Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > 2014+ Cherokee-KL

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #25  
Old 01-07-2014, 06:30 AM
Wabbit's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Seoul, South Korea
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 578
Wabbit is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase361 View Post
Guys idk what is wrong with the weird ass 2014 cherokee. I have the canbus error code eliminator and I know how crazy this sounds but it will all day say my low beam headlights are out then at night it doesn't it's done this 3 days in a row.

Then yesterday I got canbus 194 led lights for the license plate and now it's saying license plate out! I thought if u got canbus were good! Could the cherokee not be canbus anymore but it detects voltage now? Idk I'm getting irritated.
For the plate lights are you using leds with built in resistors? I use to had the same issues with a VW GTI and i know that usually if one of the two lights back there has a resistor in it then the system will fool itself. For a fact, straight less will throw a code. As for the fronts, Im no expert in that department. But I am curious, are you using the stock headlight casing instead of a aftermarket projector housing?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-07-2014, 08:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 855
Chase361 is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Ya I am and light is amazing. Cutoff is razor accurate. So I spoke with KBcarstuff and there saying cherokee may not be canbus anymore and he said it may need a resistor not a capacitor. So I ordered that and well see how it goes. For the LED on the licence plate I got the canbus led from superbriteleds.com but once again maybe the new Cherokee isn't canbus but now seeds a resistor. How can i get a resistor on the license plate bulbs? If this doesnt work do you guys know what the best and brightest halogen 9006 bulb a person can buy?
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-07-2014, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 382
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase361 View Post
Ya I am and light is amazing. Cutoff is razor accurate. So I spoke with KBcarstuff and there saying cherokee may not be canbus anymore and he said it may need a resistor not a capacitor. So I ordered that and well see how it goes. For the LED on the licence plate I got the canbus led from superbriteleds.com but once again maybe the new Cherokee isn't canbus but now seeds a resistor. How can i get a resistor on the license plate bulbs? If this doesnt work do you guys know what the best and brightest halogen 9006 bulb a person can buy?
If you ordered the CANbus bulbs then they already have a resistor, that's how they trick the computer into thinking it is an incandescent by increasing the load at the LED.

Hopefully they will get you sorted out with the headlamps.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-07-2014, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 855
Chase361 is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Thats the weird part bro. I did buy canbus bulbs but its still saying license plate bulb out! so I ordered these from super brite leds
Tail Light Load Resistor Kit | Car Bulb Installation Supplies | LED Car Bulbs | Super Bright LEDs

Wont this fix the issue?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-07-2014, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 382
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Dont think so, as your lamps already have that built in...unless its the wrong lamp you received.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-07-2014, 01:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 382
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Thinking about it more, it is possible the lamps you have are registering at a lower current draw than the stock plate bulbs do (maybe they are designed to look like a 3W load for interior but the plate lamps are actually 5W... just made up those numbers as an example) and that additional resistor might help since it would be in parallel. Will be interested to see what you find out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-07-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 855
Chase361 is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Thats what I was thinking as well. I placed the order today so she have them in couple days.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-09-2014, 10:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 233
xohaib.shah is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

waoo .. what did you do just replaced the fog lamp bulbs with halogens ??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-09-2014, 10:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 382
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Fog lamps are halogens, stock. LEDs can plug right in, HIDs have a ballast.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-09-2014, 10:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 233
xohaib.shah is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

i get it but what exactly did u do to make it look bright white rather than orangish?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-09-2014, 10:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Dallas
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 382
clew is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

Put HIDs or LEDs in.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-09-2014, 10:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 233
xohaib.shah is on a distinguished road
Re: How has no one wanted to put HID's in there cherokee?

cool ... looks awesome .. i got something new to play with !! thanks
__________________

__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody put a C.A.I in their 2002 Grand Cherokee 4.7 H.O. Or any jeep in general? MikeBarillaro Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 10 12-07-2012 11:56 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community