Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > 2014+ Cherokee-KL

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-23-2014, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 227
Dave E is on a distinguished road
Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

Am thinking about the factory GPS. I have 6 month free but will not pay for U Connect, so will it work after the 6 months
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2014, 02:21 PM
Northland's Avatar
I go where my Jeep goes.
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
Thanks: 15
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 1507
Northland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

No, you do not have to subscribe to UConnect to get GPS - just make sure you get the RA4/nav model and you'll have free GPS for the life of the vehicle, but map updates will cost you if you ever want those. (And this post is presuming that the systems offered in the Cherokee are the same as those available in the GC.)
__________________

__________________
Ordered 2/04/13, Built and Status KZ (Plant Release) on 2/19/13, delivered 2/28/13: 2014 Limited 4x4 in Bright White with Lt. Frost Beige interior; Hemi V8; ORA II; RA4 UConnect.
So far: 20% tint all around; black BT oil catch can; Jeep slush and cargo mats; Blackvue DR500GW-HD dashcam; DropStops; XtremeDigital 4300K low beam HIDs; 5000K LED fog lights; Airaid CAI with SynthaMax dry filter. And now rollin' with UConnect 14.25.5!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2014, 04:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 227
Dave E is on a distinguished road
Any idea what the dealer charges
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2014, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 380
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

The 8.4an comes with nav, 8.4a can be upgraded to nav. Uconnect subscription isn't required. Haven't seen any info on map update pricing yet.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2014, 10:42 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 227
Dave E is on a distinguished road
Called dealer $595.00 I can buy two nice external units for that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 380
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

Yeah, that's the cost to add nav to the 8.4a. Not the map updates.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2014, 03:55 PM
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.6L WK2
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 206
Thanks: 113
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 1779
chucksc is on a distinguished road
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

But - Dealers will deal on the update.. My daughter just bought a Cherokee and had the nav. added to her 8.4a - Dealer split the cost with her and charged her $300. not so bad at that price IMO.
__________________
2014.5 V6 Grand Cherokee Summit - Black/Black
2014 V6 - Cherokee Latitude 4x4 Black/black
2006 BMW Z4 3.0si Roadster Black/Black
2011 Mercedes C300 4Matic..
(retired) 2001 V8 (4.7) Limited -60th Anniv. Silverstone/Taupe
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-03-2014, 04:07 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
baccwrw is on a distinguished road
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

Hi, I am told that the map updates are going to be $149.00. It took me about 3 weeks to find this out. Navteq says new ones may be out in March. The date file in my unit is 10/26/2012.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-31-2014, 07:12 AM
AquaForester's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 527
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1757
AquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

My NAV in my 8.4AN is totally useless. It takes me down every side street even on long trips for example going down Interstate 95. I've tried every setting and same thing. Does anyone else have this problem. Right now I'm using my iphone w/google maps which to me is unbeatable. I only use my NAV for a larger map view to see what's coming up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-31-2014, 09:11 AM
Northland's Avatar
I go where my Jeep goes.
My Jeep: 2014 5.7L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
Thanks: 15
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 1507
Northland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond reputeNorthland has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

Go out to your Jeep right now and start a route to anywhere - options will come up for either "Fastest" or "Shortest" route. I'll bet it's currently set to "Shortest". Choose "Fastest"; that will default it to that option for future routes and should solve the problem.
__________________
Ordered 2/04/13, Built and Status KZ (Plant Release) on 2/19/13, delivered 2/28/13: 2014 Limited 4x4 in Bright White with Lt. Frost Beige interior; Hemi V8; ORA II; RA4 UConnect.
So far: 20% tint all around; black BT oil catch can; Jeep slush and cargo mats; Blackvue DR500GW-HD dashcam; DropStops; XtremeDigital 4300K low beam HIDs; 5000K LED fog lights; Airaid CAI with SynthaMax dry filter. And now rollin' with UConnect 14.25.5!!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-31-2014, 10:41 AM
Jeepster910's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.2L KL
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: West central illinois
Posts: 134
Thanks: 22
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 416
Jeepster910 is on a distinguished road
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaForester View Post
My NAV in my 8.4AN is totally useless. It takes me down every side street even on long trips for example going down Interstate 95. I've tried every setting and same thing. Does anyone else have this problem. Right now I'm using my iphone w/google maps which to me is unbeatable. I only use my NAV for a larger map view to see what's coming up.
The first thing you need to do is get the manual on this Navigation system.
Then Read the manual even though you will not understand most of it at the time of reading.
Then go out to your Cherokee with the manual, sit in the Cherokee, get the navigation up and running and play with the settings and parameters of it.
You will begin to understand ALL the capabilities of this system. There are a lot.
There is under settings, a function you can turn on speed watch.
It will remind you if you go over the speed limit. That can be adjusted to like 5/10 over the limit.

But you do need to read the manual. Once you learn the system it will be unbeatable. There are a lot of options available that can be confusing.
You just have to be patient and stick with it.
Good Luck
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-31-2014, 11:01 AM
AquaForester's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 527
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 1757
AquaForester has a reputation beyond reputeAquaForester has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Do you have to have UConnect to have GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northland View Post
Go out to your Jeep right now and start a route to anywhere - options will come up for either "Fastest" or "Shortest" route. I'll bet it's currently set to "Shortest". Choose "Fastest"; that will default it to that option for future routes and should solve the problem.
Thanks, unfortunately it's on "Fastest". In addition I have no avoidance checked and still seems to want to take me on the scenic route.
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anything different about UConnect 8.4 radio RA3 and UConnect Access Via Mobile REDDIZE Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 4 08-19-2014 11:55 PM
GPS Trafficflow JeepGuy2014 Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 12-04-2013 05:56 PM
2008 gc gps Clark Kent Audio/Visual/Navigation 1 03-26-2013 12:09 PM
730n gps? JeepMaster Audio/Visual/Navigation 7 05-10-2012 03:25 PM
Program GPS dondan2011 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 1 05-09-2011 03:51 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community