Ecodiesel specific PID's? - Page 3 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #25  
Old 03-30-2015, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 924
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

And we only have 1 EGT Temp sensor... can anyone confirm that it is, in fact, located post-turbo, pre CAT per the ISO spec? I'm not sure if that diagram is meant to serve as a reference or a specification as to sensor locations.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #26  
Old 03-31-2015, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 854
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Hello, new to the forum. I just picked up my new 2015 summit/ecodiesel yesterday. I purchased the Edge CS to monitor exhaust temps, but it ended up not being compatible. Does anyone have a 2015 model GC/Ecodiesel that they are successfully using an engine monitor? If so what do you recommend? I really want to monitor regen cycles on this new jeep. Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-31-2015, 12:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17548
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Welcome to the forum. Many of us are using a bluetooth adapter (I have the OBDLink MX, but I do not recommend it or any other product made by ScanTool.net) in conjunction with the Torque Pro app. There are other options as well, but I suggest something that is programmable so you can add new PIDs later. For example, the regen mode PID is a "new discovery" as of this month.

FWIW, I hope you want to monitor your DPF soot/temps/regens out of geeky interest rather any concern over the reliability of this vehicle. You really don't need to worry about the diesel DPF management or doing anything special to keep it happy; it Just Works.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #28  
Old 03-31-2015, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 854
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

I do want to have it just to know what the engine is doing, no concern.

I appreciate you letting me know if what not to use. Is there a specific unit that any of you would recommend that works with a 2015? Looks like the programming may be a bit different from the 2014 models for some reason. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17548
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
Is there a specific unit that any of you would recommend that works with a 2015? Looks like the programming may be a bit different from the 2014 models for some reason.
I haven't heard about any changes with regard to the bus from 2014 to 2015. If you have an Android smartphone then I suggest just grabbing a cheap bluetooth OBDII adapter off Amazon.com and pairing that with the Torque Pro app. As you can see, with an app-based approach it doesn't matter if the PIDs change for a given model because that's just software config.

You'll need to unplug the OBD adapter device when the Jeep is parked for security and power drain reasons, but you have to do that with any bluetooth/wifi adapter (regardless of what ScanTool.net claims to the contrary).
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:04 PM
Top_from_Texas's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2014
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 13
Thanks: 4
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
Rep Power: 807
Top_from_Texas is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

I ordered this BT adapter from Amazon.
Amazon.com: BAFX Products - Bluetooth OBD2 scan tool - For check engine light & diagnostics - Android ONLY: Automotive

Anyone else using it?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 854
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Do any of these work with iOS? I don't have an android device. Thanks again folks!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17548
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
Do any of these work with iOS? I don't have an android device. Thanks again folks!
The OBD interface is an industry/legal standard. If you're on iOS I believe I have heard people say good things about the DashCommand app. I don't use iOS, so can't make any specific recommendations.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-31-2015, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 854
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Thanks guys I just purchased the android/bluetooth version (will try on wife's nexus 7) and a wifi module for iOS using the dashcommand software. Will test both and send the one back that I like the least. Will the torque app have the correct PIDs enables to monitor DPF/Exhaust temps? Or have you guys found what PID number corolates to these sensors? I'm getting them both tomorrow and will let you know what I find.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-31-2015, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17548
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Torque works great on a Nexus 7. I have used it in HUD mode to project the readings onto my windshield at night, fighter jet style.

We are using Catalyst 1, Bank 1 PID as the DPF temp. That's one of the ones built into Torque. You'll need to add DPF regen mode and DPF soot level manually as extra PIDs.

Will be interested to hear your impressions of DashCommand on iOS.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-31-2015, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 854
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
Torque works great on a Nexus 7. I have used it in HUD mode to project the readings onto my windshield at night, fighter jet style.

We are using Catalyst 1, Bank 1 PID as the DPF temp. That's one of the ones built into Torque. You'll need to add DPF regen mode and DPF soot level manually as extra PIDs.

Will be interested to hear your impressions of DashCommand on iOS.
In Torque is that the Catalyst Temperature (Bank 1, Sensor1)?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-31-2015, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 49
Thanked 176 Times in 139 Posts
Rep Power: 17548
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
In Torque is that the Catalyst Temperature (Bank 1, Sensor1)?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Premium LED Dome Light Kit (Jeep Specific) on SALE!! - Upgrade to LED NOW! XenonDepot XenonDepot 341 09-25-2014 03:29 PM
WK transmission temp PID ZF1FR Grand Cherokee - WK 7 11-29-2011 08:11 AM
Jeep SRT8 Specific Accessory Catalog??? Jeeps Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 0 08-24-2011 01:04 PM
Specific Pin functions? ChrisL1976 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 06-15-2011 01:34 PM
Is there anything specific you guys would like a deal on? XenonDepot XenonDepot 40 09-24-2010 05:02 PM

» Premium Vendor Showcase
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.