Ecodiesel specific PID's? - Page 7 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum

Go Back   Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum > Jeep Platform Discussion > Grand Cherokee - WK2 - > 2014+ Jeep Grand Cherokee Ecodiesel 3.0

Join Jeep Garage Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #73  
Old 07-07-2015, 09:55 PM
Deezl's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 10
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 583
Deezl is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benn0 View Post
Whoa!!! Relax, there is an explanation about these temp sensor measurements a few pages back.

edit: By using a custom PID and this equation ((A*256)+B)/10 all you are doing is displaying the same sensor reading twice, but one with the -40 value and the other without. ((A*256)+B)*0.1-40
Sorry for being a jerk. Thanks for explaining the formulas to me. I stand corrected, and I am sorry for being defensive and/or rude.

Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Deezl For This Useful Post:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #74  
Old 07-22-2015, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 49
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2884
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezl View Post
I stand corrected, and I am sorry for being defensive and/or rude.
Hey, no problem. I found it amusing because if you check this thread you will find that I was the one that published the flawed "DPF PID" you cited and then have spent the rest of the time trying to undo the urban legend. So, this was a situation of you defending the very PID I published, defending against my efforts to stop the spread of misinformation I was responsible for.

BTW, when I said PID 013C is cat bank 1 sensor 1, that's definitely true because it's based on the industry standard J1979-DA code spec.

The other "DPF PID" that was suggested by others is also a nonsense reading. We also know this because of the spec, as I discussed in a previous post.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Roadkill For This Useful Post:
  #75  
Old 08-06-2015, 09:56 PM
Jeep_GC's Avatar
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: S. Ontario, Canada
Posts: 334
Thanks: 85
Thanked 28 Times in 24 Posts
Rep Power: 1206
Jeep_GC is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Hi all. Does anyone have a summary of handy pids they use in torque for the NA diesel?

Thank you
__________________
2015 Overland 4x4 EcoDiesel
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 12-01-2015, 12:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 49
Thanked 164 Times in 132 Posts
Rep Power: 2884
Roadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond reputeRoadkill has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

As an update, several mode 22 PIDs for the EcoDiesel have been published by ScanGauge. Juicy things like transmission fluid temp, current gear #, soot mass load % (i.e. putatively the 'real' DPF soot value vs the DPF PID we currently use), fuel rail pressure, etc.

https://www.scangauge.com/support/x-...odge-specific/
(That page also lists the EGTs and Cat Bank 1 Sensor 1 stuff we already have due to those PIDs being mode 01.)

Unfortunately, I haven't gotten any joy with my initial conversion of the PIDs, most likely due to the presumed gateway Steve1307 mentions:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve1307 View Post
Once we start searching for Chrysler / Jeep/ Dodge proprietary codes, this is where it gets a bit murky.
The info on these proprietary PIDs (generally "Mode 22") isn't published and Jeep of course change it around from model to model and even within the same model during the manufacturing cycle.
I read that Chrysler usually have a gateway to lock you out of these. There are ways to get around it by "telling" the ECU that you are a diagnostic tool with a certain PID which then allow you to see the Mode 21/22 parameters provided you know what you're looking for.
The fact that ScanGauge mentions a firmware update is required to use the new PIDs suggests that they have discovered the appropriate diagnostic start command to access the potentially dangerous mode 22.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 12-01-2015, 12:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 168
Thanks: 73
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Rep Power: 1329
dsears00 is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

I haven't seen it on this thread or any other, but is there a turbo temp PID? Would this be one of the EGT PIDs?


Sent from my iPhone using JeepGarage
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 04-15-2016, 05:08 AM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 302
Thanks: 33
Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
Rep Power: 1528
chocco is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBDiesel View Post
Take a look at your boost readings with the ignition on without the engine running. Correct reading should be zero (0 psig), but mine (2014) read something like -2.2. There's a way in Torque to add or subtract offsets to PID's. I added 2.2 and the readings seem to be in line with how a turbo should be working.

I played around with the PID spreadsheet and got data for a lot of what was supported on the Australian version. I'll put a full list together later when I have some more time to play with it.
Could you tell me please how to add the off set to the standard Boost PID or to change the Max from 20 to 30 in Torque.

I have created Custom PID's but cannot see how to change the Standard Vacuum/Boost PID as described above ??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 04-15-2016, 07:51 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 108
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 650
GCDingo is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
Could you tell me please how to add the off set to the standard Boost PID or to change the Max from 20 to 30 in Torque.

I have created Custom PID's but cannot see how to change the Standard Vacuum/Boost PID as described above ??

Thanks
Changing range, you just hold finder on gauge, go to change configuration, change max set value to what ever you want. I can't work out how to offset PIDs though.
__________________
2015 Grand Cherokee Limited
1965 Mustang Coupe
2014 VW Amarok
I hate standard cars
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GCDingo For This Useful Post:
  #80  
Old 04-15-2016, 08:13 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2014 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 302
Thanks: 33
Thanked 43 Times in 32 Posts
Rep Power: 1528
chocco is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCDingo View Post
Changing range, you just hold finder on gauge, go to change configuration, change max set value to what ever you want. I can't work out how to offset PIDs though.
Thanks.

Kinda embarrassing.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 04-24-2016, 04:58 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: N.CO
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 312
SunWizard is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chocco View Post
I have created Custom PID's but cannot see how to change the Standard Vacuum/Boost PID as described above ??
To add offsets I make my own PID formula. Since I live in CO at 6800' altitude, using the stock boost guage in torque it always read -3.5 psi when it should be 0. Here is better than a offset, use this simple formula for altitude compensated boost:

PID: 0170
Long Name: Boost
Short Name: Boost
Minimum value: 0
Maximum value: 25
Scale Factor: 1x
Unit Type: kPa
Equation: ((B*256)+C)*0.03125-[0133]

I like this best since I often move between 5000' and 10000' in a few hours and it adjusts. Note the square braces around [0133], this is the trick that subtracts your barometric pressure reading. This is a powerful app!

I also had to create a PID for the barometer, but it doesnt have to be used on any guage. This may be so it gets read and updated sometimes:
PID: 0133
Long Name: barometer
Short Name: baro
Minimum value: 0
Maximum value: 100
Scale Factor: 1x
Unit Type: kPa
Equation: A

Using this it wont always compensate to exactly 0, due to storms changing the barometric pressure. If you always stay at the same elevation, you can subtract your normal barometer reading in kPa. For example if I always stayed at 6800', I could subtract 79. Or at sea level, subtract 101. Here is a chart of pressure versus elevation:
http://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/ai...ure-d_462.html
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SunWizard For This Useful Post:
  #82  
Old 04-24-2016, 06:13 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 108
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 650
GCDingo is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunWizard View Post
To add offsets I make my own PID formula. Since I live in CO at 6800' altitude, using the stock boost guage in torque it always read -3.5 psi when it should be 0. Here is better than a offset, use this simple formula for altitude compensated boost:

PID: 0170
Long Name: Boost
Short Name: Boost
Minimum value: 0
Maximum value: 25
Scale Factor: 1x
Unit Type: kPa
Equation: ((B*256)+C)*0.03125-[0133]

I like this best since I often move between 5000' and 10000' in a few hours and it adjusts. Note the square braces around [0133], this is the trick that subtracts your barometric pressure reading. This is a powerful app!

Using this it wont always compensate to exactly 0, due to storms changing the barometric pressure. If you always stay at the same elevation, you can subtract your normal barometer reading in kPa. For example if I always stayed at 6800', I could subtract 79. Or at sea level, subtract 101. Here is a chart of pressure versus elevation:
Altitude above Sea Level and Air Pressure
Thanks for that sunwizard. I'm just getting used to this torque app. Is there a way to convert to psi? Or is it a matter of just putting 14.7 in the square brackets due to being pretty much at sea level?
__________________
2015 Grand Cherokee Limited
1965 Mustang Coupe
2014 VW Amarok
I hate standard cars
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 04-24-2016, 07:19 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: N.CO
Posts: 31
Thanks: 1
Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 312
SunWizard is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GCDingo View Post
Thanks for that sunwizard. I'm just getting used to this torque app. Is there a way to convert to psi? Or is it a matter of just putting 14.7 in the square brackets due to being pretty much at sea level?
It auto converts all numbers automatically if you choose Units of Feet, and uncheck Celsius, and use PSI instead of Bar. Formula are always best done in kPa, So if you are always sea level, subtract 101 kPa:
Equation: ((B*256)+C)*0.03125-101

The square braces are for the cool trick where it can read another sensor PID 0133 like barometer and use it in the formula, which is how it can auto-adjust the boost for altitude.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SunWizard For This Useful Post:
  #84  
Old 04-24-2016, 07:38 PM
Member
My Jeep: 2015 3.0L WK2
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 108
Thanks: 3
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 650
GCDingo is on a distinguished road
Re: Ecodiesel specific PID's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SunWizard View Post
It auto converts all numbers automatically if you choose Units of Feet, and uncheck Celsius, and use PSI instead of Bar. Formula are always best done in kPa, So if you are always sea level, subtract 101 kPa:
Equation: ((B*256)+C)*0.03125-101

The square braces are for the cool trick where it can read another sensor PID 0133 like barometer and use it in the formula, which is how it can auto-adjust the boost for altitude.
Thanks for that. I remembered after my post about the units. Thanks for the PID formula.
__________________
2015 Grand Cherokee Limited
1965 Mustang Coupe
2014 VW Amarok
I hate standard cars
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Premium LED Dome Light Kit (Jeep Specific) on SALE!! - Upgrade to LED NOW! XenonDepot XenonDepot 341 09-25-2014 04:29 PM
WK transmission temp PID ZF1FR Grand Cherokee - WK 7 11-29-2011 09:11 AM
Jeep SRT8 Specific Accessory Catalog??? Jeeps Grand Cherokee SRT - WK2 0 08-24-2011 02:04 PM
Specific Pin functions? ChrisL1976 Audio, Video, Navigation & Electronic Modifications 0 06-15-2011 02:34 PM
Is there anything specific you guys would like a deal on? XenonDepot XenonDepot 40 09-24-2010 06:02 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 - JeepGarage.Org
The Jeep Grand Cherokee Owners Community

JeepGarage.org is in no way associated with or endorsed by FCA US LLC. Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, Mopar and SRT are registered trademarks of FCA US LLC.