKU Wrangler 10A-stormtrooper'ed, JW Speaker and more!
Previous JEEP rides-
2013 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT-deep cherry
2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo-inferno red



Twitter-The_Jeep_Guy
Instagram-thejeep_guy

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2011, 12:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79985
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Hi Scott,

It's a F&B 72mm.

EDIT: I know custom tuning is required to get the best out of it, but the F&B site has a dyno run with it on a dakota with a Superchips tune which lead me to believe it should be fine until I get the SCT.
__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2011, 06:01 PM
Frango100's Avatar
Premium Member

My Jeep: 2004 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5,048
Thanks: 9
Thanked 102 Times in 95 Posts
Rep Power: 526031
Frango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond reputeFrango100 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

It is normal that you have to turn the TPS a bit when installing, this gives a possitive spring tension on it, so that it always sits at the same position on the throttle plate. Do you have an OBDII reader, then you could check the idle TPS output, which is on mine around the 12 %.
__________________
Frank

JEEP Grand Cherokee 4.7 Lmtd 2004
HID 8000K in low and fog / Quad Squad member
KYB Gas-a-Just shocks / Pirelli Scorpion ATR 245/65/17 - Transgo reprogramming shiftkit.

VW Beetle 2.0 TSI 2013
My new toy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2011, 12:11 AM
FlyinRyan's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2002 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 2,804
Thanks: 33
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 88663
FlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to FlyinRyan
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Tuning is not required. The TPS orientation is normal, however your shift points are not...
__________________
Due to my workload, please do not PM me as I do not regularly check my PMs. Thank you :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2011, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79985
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frango100 View Post
It is normal that you have to turn the TPS a bit when installing, this gives a possitive spring tension on it, so that it always sits at the same position on the throttle plate. Do you have an OBDII reader, then you could check the idle TPS output, which is on mine around the 12 %.
Cool, thats good to hear. The stock TB had the pin (?) a little more angled than the F&B which is dead straight which is why I wondered.

Sadly I don't have a OBDII reader, the superchips tuner can read codes but none show.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyinRyan View Post
Tuning is not required. The TPS orientation is normal, however your shift points are not...
I will run it for the rest of the week to see if it relearns of something, if not the stocker will get cleaned and reinstalled to see if the shift points return to normal (fingers crossed!).

Never had any tranny issues, fluid smells sweet, bright pink and is at the right level so I'm assuming its more PCM/TCM related with the TB...
__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2011, 01:09 PM
FlyinRyan's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2002 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 2,804
Thanks: 33
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 88663
FlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to FlyinRyan
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Try your old TPS
__________________
Due to my workload, please do not PM me as I do not regularly check my PMs. Thank you :)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2011, 01:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79985
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

I didn't purchase a new TPS Ryan as I assumed the original would be fine?
__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2011, 02:03 PM
FlyinRyan's Avatar
Senior Member
My Jeep: 2002 4.7L WJ
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Fort Myers, Florida
Posts: 2,804
Thanks: 33
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 88663
FlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond reputeFlyinRyan has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via AIM to FlyinRyan
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyp View Post
I didn't purchase a new TPS Ryan as I assumed the original would be fine?
Sorry misunderstood. I would check the TPS voltage as you may need to tweak it? Not sure what is going on here, I never used that TB so I couldnt tell you what the issue is.
__________________
Due to my workload, please do not PM me as I do not regularly check my PMs. Thank you :)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2011, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,878
Thanks: 20
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Rep Power: 79985
Martyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond reputeMartyp has a reputation beyond repute
Re: TPS - Can it be installed wrong?

Okay, sorry for the delay in replying. Had a crazy 21 hour day at work yesterday.

Drove the Jeep home tonight and gave it a WOT run, didn't down shift in a hurry but changed at around 5k.

Possibly something is relearning?
__________________

__________________
Marty

"Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of rice, I will fear no turbo for thou torque art with me. Thy rods and crankshaft, they comfort me."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPS reset after tire rotation? Benzie002 Suspension/Driveline/Brakes/Wheels/Tires 4 11-29-2011 07:31 PM
OEM or aftermarket TPS? paroxysym Grand Cherokee - WK 4 08-06-2011 10:01 PM
Instruction on changing the TPS on 05 WK Limited 4.7 kennethmt Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 11 07-08-2011 05:41 PM
TPS sensor and Cruise Control sensor dhryan44 Troubleshooting/Problems 15 03-03-2011 01:17 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community