Ecodiesel specific PID's? - Page 4 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #37  
Old 03-31-2015, 04:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 680
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

I see some custom PIDs listed on this thread. Has anyone had success with getting them to work properly? (DPF Temp, etc..) I just added them to the torque app and will be getting my OBII BT module tomorrow.

Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #38  
Old 03-31-2015, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2807
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
I see some custom PIDs listed on this thread. Has anyone had success with getting them to work properly?
The DPF temp PID is false thanks to ScanGauge's incorrect information they published, which I subsequently faithfully translated into Torque. You can delete that PID and use the correct PID which is Cat B1S1.

As for the others like DPF % and DPF Regen Mode, yes, they are tested.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-01-2015, 12:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 680
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1427863619.560251.jpg

I'm going to give the above gauges a try when I receive my BT module on Wednesday. Has anyone had success using the EGT1 and EGT2 PID's?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-01-2015, 03:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2807
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
EGT1 works, EGT2 does not. CatB1S1 works, none of the other Cat temp PIDs do. The built in DPF temp PID does not. Your turbo has a wastegate: I've never seen it go below -4 and 20 is a reasonable max reading (you can change max/min to make the gauge better).

Other PIDs that don't work: fuel tank trim level, transmission temp.

If you wait until it's connected and running, Torque can show you which PIDs in the list have current data. They turn green.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roadkill For This Useful Post:
  #41  
Old 04-01-2015, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 750
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadkill View Post
EGT1 works, EGT2 does not. CatB1S1 works, none of the other Cat temp PIDs do. The built in DPF temp PID does not. Your turbo has a wastegate: I've never seen it go below -4 and 20 is a reasonable max reading (you can change max/min to make the gauge better).

Other PIDs that don't work: fuel tank trim level, transmission temp.

If you wait until it's connected and running, Torque can show you which PIDs in the list have current data. They turn green.
-4 PSI off the turbo? I see below -5 on a regular basis from a cold start... Is that not normal? 2015 here, not sure if the turbo changed at all from MY '14...
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 04-01-2015, 05:06 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 241
Thanks: 2
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Rep Power: 1254
MBDiesel is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Take a look at your boost readings with the ignition on without the engine running. Correct reading should be zero (0 psig), but mine (2014) read something like -2.2. There's a way in Torque to add or subtract offsets to PID's. I added 2.2 and the readings seem to be in line with how a turbo should be working.

I played around with the PID spreadsheet and got data for a lot of what was supported on the Australian version. I'll put a full list together later when I have some more time to play with it.
__________________
2015 WK2 EcoDiesel Overland 4x4 Billet Silver, ORAII, ATG
1990 Mercedes-Benz 300D 2.5 Turbo - 155k
No sparks allowed!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 04-01-2015, 05:53 PM
netboy's Avatar
Premium Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: CT
Posts: 386
Thanks: 44
Thanked 86 Times in 52 Posts
Rep Power: 581712
netboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond reputenetboy has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
Attachment 54315

I'm going to give the above gauges a try when I receive my BT module on Wednesday. Has anyone had success using the EGT1 and EGT2 PID's?
You can use the "ON/OFF" display type for the DPF mode. It will give you a nice lighted button during regen.
__________________
Summit 4x4 Turbo-Diesel, Black / Jeep Brown.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 04-01-2015, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 680
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by netboy View Post
You can use the "ON/OFF" display type for the DPF mode. It will give you a nice lighted button during regen.

Very cool about the on/off display. I had the first regen happen today. It was weird the DPF % went from 65% to 100% in one jump. The regen PID went to 3 and my temps increased just as they should. Took about 11 miles to drop soot count to 9%.

Thanks for the tips and work on these gauges, folks! I'm impressed so far.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04-01-2015, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 98
Thanks: 4
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 750
Ampt is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
Very cool about the on/off display. I had the first regen happen today. It was weird the DPF % went from 65% to 100% in one jump. The regen PID went to 3 and my temps increased just as they should. Took about 11 miles to drop soot count to 9%.

Thanks for the tips and work on these gauges, folks! I'm impressed so far.
Nope, going from 65% to 100% is totally normal for this. It should stay at 100% until it's done, at which point it drops to it's actual level. Sounds like everything was working fine!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ampt For This Useful Post:
  #46  
Old 04-02-2015, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2807
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ampt View Post
Nope, going from 65% to 100% is totally normal for this. It should stay at 100% until it's done, at which point it drops to it's actual level. Sounds like everything was working fine!
This. It is also why we know the soot level PID isn't reporting the true value. That doesn't mean it's not useful. One simply needs to be cognizant of the limitations.

Further, don't expect a regen immediately. I drove over 500 km at highway speeds with the soot level reading 100% the whole time before the system initiated regen. Obviously that's perfectly fine.

In general, the rule for this DPF monitoring stuff is "don't worry unless you see a check engine light or a message in EVIC". I say this from experience, because I was initially one of those owners who worried about DPF clogging and stuff. Never happened to me, and I guarantee you that no one else abuses their DPF more than I do.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-02-2015, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 61
Thanks: 7
Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts
Rep Power: 680
kag49601 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

I'm wondering if there is an easy way to create a new module to record "miles since last regen"? It could look at the new regen PID as well as tie into a distance PID. Has anyone tried to do this ?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-02-2015, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 46
Thanked 155 Times in 126 Posts
Rep Power: 2807
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kag49601 View Post
I'm wondering if there is an easy way to create a new module to record "miles since last regen"? It could look at the new regen PID as well as tie into a distance PID. Has anyone tried to do this ?
It's easy to perform calculations in Torque that reference values from different PIDs, but your particular idea is difficult to accomplish if you're looking for a general solution. If you have Torque running at all times when you drive, then it could keep track of distances and so forth and it could potentially key off that.

However, if you do not have Torque connected at all times, then the problem rapidly becomes like Torque's estimate of your fuel level. Checking just now, I see that Torque believes my fuel tank is -561% full. That's because we have no PID-based data from the Jeep regarding fuel trim and therefore must set the fuel level manually in Torque. Torque then applies its crack-addled calculations of fuel efficiency to come up with some fantasy fuel consumption numbers that it then applies to the fuel level over time.

"Distance since regen" would probably be based on Torque integrating vehicle speed over time (in order to obtain distance) and flipping reset on a trip counter when regen mode transitions from non-zero to zero. As far as I know, there's no odometer reading to grab over OBD on our WK2's (I'd love to be wrong about this, though). I'm not trying to disparage your idea in any way; it just seems difficult to accomplish elegantly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Premium LED Dome Light Kit (Jeep Specific) on SALE!! - Upgrade to LED NOW! XenonDepot XenonDepot 341 09-25-2014 04:29 PM
WK transmission temp PID ZF1FR Grand Cherokee - WK 7 11-29-2011 09:11 AM
Jeep SRT8 Specific Accessory Catalog??? Jeeps Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 0 08-24-2011 02:04 PM
Specific Pin functions? ChrisL1976 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 06-15-2011 02:34 PM
Is there anything specific you guys would like a deal on? XenonDepot XenonDepot 40 09-24-2010 06:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.