Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember? - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-20-2015, 12:08 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: S. MD
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 436
LS954 is on a distinguished road
Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

Just curious has anyone verified if once you install one of the plug-in programmers does the vehicles computer create a memory of it even after its been removed?
I would like to get one of these that i can just plug in and remove if i have to take the jeep in for service or warranty but as per the Diesel Supplement manual it states that the computer will remember if one of these has ever been installed.

here is what it states
NOTE: Some aftermarket products may cause severe
engine/transmission and/or exhaust system damage.
Your vehicle’s Powertrain Control Systems can detect
and store information about vehicle modifications that
increase horsepower and torque output such as whether
or not performance-enhancing powertrain components,
commonly referred to as downloaders, power boxes, or
performance chips have been used.
This information cannot be erased and will stay in the
system’s memory even if the modification is removed.
This information can be retrieved by FCA US LLC, and
service and repair facilities, when servicing your vehicle.
This information may be used to determine if repair will
be covered by New Vehicle Limited Warranty.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-20-2015, 03:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 247
Thanks: 21
Thanked 40 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 1170
definn12 has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS954 View Post
Just curious has anyone verified if once you install one of the plug-in programmers does the vehicles computer create a memory of it even after its been removed?
I would like to get one of these that i can just plug in and remove if i have to take the jeep in for service or warranty but as per the Diesel Supplement manual it states that the computer will remember if one of these has ever been installed.

here is what it states
NOTE: Some aftermarket products may cause severe
engine/transmission and/or exhaust system damage.
Your vehicle’s Powertrain Control Systems can detect
and store information about vehicle modifications that
increase horsepower and torque output such as whether
or not performance-enhancing powertrain components,
commonly referred to as downloaders, power boxes, or
performance chips have been used.
This information cannot be erased and will stay in the
system’s memory even if the modification is removed.
This information can be retrieved by FCA US LLC, and
service and repair facilities, when servicing your vehicle.
This information may be used to determine if repair will
be covered by New Vehicle Limited Warranty.
There's debate what it records. What the "tuner chips" do is trick your ECM into putting more fuel in the fuel rail by intercepting the ECM data and sending a signal back that says the rail pressure is lower than it actually is. The chips are an absolutely awful long term idea. Over time these will put my strain on components that weren't designed to work like that. It isn't going to happen in the first 36,000 miles - it'll be after. When I learned how the chips actually work I ditched mine fast. Don't blow your money on it
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to definn12 For This Useful Post:
  #3  
Old 12-20-2015, 03:33 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2012 WK2
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 929
Thanks: 37
Thanked 43 Times in 39 Posts
Rep Power: 1232701
2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute2012 Summit has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

LS954, You might want to consider the GDE tune instead of a chip.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2015, 03:42 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: S. MD
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 436
LS954 is on a distinguished road
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

I was looking at the GDE tune but with my vehicle still under warranty and not having the ability to go back to stock settings in a short notice that is out the auestion, unless i am missing something.
This is my first diesel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2015, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,307
Thanks: 46
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2875
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS954 View Post
not having the ability to go back to stock settings in a short notice that is out the auestion, unless i am missing something.
If you purchase a separate PCM with the GDE tune then your original PCM will remain stock. You can then swap the original, never-altered PCM back into the vehicle in a matter of minutes should you choose to do so, thereby restoring the vehicle to stock configuration.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2015, 04:09 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: S. MD
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 436
LS954 is on a distinguished road
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

Where's the ecm on these? I just got the jeep two days ago and haven't had a chance to look it over.
I'm pretty mechanically inclined
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2015, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,307
Thanks: 46
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2875
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS954 View Post
Where's the ecm on these?
Probably easiest to just link you to the four page GDE installation instructions PDF, because it has photos.

http://www.keepandshare.com/doc/7597...4k?da=y&dnad=y
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2015, 06:11 PM
Senderofan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 536
Senderofan is on a distinguished road
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

Three bolts and two levered harness connectors and you are half way to something special that GDE does for the EcoDiesel. Worth the extra money to have something that's engineered and tested properly versus a quick piggy back device....IMHO.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-20-2015, 06:14 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: S. MD
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 436
LS954 is on a distinguished road
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

thanks for the help. Keeping the factory ECM will make things alot easier
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2015, 08:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 247
Thanks: 21
Thanked 40 Times in 30 Posts
Rep Power: 1170
definn12 has disabled reputation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
If you purchase a separate PCM with the GDE tune then your original PCM will remain stock. You can then swap the original, never-altered PCM back into the vehicle in a matter of minutes should you choose to do so, thereby restoring the vehicle to stock configuration.
Yea but if you need an update or if there's something with the engine that you need to update for something to work, its not going to be on the tuned ECM core.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-24-2015, 09:07 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: S. MD
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 436
LS954 is on a distinguished road
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

If jeep calls for a new flash I can either send GDE their ecu to flash of they recommend it or put the oem unit back in the car have them flash it then put the GDE back in
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-26-2015, 09:38 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Western Wisconsin
Posts: 419
Thanks: 134
Thanked 30 Times in 23 Posts
Rep Power: 1323
chadg2 is on a distinguished road
Re: Chips/Programmers..Does the computer remember?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS954 View Post
I was looking at the GDE tune but with my vehicle still under warranty and not having the ability to go back to stock settings in a short notice that is out the auestion, unless i am missing something.
This is my first diesel
Once you have the GDE tune, you will never want to go back to stock. I thought the same thing you are thinking. Now never going back to stock. You won't need any ECM updates from Jeep. Performs like a whole new machine with GDE Hot Tune.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ram

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does seat memory remember anything other than seat settings? SW03ES Grand Cherokee - WK2 - 22 05-26-2014 08:16 AM
Remote Start does not remember climate settings tjbuz Trouble Shooting/Problems/Service 8 06-20-2013 09:38 PM
Programmers 04JGCSpecialEdition Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 8 11-17-2012 02:38 PM
2009 4.7 Performance programmers i0r15 Performance Modifications 27 01-06-2010 04:03 PM
superchips programmers BUDAKANE Engine Performance/Intake/Exhaust 2 10-01-2009 03:23 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.